We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Talbott Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Talbott Hotel to your Saves list
The Talbott Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20 East Delaware Place, Chicago, IL 60611 (Near North Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A Great Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

The Talbott Hotel was absolutely perfect - every i dotted, and every t crossed,my expectations were exceeded. The location of the propert is located downtown Chicago and was very close to all of the attractions I had wanted to visit. This property is also very convenient to the subway system for longer trips (Wrigley Field). The Suites were huge and also cleaned very meticuoulsy and offered turndown service. The property also offers ***free*** wifi unlike multiple properties I have stayed while in Chicago previously on buisness. The staff from the Front Desk to the Bellman were extremely attentive. There was a gentleman by the name of Gary who hailed taxi's in front of property was so personable and thoroughly gave his time to assist with directions and reccomendations. This hotel was a 5/5 in my books and will be back soon.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,168
    255
    33
    13
    11
See reviews for
248
671
77
207
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boca Raton, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

I travel quite a bit for business and for personal reasons and found The Talbott to be all I had hoped and more. The reviews I read online were spot on and very accurate. The Talbott was one of my all time favorite hotel experiences. The service was impeccable and consistent. From the moment I arrived, everyone went above and beyond no matter what the request. I stayed in a one bedroom suite which was simply lovely and everything in the suite was in good shape and very clean and tidy. I had limited meals at the hotel but what I did have was very good. Location is perfect and an easy walk. The hotel is charming, quaint and a terrific change from the typical chain hotels I normally stay in for business travel. There is no doubt I will return to The Talbott for my business travel and also for personal visits. I only regret my stay wasn't longer.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

This was our first trip to Chicago and this hotel had everything we needed. The location was very good, most of the attractions on walking distance. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and large. The wi-fi was free of charge. If getting back to Chicago I would choose the same hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minnesota
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

We travel to Chicago regularly and were looking for some place unique to stay in the loop. After reading the reviews we decided to try the Talbott. Our expectations were met and exceeded. The location is ideal and there is the clear feel of a small hotel. The staff were extremely attentive and remembered our names. Yes, there really is a "Duane!" He seemed to take a personal interest in making our stay comfortable. The room was larger than I expected with all the amenities. We had breakfast in the hotels restaurant. The food was excellent and, again, the service was superb. We will definitely be coming back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here a few years ago so my review is somewhat late but this hotel is great. It's a smaller hotel but very quaint, clean and in a fabulous location. Close to everything and walking is definitely doable. Staff is friendly. Highly recommend for comfortable stay in a great location!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, England
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Our first trip to Chicago and we had looked at so many hotel options that we were feeling inundated with choices. The Talbott was the one which stuck in my mind though and I kept coming back to their reviews. So glad we chose this hotel. It's not one of the massive chain hotels, it's a smaller more intimate place.
Our welcome was warm and we were told our room was ready and we had been upgraded to a suite. Wow! The room was wonderful (or should I say rooms). Free wi-fi in hotel was a pleasant surprise. Plentiful toiletries in the bathroom. A decent powerful hairdryer too! The bed and pillows were really comfortable too.
Happy hour in the bar gives you a free appetiser when buying wine, beer or cocktails. A nice touch, instead of peanuts. We also ate in the bar one evening too. Thought it was strange that main meals were classed as 'sharers'. I questioned how a steak could be to share but they assured me it was. Infact, it was just that the steak had already been sliced. Food was excellent though.
We were given $15 vouchers each towards breakfast as we had booked direct with the hotel. My only criticism of the hotel was the service at breakfast. This was very poor. Very slow and not much atmosphere in the room at all. With less than a dozen people dining and 4 or 5 waiters it took 10 minutes or so to be acknowledged/served. Staff here were lacking in customer relationship skills - and personalities. This does not extend to the general hotel staff, all of whom were really friendly and helpful.
The hotel's location was excellent. Close to the Observatory, Water Tower mall and Bloomingdales.
Another reviewer mentioned Merlo Italian restaurant - the hotel concierge recommended this to us and booked us a table. The dining room is in the basement and still looks and feels like someone's living room. A claustrophobic tiny room with no windows or ambience. Food was good, but nothing more, and was overpriced in our opinion.
I'm sure we will return to Chicago and will definitely go back to The Talbott.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

This was my first time staying in a hotel downtown Chicago, usually I stay in the suburbs near our satellite office. I tried to get a hotel near my office but they were all booked. This was a short cab ride from our dinner and I was pleasantly surprised that it is a very nice hotel. I only stayed one night but it was very clean, great bed, nice desk area and helpful desk staff and doorman. When I return I'd love to stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Talbott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Talbott Hotel

Address: 20 East Delaware Place, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Talbott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the many comforting rewards of a small European style hotel in the heart of Chicago's Gold Coast. Steps away from Michigan Avenue. As staff well versed in the art of fine European hospitality, people who remember your name and tend swiftly to your special, as well as, everyday needs. A host of gracious amenities including nightly turn-down service, morning newspapers, complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access, and complimentary access to a world class health center. A contemporary American seafood eatery is the latest concept developed by Managing Partner Alfredo Sandoval of the esteemed Mercadito Hospitality group. Mercadito Fish features the best of casual and fine dining seafood restaurants. Fresh seasonal "catches" and personable service amplify its' modern day sensibility, inspiring exploration of new flavors and approachability. The restaurant showcases a range of familiar and new seafood preparations, as well as an expertly customized beverage program. Matched with a warm and thoughtfully designed environment, Mercadito Fish offers exquisitely prepared seafood without compromising atmosphere and price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Amex, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your The Talbott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Talbott Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.