We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Talbott Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Talbott Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Talbott Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20 East Delaware Place, Chicago, IL 60611 (Gold Coast)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 169 hotels in Chicago
Milan, Italy
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“amazing stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

warm welcome, good rooms and nice people
very close to the shopping area and to the art museum
very good restaurant with healthy food
very romantic stay
the waiters are well educated with good conversation abilities
no wait to be served
good value for money
they offer complementary breakfast

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,323 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,037
    230
    33
    13
    10
See reviews for
223
591
70
186
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waukesha, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Just want to let everyone know how wonderful the Talbott is....Dawayne,Charles,Perry,Louis,Tanner-Too many names to mention...Everyone is so welcoming and friendly,going above and beyond to accommodate your needs...I would HIIGHLY
recommend theTalbott.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Az
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Perhaps I have been too easy with my previous reviews as I am only giving the Talbott four stars, but this is a great hotel.

We just returned from a first time, three night visit to Chicago. Per Trip Advisor room recommendations, we requested a suite on a corner as high up as possible, and that is exactly what we received on the 13th floor out of 16 floors. The room was large (especially for two), quiet and comfortable. The décor was pleasant although not long before it needs to be updated a bit. Bathrooms are large with two vanities/sinks, tub and separate shower with beautiful tile floors that have their own heater.

The hotel is in an excellent location literally backing up to the Waldorf and within blocks of the time honored Drake. We took less than $10 cab rides to certain sites such as the Art Institute, Lincoln Park or Sears Tower only to ultimately walk back to the hotel. Dinners were at Hugo’s Frog Bar, Gibson’s and Zinc Bistro, all of which are excellent and a very short walk from the hotel.

Our perfect stay would have included a morning workout prior to venturing out for the day. While the hotel offers access to what I understand is a very nice health club, the inconvenience of walking 1.5 blocks was enough for us to forego morning workouts! If I had a complaint, it’s that there was no workout room in the hotel, but I knew that when I made my reservation.

Staff was very pleasant and accommodating. We arrived several hours before the 3:00 pm arrival time unannounced. While our room was not immediately ready, front desk staff smiled and assured us it would not be long, which it wasn’t. Bellman Perry was very helpful getting our bags to the room, explaining the television, computer, minibar,… He had plenty of great responses to our many questions. The concierge staff was excellent suggesting places to dine, making reservations etc.

The hotel has a restaurant and bar which are small and quiet. We ate breakfast here each morning and were more than content. The bar is more of a “meeting” place than a destination which is all it needs to be. There are plans underway to greatly increase the restaurant into a neighborhood friendly spot with an expanded menu. Hotel staff seemed excited about this and I believe it will be a great addition.

The hotel lobby and sitting rooms are very comfortable and were brightly decorated with tasteful Christmas decorations. Our experience at the Talbott was really excellent and we certainly will stay here again.

Room Tip: We selected a one room suite requesting (and receiving) a corner room as high up as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

