We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A touch of England in the Windy City” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Talbott Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Talbott Hotel to your Saves list
The Talbott Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20 East Delaware Place, Chicago, IL 60611 (Near North Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Houston, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A touch of England in the Windy City”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

After a recent stay at the Talbott in Chicago, my husband and I knew that we would be going back often in the future. We enjoyed the ambiance of the lobby, which resembled an English manor house. Two fireplaces surrounded by comfortable chairs and interesting memorabilia are the perfect invitation to a nightcap from the nearby bar. Our room was spacious, with a seating area, desk,well- lit bathroom,and an amazing magnifying mirror on the wall. The bed was comfortable with well chosen bedding. The best feature of the hotel is its caring staff who cheerfully greeted us as we came and went each day. They often asked if there was anything that we needed. They brought us a filled ice bucket each night upon request. The bellman was knowledgable about the various venues we asked about in the city. Cabs were hailed with the admonishment to the cab driver to take good care of us. Each evening we felt like we were going home not to an impersonal hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,546 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,228
    261
    33
    13
    11
See reviews for
260
699
79
215
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

The bar has just been raised for other hotels. My wife and I stayed at the Talbott for three nights for our 20th anniversary. We took a package offered by the hotel, and every thing about the hotel was exactly right.

When you walk into the hotel, its a fairly small intimate lobby. It was a cold wet night when we arrived, and there were two fireplaces on either side of the lobby with leather club chairs. It feels very comfortable, very homey (if my home was so wealthy!)

The staff is incredibly friendly. Not went-to-a-training-course friendly, but genuinely nice and easy to get along with. From the cleaning crew to the door men, the concierge, and the front desk, everyone gets to know you quickly, and is always open to talking. Never had a problem with lines or waiting to see someone at the front desk. Its the closest thing a 16 story hotel will ever get to bed-and-breakfast type service.

The rooms are terrific. We had a suite, and the furniture is comfortable, the wifi free, the beds and linen fantastic, the shower modern and fresh. There is a mac mini and wireless keyboard to surf the internet, watch DVDs and netflix if you have an account. Everything works - and that's no small thing. The water pressure, electricity, TV etc. Its in the details.

The food was good, although it seems like two restaurants from breakfast to dinner. At breakfast, we had big meals, very filling and innovative. For dinner, it was very lively, much smaller fancier portions, etc. Dinner was excellent.

Really, its unusual for me to not find anything I don't like about a hotel, particularly when I shell out from my own pocket. But this one was absolutely worth it in all respects.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, Colorado, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Wonderful choice from which to explore downtown Chicago. Staff is very nice and helpful. Rooms are clean and well furnished. Small lobby by some standards but very comfortable. This is one of my favorite hotels!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Orleans, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

we spent four fabulous nights at the Talbot last week. super-convenient location, we walked
to nearby restaurants & shops. Dwayne, bellman/front desk man was super-friendly & very helpful suggesting restaurants, hailing cabs, etc. the room was great. would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ST louis
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Have stayed here many times and each time is better. The staff is helpful, the rooms have been renovated and are lovely. The bar and resturaunt are good. Location is outstanding, only 2 blocks from Michigan avenue and all the shopping that the Gold Coast offers.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are large, but do cost a little more
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Canaan, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed at the Talbott Hotel for 3 nights in May and enjoyed our stay. Everyone is so friendly and tries very hard to make your stay there a good one. I would have given the hotel 5 stars, but it's beginning to show its age, especially in the bathroom. There is free wi-fi, which works well, very comfortable beds, and a restaurant that serves interesting and fresh food, Little Market, plus there are lots of places to eat around the hotel. Their room service is excellent and prompt. All in all, a very nice stay except for the early morning garbage truck.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naucalpan, Mexico, Mexico
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

A great Hotel, enormous room, extremely clean, with all the amenities you required, super location right in the Magnificent Mile and close to everything. The Subway is two blocks away, so you can get anywhere on time. The staff was more than nice. If you stay at this hotel, the first one that greets you if you're lucky is Gary, he will take really good care of you, and if you see him please say hi from Pedro from Mexico City, my main man! Highly recommend this hotel, looking forward to staying here again the next time we go to Chicago. We had a blast!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Talbott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Talbott Hotel

Address: 20 East Delaware Place, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Talbott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the many comforting rewards of a small European style hotel in the heart of Chicago's Gold Coast. Steps away from Michigan Avenue. As staff well versed in the art of fine European hospitality, people who remember your name and tend swiftly to your special, as well as, everyday needs. A host of gracious amenities including nightly turn-down service, morning newspapers, complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access, and complimentary access to a world class health center. A contemporary American seafood eatery is the latest concept developed by Managing Partner Alfredo Sandoval of the esteemed Mercadito Hospitality group. Mercadito Fish features the best of casual and fine dining seafood restaurants. Fresh seasonal "catches" and personable service amplify its' modern day sensibility, inspiring exploration of new flavors and approachability. The restaurant showcases a range of familiar and new seafood preparations, as well as an expertly customized beverage program. Matched with a warm and thoughtfully designed environment, Mercadito Fish offers exquisitely prepared seafood without compromising atmosphere and price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Splendia and Hotwire so you can book your The Talbott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Talbott Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.