We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happily celebrated anniversary here” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel Chicago

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel Chicago to your Saves list
Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel Chicago
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   163 East Walton Place, at N. Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611 (Streeterville)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Now & Save up to 20%
Ranked #81 of 179 Hotels in Chicago
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“Happily celebrated anniversary here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Mentioned our anniversary at check-in and my hubby & I were happily surprised with sparkling wine and chocolate-covered strawberries when we returned to our room that evening. Lovely, if small, room with the most comfortable bed ever! The staff was great--friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay here again. (Saved on overnight parking a block away with the park whiz app.)

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    180
    45
    19
    10
See reviews for
76
158
23
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Our family of four stayed four nights in one room with two queen beds. The lobby is elegant and the room was modern and clean and quite spacious.

The staff were friendly and the lobby lounge/bar was a pleasant place to take a break for a drink and snack. Location is close to the Magnificent Mile.

Our only complaint was that free wi-fi was only available in the lobby, not the hotel rooms. Come on Knickerbocker! We have been in the States six weeks and every single hotel/motel has provided free wi-fi to guests.

Stayed May 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I was delighted to be staying at the Knickerbocker ... a lovely central position and classic building. I loved the ambience in the bar which is situated in the foyer... even a pianist playing when we arrived. The room was good, very much to the standard I would expect of a large hotel of this nature...lovely bed. Very clean. However, a couple of things I was not happy about was that the beverage facilities in the room were weak. There was coffee, but no milk and no tea...I felt that I was not encouraged to stay in my room. Also I was disappointed with the breakfast, for a hotel of this size and standing the choice and quality was not great - I have had so much better in many cheaper hotels and the staff in the restaurant at this time were not the greatest. Again I got the impression that they were not expecting many people to have breakfast... A little complacent, maybe? I expected great things of this obviously well-regarded hotel, but sadly was disappointed. One other thing... the front desk staff were very helpful. I also feel that in this day and age, wifi should be free in your room, in this type of hotel.

Room Tip: Suggest you have breakfast out...places to eat within 10 minutes walk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The first thing that impressed me was its location, Magnificent Mile/Michigan Avenue was at 2 minutes’ walk and Lakeshore drive was at 4 minutes’ walk on the other side. 360 Chicago, Cheese cake factory and Water Tower were 5 minutes away on Magnificent Mile from the hotel.
It’s a beautiful historic hotel. The hotel’s façade gives a royal look and interiors give pleasant and soothing look. Room was good, neat and clean but comparatively small with all amenities and so was the bathroom. Bed was great, very comfortable. Very helpful and friendly staff, they allowed us to check in much before scheduled time as room was available and it was indeed a great help for us and we are thankful for this gesture.
We (me & my husband) stayed here for 3 nights and had no problem whatsoever.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Arizona, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Came in for the P Konerko # retirement at US Cellular Field. Stayed at the Knickerbocker which is a great location in downtown. You are 2 blocks from Water Tower and Bloomingdales for all you shoppers out there. Also only a few blocks from the Redline which can get you to both Wrigley Field or US Cellular.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Nice clean, simple yet elegant room. Two minutes walk to the Mag Mile and 5 minutes walk to the lake shore. 360 Chicago and the Cheesecake factory are at a stone's throw. One can walk to Chicago History Museum and to Water Tower Place also within 5 minutes. Reception was always manned by smiling, friendly yet thoroughly professional gentlemen.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saginaw, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The hotel itself was lovely, clean & rooms spacious! The lobby and Martini Bar was wonderful. Great Martini's! Staff very helpful! It was convenient with having shopping and resturants nearby. Lots to get to within walking distance if you choose. Would highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel Chicago

Address: 163 East Walton Place, at N. Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Streeterville , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Chicago
#41 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#54 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#76 Family Hotel in Chicago
#76 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A four-diamond landmark on North Michigan Avenue, the famous Magnificent Mile, this hotel welcomes you to the best location in the city for shopping, dining and business. European style and gracious service are the trademark of this elegant hotel and the 86 Millennium hotels around the world. One block from Water Tower Place, across the street from Bloomingdale's and within walking distance of most major attractions, this hotel offers personalized service and attention not found in the larger hotels. The hotel features the Martini Bar offering several kinds of martinis. Nix restaurant offers a bistro setting and features continental cuisine for breakfast & lunch. A complimentary fitness center and lakefront jogging path are designed to keep you fit while traveling. Enjoy Classic Chicago style only steps away from all the city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, World Independent Hotel Promotion, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Otel, Odigeo, Agoda, BookIt.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millennium Knickerbocker Chicago
Chicago Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel
Knickerbocker Hotel Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel Chicago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.