We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gold Coast Gold” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Talbott Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Talbott Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Talbott Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20 East Delaware Place, Chicago, IL 60611 (Gold Coast)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 167 hotels in Chicago
Austin, TX
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Gold Coast Gold”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We booked the 2 bedroom suite for a long weekend getaway with friends. It was perfect. The bedrooms were spacious and comfortable and the living area was a great gathering place for lazy mornings and late night reviews of the day's adventures. Service was very friendly and accommodating. We didn't try the adjoining bar and restaurant but it looked very welcoming.
The hotel is 2 blocks west of Michigan Ave and 2 blocks north of the Red Line Chicago/State station. I will definitely check here first when we return to Chicago.

Room Tip: We had one bedroom facing on Delaware St. and one facing to the back of the building (no view, but a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,245 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    968
    221
    33
    13
    10
See reviews for
204
559
64
179
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, Mississippi, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We have such great memories of our stay at this place. Yes, the service was impeccable, the room spacious and clean, bed incredibly comfortable, the awesome TV with internet so fun to play with, but there is really just a 'je ne sais quoi' about this place... a really great feeling. The only danger was wanting to spend more time relaxing in our room than out playing in the city! The only kinda-bummer is that I love a big bathtub (big enough for 2) and the tubs in the standard rooms are definitely one-occupant only (but nice and deep for soaking!). But it was well worth the trade-offs! Room service food was yummy, too. Another solid Trip Advisor find!

Room Tip: Upgrade from the standard if you're hoping for a large tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We were in town for just one night to attend a lengthy opera (Die Meistersinger) at the Lyric, so didn't spend a great deal of time at the hotel, but the room (double queen) was large and very pleasant in spite of having no view at all. Beds, linens, towels, terry bathrobes, all excellent. Comfortable seating with good reading lights. Got back to the Talbott just before midnight and walked into the restaurant where staff insisted that it would be no trouble to get us some food in spite of the fact that they were closing the kitchen in about 20 minutes. Good late-night fare in record time. Then had after dinner drinks around one of the fireplaces in the lobby after the restaurant's bar closed at 1:00 a.m. Breakfast next morning (using two $15 vouchers that came with the room) was excellent -- good coffee and fine eggs Benedict with salmon.

But the most important thing at the Talbott was the service. The entire staff, from doorman to bellman to desk staff, bar and restaurant staff and housekeeping provided the best possible service and were probably the most consistently pleasant hotel staff I've ever dealt with.

This was our first time at the Talbott. (We used to go to the Seneca for its very large suites, but it closed not long ago.) But we will absolutely stay again when we go down to the opera or the symphony or theater. Really can't say enough good things about it!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Versailles, Kentucky
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We found this hotel on Hotel Tonight for only $99. I'm sure the rooms are more than that booking for more than a single night. Our room was large & newly remodeled. View was horrible (but I'm sure the hotel has other rooms with much better views), it was next to a brick bldg. We were there to sleep & sleep well we did! It was quiet. They kindly extended a late check-out to us and everyone was friendly & helpful!! It's not the Ritz Carlton, but service is pretty darn close!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, ND
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed here when our flight home was cancelled due to weather. We just wanted a clean place to stay since we were stuck in Chicago for two nights....the Talbott is so much more than that! It's very close to great shopping and the Hancock Tower. The staff is very friendly and helpful (especially the doorman). The beds are comfy, the toiletries are amazing (Molten Brown products...um yes please!), and the building has an upscale and unique decor. The bar looked really nice and we heard that they make unique cocktails there, but we didn't end up going to the bar. We ate at a little cafe called Tempo (just a block away) that has good cheap food. The Signature Room in the Hancock Tower is fun for having a few cocktails and great views of the city! We really enjoyed our stay at the Talbott!

Room Tip: upper level corner rooms are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Starting with the warm welcome from Perry at the front door, the service here is top-notch, the only exception being a bit of surliness from the concierge. Upon discovering my daughter was sick, the housekeeper insisted on going downstairs to fetch her a ginger ale. The front desk staff was extremely helpful as was the bell staff. We loved the old charm of the building combined with ultra-comfortable rooms with luxurious details and all the modern conveniences.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Ohio
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Trip Advisor you didn't let me down. I planned a weekend in Chicago and after researching hotels I chose the Talbott. Fabulous experience as soon as I pulled up from the doorman to the bellman to the check in. 1 block from Rush street and 2 blocks from the center of Michigan Ave shopping.We had dinner at the new restaruant located just off the lobby "Little Market" and it was restaruant week and the food and prices were in line for the meal we received. Since we booked online we received a $30 voucher for Brunch and the Smoked Salmon selection was excellant. Our room was very nice and very clean, bed and pillows were perfect after a day of walking and shopping. When I go back I know where I will be staying!

Room Tip: We requested a smoking room and King and got just what we requested. We actually arrived 1.5 hrs bef...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Talbott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Talbott Hotel

Address: 20 East Delaware Place, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 167 hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Talbott Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the many comforting rewards of a small European style hotel in the heart of Chicago's Gold Coast. Steps away from Michigan Avenue. As staff well versed in the art of fine European hospitality, people who remember your name and tend swiftly to your special, as well as, everyday needs. A host of gracious amenities including nightly turn-down service, morning newspapers, complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access, and complimentary access to a world class health center. Little Market Brasserie, a restaurant from Mercadito Hospitality and the Tippling Bros. Located in the lobby, brings a fresh approach to classic french brasseries by merging tastes from regions around the United States, with ingredients from around the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Amex, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Talbott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Talbott Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.