My husband and I travelled to Chicago for our 30th wedding anniversary. Chicago was a place we wanted to visit so it was a perfect opportunity! We looked at several hotels but kept coming back to the Talbott. My husband had casually mentioned we were celebrating our anniversary when he booked our room and when we arrived we were greeted with a Happy Anniversary and soon after our arrival a beautiful fruit basket arrived with best wishes from the hotel staff.
When we were shown to our room by Dwayne, we felt like rockstars, the room was BEAUTIFUL!
We had booked the one-bedroom suite - the room was immaculate and very comfortable. Dwayne gave us the low-down on the area around the Talbott which was so helpful. Dwayne is a very pleasant fellow, as are all the staff, but he was particularly helpful. His quick smile and good humor was a pleasure every day. Each and every day without fail, the front desk staff greeted us and every other guest. Tim, one of the concierge staff, gave us lots of helpful information as well. Tim booked our evening restaurants and left us a card in our room with all the information. We didn't know the restaurant until we were back at the room. All his selections were superb and within walking distance of the hotel. We loved Chicago!!! We will definitely return to the Talbott. We ate at Lou Malnati's, Ditka's, The Rosebud, Wildfire, Chicago-q, the Tempo Cafe. All were great. There is a grocery store very near the hotel so you can pick up wine, snacks, and whatever. Starbucks is across the street. The Magnificent Mile is great shopping - little high end but very nice to walk. The Bean or Cloud in Millenium Park is really unique and so cool. A definite must see. We didn't see any sporting events, NHL on strike, and the Bears were out of town. We also did a city tour - which was a hop on/hop off - and an architectural boat tour. The boat tour is "must do" in my opinion. Chicago is the birthplace of the skyscraper so there is lots of history. The guide is a volunteer and she talked for the entire 90 minute tour and then would not accept a tip! The weather was cooler, as it was mid-October, but comfortable! Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Stayed here for two nights on a business trip and my wife was traveling with me. The staff was very friendly and acted like they appreciated our business. The location, just a couple of blocks off of Michigan Ave is nice and quiet. Hotel is very nice, I will defintely stay here the next time I travel to Chicago.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waukesha, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

The minute you arrive you are treated like a king or queen Charles, Dwayne,Tanner, Perry, Louis,are the BEST along with the rest of the staff nothing but EXELENCE. Will continue to stay here when visiting Chicago

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morrow, Ohio
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

There are many reasons why this hotel is one of the best in Chicago...

I traveled there for a work function and meeting that was going to be held at The Drake. While I very much enjoyed my stay there, I was looking for a new place to stay. I came across The Talbott Hotel and was happy I did.

First of all, it's a smaller property. But the size makes it feel more cozy and personal. The lobby is perfect. Sitting by the fire one evening reading a book was a treat.

Second, check-in was a wonderful experience. I arrived my first day around 11am thinking I wasn't going to be able to check-in until the stated time of 3pm. The lovely lady at the front desk thought otherwise and immediately checked me into my room.

The rooms were wonderful. The Talbott calls itself a boutique hotel. I like boutique hotels. I like small rooms. This room was anything but small. It was a nice balance of space and comfort. A previous review said that the decorating was like being in grandma's attic (or something like that). That couldn't be further from the truth. The decorating of the rooms and the lobby reminded me of an elegant lounge from the 1950's...rich colors and wood throughout.

The bed was extremely comfortable and I had no problem whatsoever sleeping at night...no noise from the outside. They also offer turn down service which is a nice touch.

Service was ever present throughout the entire place...from the doorman to the front desk to those that cleaned the rooms.

If I had to choose one area that needed improvement, it would be the menu and food of the restaurant off the lobby. It's very limited in selection. For example, as a vegan, there was only one thing I could eat for lunch/dinner and that was a salad. Breakfast was only a simple fruit plate. Skip the coffee there...it's not very good. Walk across the street to Starbucks and get your morning joe there. For dinner, walk to Karyn's Cooked...it's worth it.

Bottom line...there's a reason why The Talbott Hotel is one of the top rated in Chicago. It's now on my list of go-to places.

Room Tip: I stayed on the 13th floor and it was very quiet. No street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Talbott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Talbott Hotel

Address: 20 East Delaware Place, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 169 hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Talbott Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the many comforting rewards of a small European style hotel in the heart of Chicago's Gold Coast. Steps away from Michigan Avenue. As staff well versed in the art of fine European hospitality, people who remember your name and tend swiftly to your special, as well as, everyday needs. A host of gracious amenities including nightly turn-down service, morning newspapers, complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access, and complimentary access to a world class health center. Little Market Brasserie, a restaurant from Mercadito Hospitality and the Tippling Bros. Located in the lobby, brings a fresh approach to classic french brasseries by merging tastes from regions around the United States, with ingredients from around the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Amex, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your The Talbott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Talbott Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.