We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Talbott Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Talbott Hotel to your Saves list
The Talbott Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20 East Delaware Place, Chicago, IL 60611 (Gold Coast)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 178 Hotels in Chicago
Tiffin, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Had a great stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

The whole experience at the hotel was excellent. The customer service was the best I've ever had iat a Chicago hotel and I've stayed in lots of them. Dwayne did an excellent job of taking care of our needs and made our stay wonderful.

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper floors are quiet and getting the elevator is not a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,804 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,452
    287
    36
    15
    14
See reviews for
315
811
85
253
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (344)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
CUBUFF93
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I booked this property on the Hotels Tonight app at a discount. It was rated a luxury hotel and I was excited to check in. It was adequate and nothing more. I was extremely disapointed and would never pay full price for this place.
Negatives:
1)The front desk staff were poor. They provided zero information about the hotel amenities, were dismissive of my question regarding the $51 parking charge for overnight parking and had a unhelpful attitude. I had to wait in a long line to approach them and both times they were taking phone calls while speaking with me.
2)The room was VERY SMALL.
3)The television system is computerized. It malfunctioned and had to be reset causing me to be without TV for a morning. The system and remote control are difficult to navigate with no explanation provided.
4)Parking options are not explained and ridiculously expensive at $51 a day
Positives:
1) Very comfortable bed, sheets and pillows. A nice bathroom with Molton Brown soaps. Oversize comfortable towels and decent robes. The safe was good size and it worked. TV is large size with HD and HBO channels. The mini bar had a lot of choices.
Conclusion:
My last hotel stay was at a Four Seasons. The Talbott is not even close to this level. This hotel would be fine if expecting a Marriott or Hilton. It is not a luxury hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haltom City, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We went to Chicago April 16-20 2013 from Texas to see the sights, some family and watch the baseball games between the Rangers and Cubs. We chose to stay at the Talbott Hotel because of the location and the information we gathered prior to booking. The rooms were very elegant, clean and we got top service the entire time we were there. It was great location close to the miracle mile shopping, restaurants, stores and close to the bus stops and public train stations.
Dwayne was the Bellman who we had a great rapport with, he was always pleasant, and while it rained and snowed while we were there the hotel had nice umbrellas for our use. All the staff was excellent and made us feel at home. They were always helpful with suggestions on what to do and the best mode of transportation to get us there. I highly reccommend this hotel. You won't be disappointed , I promise.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscatine, Iowa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

I'd like to be a little different than the myriad of other stellar reviews of the Talbott- but I can't.
Our group of 3 experienced travellers just returned from a Chicago weekend and we all agreed we had stayed at a gem. We took the train into Chicago and got to the Talbott about 11:00 A.M.
expecting to store our luggage while we waited for check-in. Instead, we were immediately checked in, which was appreciated since it was sleeting and we needed to get some extra clothes on before we headed out. Everyone really acts like they love their job. Genuine smiles
abounded and when I called to have some ice delivered, it not only came within 2 minutes, but
Cameron the front desk person called me back to make sure it arrived. An extremely comfortable
bed, top-notch technology, a great location and the cozy atmosphere of a boutique hotel all at less than $200/night has me sold. I need not look anywhere else
b

Room Tip: As some other travellers have suggested, the Tempo restaurant (one block south) is a great choice f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Kuddos to The Talbot Hotel in Chicago, IL. The rooms were clean, classic and stately.
The staff was incredibly kind and helpful. Cameron , at the desk and Perry, the guest service
agent assisted our group with any and all requests. The location is so convenient to Michigan Ave.
shopping and many wonderful restaurants.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramat Gan, Israel
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

we chose to stay at this hotel after having read about it in tripadvisor and now i write to tell you we had an excellent stay at the talbott.the staff all very helpful and friendly but let me in particular mark mr tim the concierge who is so professional helpful. and knowledgable.the hotel's location is wonderful-ideal for touring business and shopping.
when we will come again to chicago we would not go anywhere else-tim please stay! hotel talbott please keep your good stuff and your high standard.thanks for making our vacation most enjoyable in all means

Room Tip: we stayed on the 6th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
83 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

I had another excellent stay at the Talbott. The suite was outstanding and bathroom had all the required amenities. SLH Clubmembers receive a $15 breakfast voucher which is always apppreciated. The rooms have an old world charm about them and the staff are all very helpful and friendly. The hotel nicely situated near the Watertowers on the Golden Mile and ideal for shopping or business. My home-from-home when in Chicago.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#1 of 178 in Chicago
5.0 of 5 stars 1,133 reviews
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Water Tower
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Four Seasons Hotel Chicago
Near North Side
Kinzie Hotel
Kinzie Hotel
#14 of 178 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 stars 1,798 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#9 of 178 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 stars 2,498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Talbott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Talbott Hotel

Address: 20 East Delaware Place, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 178 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Talbott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the many comforting rewards of a small European style hotel in the heart of Chicago's Gold Coast. Steps away from Michigan Avenue. As staff well versed in the art of fine European hospitality, people who remember your name and tend swiftly to your special, as well as, everyday needs. A host of gracious amenities including nightly turn-down service, morning newspapers, complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access, and complimentary access to a world class health center. Mercadito Kitchen, a contemporary Mexican eatery is the latest concept developed by managing partners, the Sandoval brothers of the esteemed Mercadito Hospitality group. Located inside the Talbott Hotel in the heart of the vibrant Gold Coast neighborhood, Mercadito Kitchen is now bringing your favorite tacos, guacamoles, and margaritas from our flagship location to the Gold Coast. Mercadito Kitchen is open daily for breakfast, lunch, dinner, and late night. Mercadito Kitchen will also offer Gold Coast favorites such as live acoustic music during our weekend brunch (11:00am-3:00pm), an outdoor patio, and extended wine list. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotwire, Amex and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Talbott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Talbott Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.