We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Birthday Getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Talbott Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Talbott Hotel to your Saves list
The Talbott Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20 East Delaware Place, Chicago, IL 60611 (Gold Coast)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 178 Hotels in Chicago
Morgantown, Indiana
1 review
“Amazing Birthday Getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed here to celebrate his birthday. Not only were we allowed to check-in early and check-out late, they upgraded us to a suite at no extra charge! All of the staff were extremely friendly and helpful and made us feel like we were their number one priority. I have never experienced this kind of service! The rooms were very clean and comfortable and the hotel is in a great location. Just 2 blocks from Michigan Avenue. We had an amazing time and can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,834 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,473
    297
    37
    15
    12
See reviews for
321
825
85
257
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (353)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Avon, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Thanks to many of the listed reviews, I chose the Talbott Hotel, Chicago, for a two night stay. From the doormen, to the desk clerks, to other staff members...we could not have asked for a better place. The rooms were CLEAN and well kept, as well as ours being spacious. The location was so close to Michigan Avenue or anywhere we wanted to walk. Right across the street was the neatest convenient store: The Goddess and Grocer. I loved my morning coffee here. Also, a short walk down the road...a wonderful breakfast cafe, known as Tempo. This weekend away in the friendly, hospitable town of CHICAGO reminded me "how much I love this town". We plan to make reservations at the Talbott, again, come July!

Room Tip: If you are a AAA member, be sure to present your card. You will receive a discount. Also, benefici...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bloomfield Township, Michigan, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

For years we have been staying at the Sutton Place. Recently they closed for renovation and we were at a loss as where to stay. We decided to stay at the Talbott after reading many positive reviews. We were delighted. From the minute we walked into the hotel we were confident we chose the right place. The staff was very friendly, the room was great, the bed was comfortable, the hotel was beautiful and the location is perfect.

Room Tip: Corner room is larger
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dade City, Florida
Level Contributor
79 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

My wife booked this hotel when I had to travel to Chicago on business and it turned out to be an excellent choice. Good location to downtown, restaurants, bars, shopping, etc. The room was spacious, really comfortable and quiet. I would recommend to anyone spending time in Chicago. If you are a history buff plan on going to the museum of science & industry to see the German U-boat 505. It is inside the musem and an amazing piece of history.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
central IL
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

The staff at this hotel are as outstanding as the location. People went out of their way to be helpful and friendly. We enjoyed our stay thoroughly and were equally pleased with the Little Market restaurant next door. Thank you Trip Advisor--what a find.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Trip Advisor reviewers did not let me down! I booked a two-night stay at The Talbott for a long girls weekend with my daughter and two very young granddaughters (4 and 7). My requirements were 1) fab location near Michigan Avenue, yet quiet, 2) room with two queen beds, 3) good rate, 4) roomy, clean and updated, 5) nice staff and 5) high rating. The Talbott fulfilled all requirements and then some. When we arrived, early check-in was provided. I had called that morning as advised. The rate at check in was less than originally quoted! Our room was very comfortably sized, and nicely appointed. The TV was both a TV and a computer, but no problem: the 7 year old knew how to work it!!! Free WIFI worked well. Bathroom had a double sink. Staff at reception and bell station were friendly, welcoming, and helpful. Sleep quality was good; we were on the tenth floor and windows faced a condo bldg next door so it was quiet. Although we were next to the elevators, we did not hear them at all, as promised by the bellman who accompanied us to our room. Housekeeping did a thorough job. I kept looking for little "do not disturb" hang tags for the door, but my daughter pointed out that there were automatic, illuminated push-button indicators! (Oh!!) The location was incredible. We walked to Water Tower Place to shop at American Girl and eat at Foodlife easily (as well as Ghirardelli and Cheesecake Factory). Starbucks is across the street, and Tempo Cafe, a favorite breakfast diner, just around the corner. I may even stay there with my husband (instead of the Ritz!!).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Zurich, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

My wife and I spent a nice three day mini urban vacation at the Talbott early in December.
We have experienced many hotels and B&B's in Europe and the US and rank the Talbott amoung the best experiences.
Great location and old hotel charm with modern conveniences. Very good place to enjoy the Holiday seasons in Chicago. The staff is professional and make you feel welcome.
Cozy comfy atmosphere with a very nice bar off the lobby and inviting fireplace in the lobby.
My wife and I are planning on making this an annual event and we live in the Northwest suburbs of Chicago.

Room Tip: We had a corner room and it was roomy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#1 of 178 in Chicago
5.0 of 5 stars 1,183 reviews
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Water Tower
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Four Seasons Hotel Chicago
Near North Side
Kinzie Hotel
Kinzie Hotel
#20 of 178 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 stars 1,871 reviews
Near North Side
Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Talbott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Talbott Hotel

Address: 20 East Delaware Place, Chicago, IL 60611
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 178 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Talbott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the many comforting rewards of a small European style hotel in the heart of Chicago's Gold Coast. Steps away from Michigan Avenue. As staff well versed in the art of fine European hospitality, people who remember your name and tend swiftly to your special, as well as, everyday needs. A host of gracious amenities including nightly turn-down service, morning newspapers, complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access, and complimentary access to a world class health center. Mercadito Kitchen, a contemporary Mexican eatery is the latest concept developed by managing partners, the Sandoval brothers of the esteemed Mercadito Hospitality group. Located inside the Talbott Hotel in the heart of the vibrant Gold Coast neighborhood, Mercadito Kitchen is now bringing your favorite tacos, guacamoles, and margaritas from our flagship location to the Gold Coast. Mercadito Kitchen is open daily for breakfast, lunch, dinner, and late night. Mercadito Kitchen will also offer Gold Coast favorites such as live acoustic music during our weekend brunch (11:00am-3:00pm), an outdoor patio, and extended wine list. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Amex, TripOnline SA, Otel and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Talbott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Talbott Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.