We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Birthday Getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Talbott Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Talbott Hotel to your Saves list
The Talbott Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20 East Delaware Place, Chicago, IL 60611 (Near North Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Morgantown, Indiana
1 review
“Amazing Birthday Getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed here to celebrate his birthday. Not only were we allowed to check-in early and check-out late, they upgraded us to a suite at no extra charge! All of the staff were extremely friendly and helpful and made us feel like we were their number one priority. I have never experienced this kind of service! The rooms were very clean and comfortable and the hotel is in a great location. Just 2 blocks from Michigan Avenue. We had an amazing time and can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,486 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,174
    255
    33
    13
    11
See reviews for
249
675
77
208
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Avon, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Thanks to many of the listed reviews, I chose the Talbott Hotel, Chicago, for a two night stay. From the doormen, to the desk clerks, to other staff members...we could not have asked for a better place. The rooms were CLEAN and well kept, as well as ours being spacious. The location was so close to Michigan Avenue or anywhere we wanted to walk. Right across the street was the neatest convenient store: The Goddess and Grocer. I loved my morning coffee here. Also, a short walk down the road...a wonderful breakfast cafe, known as Tempo. This weekend away in the friendly, hospitable town of CHICAGO reminded me "how much I love this town". We plan to make reservations at the Talbott, again, come July!

Room Tip: If you are a AAA member, be sure to present your card. You will receive a discount. Also, benefici...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bloomfield Township, Michigan, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

For years we have been staying at the Sutton Place. Recently they closed for renovation and we were at a loss as where to stay. We decided to stay at the Talbott after reading many positive reviews. We were delighted. From the minute we walked into the hotel we were confident we chose the right place. The staff was very friendly, the room was great, the bed was comfortable, the hotel was beautiful and the location is perfect.

Room Tip: Corner room is larger
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dade City, Florida
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

My wife booked this hotel when I had to travel to Chicago on business and it turned out to be an excellent choice. Good location to downtown, restaurants, bars, shopping, etc. The room was spacious, really comfortable and quiet. I would recommend to anyone spending time in Chicago. If you are a history buff plan on going to the museum of science & industry to see the German U-boat 505. It is inside the musem and an amazing piece of history.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
central IL
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

The staff at this hotel are as outstanding as the location. People went out of their way to be helpful and friendly. We enjoyed our stay thoroughly and were equally pleased with the Little Market restaurant next door. Thank you Trip Advisor--what a find.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Trip Advisor reviewers did not let me down! I booked a two-night stay at The Talbott for a long girls weekend with my daughter and two very young granddaughters (4 and 7). My requirements were 1) fab location near Michigan Avenue, yet quiet, 2) room with two queen beds, 3) good rate, 4) roomy, clean and updated, 5) nice staff and 5) high rating. The Talbott fulfilled all requirements and then some. When we arrived, early check-in was provided. I had called that morning as advised. The rate at check in was less than originally quoted! Our room was very comfortably sized, and nicely appointed. The TV was both a TV and a computer, but no problem: the 7 year old knew how to work it!!! Free WIFI worked well. Bathroom had a double sink. Staff at reception and bell station were friendly, welcoming, and helpful. Sleep quality was good; we were on the tenth floor and windows faced a condo bldg next door so it was quiet. Although we were next to the elevators, we did not hear them at all, as promised by the bellman who accompanied us to our room. Housekeeping did a thorough job. I kept looking for little "do not disturb" hang tags for the door, but my daughter pointed out that there were automatic, illuminated push-button indicators! (Oh!!) The location was incredible. We walked to Water Tower Place to shop at American Girl and eat at Foodlife easily (as well as Ghirardelli and Cheesecake Factory). Starbucks is across the street, and Tempo Cafe, a favorite breakfast diner, just around the corner. I may even stay there with my husband (instead of the Ritz!!).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Zurich, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

My wife and I spent a nice three day mini urban vacation at the Talbott early in December.
We have experienced many hotels and B&B's in Europe and the US and rank the Talbott amoung the best experiences.
Great location and old hotel charm with modern conveniences. Very good place to enjoy the Holiday seasons in Chicago. The staff is professional and make you feel welcome.
Cozy comfy atmosphere with a very nice bar off the lobby and inviting fireplace in the lobby.
My wife and I are planning on making this an annual event and we live in the Northwest suburbs of Chicago.

Room Tip: We had a corner room and it was roomy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Talbott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Talbott Hotel

Address: 20 East Delaware Place, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Talbott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the many comforting rewards of a small European style hotel in the heart of Chicago's Gold Coast. Steps away from Michigan Avenue. As staff well versed in the art of fine European hospitality, people who remember your name and tend swiftly to your special, as well as, everyday needs. A host of gracious amenities including nightly turn-down service, morning newspapers, complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access, and complimentary access to a world class health center. A contemporary American seafood eatery is the latest concept developed by Managing Partner Alfredo Sandoval of the esteemed Mercadito Hospitality group. Mercadito Fish features the best of casual and fine dining seafood restaurants. Fresh seasonal "catches" and personable service amplify its' modern day sensibility, inspiring exploration of new flavors and approachability. The restaurant showcases a range of familiar and new seafood preparations, as well as an expertly customized beverage program. Matched with a warm and thoughtfully designed environment, Mercadito Fish offers exquisitely prepared seafood without compromising atmosphere and price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Talbott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Talbott Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.