We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Talbott Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Talbott Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Talbott Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20 East Delaware Place, Chicago, IL 60611 (Gold Coast)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 167 hotels in Chicago
Louisville, Kentucky
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Stayed here for two nights on a business trip and my wife was traveling with me. The staff was very friendly and acted like they appreciated our business. The location, just a couple of blocks off of Michigan Ave is nice and quiet. Hotel is very nice, I will defintely stay here the next time I travel to Chicago.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,123 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    870
    199
    31
    13
    10
See reviews for
173
505
63
164
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waukesha, Wisconsin
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

The minute you arrive you are treated like a king or queen Charles, Dwayne,Tanner, Perry, Louis,are the BEST along with the rest of the staff nothing but EXELENCE. Will continue to stay here when visiting Chicago

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morrow, Ohio
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

There are many reasons why this hotel is one of the best in Chicago...

I traveled there for a work function and meeting that was going to be held at The Drake. While I very much enjoyed my stay there, I was looking for a new place to stay. I came across The Talbott Hotel and was happy I did.

First of all, it's a smaller property. But the size makes it feel more cozy and personal. The lobby is perfect. Sitting by the fire one evening reading a book was a treat.

Second, check-in was a wonderful experience. I arrived my first day around 11am thinking I wasn't going to be able to check-in until the stated time of 3pm. The lovely lady at the front desk thought otherwise and immediately checked me into my room.

The rooms were wonderful. The Talbott calls itself a boutique hotel. I like boutique hotels. I like small rooms. This room was anything but small. It was a nice balance of space and comfort. A previous review said that the decorating was like being in grandma's attic (or something like that). That couldn't be further from the truth. The decorating of the rooms and the lobby reminded me of an elegant lounge from the 1950's...rich colors and wood throughout.

The bed was extremely comfortable and I had no problem whatsoever sleeping at night...no noise from the outside. They also offer turn down service which is a nice touch.

Service was ever present throughout the entire place...from the doorman to the front desk to those that cleaned the rooms.

If I had to choose one area that needed improvement, it would be the menu and food of the restaurant off the lobby. It's very limited in selection. For example, as a vegan, there was only one thing I could eat for lunch/dinner and that was a salad. Breakfast was only a simple fruit plate. Skip the coffee there...it's not very good. Walk across the street to Starbucks and get your morning joe there. For dinner, walk to Karyn's Cooked...it's worth it.

Bottom line...there's a reason why The Talbott Hotel is one of the top rated in Chicago. It's now on my list of go-to places.

Room Tip: I stayed on the 13th floor and it was very quiet. No street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pickerington, OH
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

My wife and I traveled to Chicago on Friday, October 26, 2012, for a "week-late" anniversary celebration. The reason for the delay was to attend the Barbra Streisand concert (great I might add). We could stay only one night at the Talbott Hotel. The hotel is centrally located - just a short walk from Michigan Avenue and the Sears (?) Building. The room was perfect; it was just the right size and the bathroom was large. The staff was very attentive - from the Doorman to the Front Desk. We had a light lunch late Friday afternoon and breakfast on Saturday morning ($15 off per person). Waiter was great and food was very good. I highly recommend this hotel - we will definitely stay there again on our next trip to The Windy City.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 2nd floor facing the street. It was very quiet and you could easily walk the one f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon, France
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Thanks to all the positive reviews in Tripadvisor I chose the Talbott Hotel for my stay in Chicago. I am not a big fan of anonymous international hotel chains and what I found at the Talbott Hotel was exactly what I had been looking for!

Such beautiful decorations during Christmas time, a fire burning in the cosy lounges, very friendly staff, great location within walking distance to all the department stores, shops and restaurants. My room was very comfortable, spacious and I enjoyed my favorite Molton Brown amenities. Bath robes were provided, but the only thing I really missed were a pair of slippers that usually go with them! Next time I won't forget to pack my own.

I didn't have breakfast at the hotel but went across the road to "The Godess and Grocer" for some freshly pressed orange juice and a toasted breakfast bagel. A wonderful delicatessen with a wide range of delicious choices. I took it back to my room to enjoy it with the free coffee from the Keurig coffee maker.

Next time I come to Chicago I will definitely stay there again!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breckenridge, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Great little hotel in easy walking distance of the Magnificant Mile on North Michigan. The rooms are very nice and very quiet. The staff was so friendly and helpful. Wonderful place to spend time in downtown Chicago.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

I had a thoroughly enjoyable stay at the Talbott from 4 to 7 November 2012 and was there when Barack Obama was reelected. This is a boutique hotel committed to treating its guests as individuals and going the extra mile. The room was comfortable and everything worked well. A problem working the state of the art TV service was attended to promptly, cheerfully and successfully by the engineer. The bed was excellent. Tim, the concierge, was very knowledgeable and helpful. He was effective in securing a reservation for me in a top restaurant I was keen to try. He guided me to the Chicago attractions I wanted to experience. The restaurant is outsourced and was undergoing some changes when I was there. The service had some idiosyncratic features and the Continental breakfast was bread heavy but quite generous. The service was friendly. Chicago is a wonderful city. The Talbott is well located and works to help guests fully enjoy their Chicago experience. I would happily return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Talbott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Talbott Hotel

Address: 20 East Delaware Place, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 167 hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Talbott Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the many comforting rewards of a small European style hotel in the heart of Chicago's Gold Coast. Steps away from Michigan Avenue. As staff well versed in the art of fine European hospitality, people who remember your name and tend swiftly to your special, as well as, everyday needs. A host of gracious amenities including nightly turn-down service, morning newspapers, complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access, and complimentary access to a world class health center. Little Market Brasserie, a restaurant from Mercadito Hospitality and the Tippling Bros. Located in the lobby, brings a fresh approach to classic french brasseries by merging tastes from regions around the United States, with ingredients from around the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Amex, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Preferred Hotels, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your The Talbott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Talbott Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.