We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Talbott Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Talbott Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Talbott Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20 East Delaware Place, Chicago, IL 60611 (Gold Coast)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 168 hotels in Chicago
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Starting with the warm welcome from Perry at the front door, the service here is top-notch, the only exception being a bit of surliness from the concierge. Upon discovering my daughter was sick, the housekeeper insisted on going downstairs to fetch her a ginger ale. The front desk staff was extremely helpful as was the bell staff. We loved the old charm of the building combined with ultra-comfortable rooms with luxurious details and all the modern conveniences.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,264 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    984
    224
    33
    13
    10
See reviews for
209
569
65
180
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Troy, Ohio
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Trip Advisor you didn't let me down. I planned a weekend in Chicago and after researching hotels I chose the Talbott. Fabulous experience as soon as I pulled up from the doorman to the bellman to the check in. 1 block from Rush street and 2 blocks from the center of Michigan Ave shopping.We had dinner at the new restaruant located just off the lobby "Little Market" and it was restaruant week and the food and prices were in line for the meal we received. Since we booked online we received a $30 voucher for Brunch and the Smoked Salmon selection was excellant. Our room was very nice and very clean, bed and pillows were perfect after a day of walking and shopping. When I go back I know where I will be staying!

Room Tip: We requested a smoking room and King and got just what we requested. We actually arrived 1.5 hrs bef...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

The location of the hotel was very convenient. We did not do much walking because it was so cold but it was easy and cheap to catch a cab, less than $10 for pretty much every place we wanted to go. The staff was very pleasant and our room was good. The only complaint I had was the beds. They advertise having a pillowtop mattress but it was more like a thin layer of pillowing. I know this sounds really picky but since my bed at home is hard I was really excited about a fluffy pillowy bed to sleep in. Sadly it was not that exciting.

We stayed a Sunday to Tuesday and they accommodated my request for a room with a street view so we didn't have to look out over a brick wall. Much appreciated. Try the original pancake house down the street for breakfast, it was a lot better than the restaurant in the hotel for breakfast and cheaper too. Although we did go to the hotel restaurant for dinner and had a good experience we loved the house made sodas!

Room Tip: Request a street view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We live in the Chicago area, but had dinner plans downtown and decided to avoid driving home at the last minute. We took advantage of a very attractive rate offered on SLH for The Talbott. This property has been around since the late 1920's through many incarnations. The most recent improvements were well executed. The rooms and public areas have been updated. The bar redesign is very well done with lots of glass and reflective materials, but still maintains the warm, inviting feel it always had. The rooms are still very traditional and cozy, but functional and well equipped. The staff are all friendly, helpful and eager to please. We prefer a boutique hotels over chains which is why we chose The Talbott. The location is perfect. You can walk to everything. We will certainly be back even though we live just 15 miles away!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We spent a long weekend at the Talbott for an art show at the hotel in February. This was our first stay at the Talbott; we will never stay anywhere else in Chicago. A boutique hotel with a marvelous associated restaurant, the Talbott is immaculate, quiet, comfortable and in every way accommodating to guests. Every staff member at the hotel goes out of the way to be friendly and helpful. There could be no better service. The location is superb, just off Michigan Ave Magnificent Mile and upper Rush Street. Rooms are large and comfortable, exceptionally well appointed. Reserve on line and get a $30 for two breakfast voucher per day in the attached restaurant. No better value in the city - a gem!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MN
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

The Talbott is a charming, beautiful little hotel right in the heart of downtown Chicago.
Staff is wonderful. The hotel has a boutique look and feel. Our room on the 6th floor was nicely sized and beautifully appointed. Free Wifi is a bonus. Very reasonable price for downtown Chicago. Restaurant next door is very good and had live music on Fri. night. My room had no view, but it was very quiet and that matters more to me.
I'd stay there again without hesitation.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beecher
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

First time in Chicago in many years. Needed to get away and the Talbott experience did not disappoint. After reading many reviews on Tripadvisor, we decided to reserve room at this accomodation. You notice the very classy atmosphere as soon as you enter the front door. All staff are very friendly, personable, and informative. Right here, I have to mention someone special (Dwayne), the doorman. We have an inside joke...he spells his name wrong. Dwayne allowed us to enjoy the special sites and venues that make the Windy City a special place. Please connect with him...tell him Duane sent you...lol. The rooms are elegantly decorated and private. Hotel is centrally located, a few blocks from the Magnifcent Mile and Water Tower Mall. Tempo resturant, around corner is a great place to eat anytime during the day. Not expensive at all. Will be back sooner than later for sure.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Talbott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Talbott Hotel

Address: 20 East Delaware Place, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 168 hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Talbott Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the many comforting rewards of a small European style hotel in the heart of Chicago's Gold Coast. Steps away from Michigan Avenue. As staff well versed in the art of fine European hospitality, people who remember your name and tend swiftly to your special, as well as, everyday needs. A host of gracious amenities including nightly turn-down service, morning newspapers, complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access, and complimentary access to a world class health center. Little Market Brasserie, a restaurant from Mercadito Hospitality and the Tippling Bros. Located in the lobby, brings a fresh approach to classic french brasseries by merging tastes from regions around the United States, with ingredients from around the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Talbott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Talbott Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.