We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick Memorial Weekend Trip” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel Chicago

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel Chicago to your Saves list
Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel Chicago
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   163 East Walton Place, at N. Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611 (Streeterville)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Now & Save up to 20%
Ranked #83 of 177 Hotels in Chicago
Heidelberg, Germany
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Quick Memorial Weekend Trip”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I got a great deal through Expedia on this place and it turned out to be a good location. I highly suggest it if your to do list includes shopping and going to the beach! It's right off Michigan Ave and close to a good mix of stores. We arrived to town at about 9:30/10am and the gentleman at the front desk kindly waived our early check in fee and give us a room that was ready which was much appreciated.The room was small but comfortable, however there was a huge stain on the carpet by the bed. I could see the beach between two buildings from our room but the windows were quite dirty. The water pressure in the shower wasn't so great either. Valet cost us $67 and we were able to keep the car there until 6pm on the day we checked out which worked out nice since we had some other things planned to do that morning/afternoon. However we received our bill in the morn for valet and my card on file had already been charged! Prior to the charge I was expecting an opportunity to switch payment forms when we went to check out which was frustrating! Then there was an issue switching to my boyfriend's card. The gentleman at the front desk swiped it and was having issues so he got what I assume was the manager. The manager then, without checking if my bf's card had got charged, swiped it again causing my bf's card to be charged the $67 twice! A little careless of the managerial individual!!! Now we are both waiting for $67 each to go back to our cards, putting a little bit of a damper on our weekend budget! Overall the location is nice and the room was comfortable for the visit.

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    173
    45
    19
    10
See reviews for
74
153
23
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Footsteps away from the city center and a short ride to the Pier. Contemporary hotel, clean and good service. Book this hotel for location!!! People that worked here were friendly. They do put a hold for the amount of each night stay on your debit card.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

A beautiful hotel to stay at, the staff are lovely and courteous. The rooms are modern, clean and fresh. It's a lovely end of Chicago and is a great base to travel from. A short walk from the lake and easily accessed by car from the Airport. If you get chance, ask to see the ballroom, a wonderful atmosphere and impressively preserved. Great food and service (apart from one occasion at the bar). We visit regularly because it's a great place to stay.

Room Tip: For a quieter night try to gain a room away from the lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Rooms are very small and the $75 a night , incidentals charge is crazy ; Staff are friendly and the rooms are clean. I had a martini in the martini bar while listening to the jazz band , the martini had a kick , very good .

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I was amazed at how fantastic this location was. We were told to stay in the Loop area but went against the grain and picked this hotel. It was a fantastic experience with friendly staff, great location and updated rooms. We didn't eat in the restaurant and didn't spend a great deal of time in the hotel during our 5 day stay but I definitely recommend it. Also, I used the gym and was happy with the facility. It's small but sufficient.

TIP: If you sign up for the free Millenium Knickerbocker Loyalty program you'll get free Wi-Fi in the room.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Its not often one has a reason to stay in a hotel in one's own city. The times I have stayed in corporate policy hotels have been ok but not great. This hotel has old world charm with new world amenities. We stayed two nights in a King room that was well appointed with a duvet and a fresh cover (not a coverlet others have used), a window that opened to allow for fresh air instead of a window unit rickety fan going all night, and an extremely accommodating staff. Solidly built we heard no noise from the street, other rooms or the hall at any time. Everything was perfectly clean. Loved it. And when we checked out there were some misapplied charges and there was zero discussion of removing them. It took 30 seconds. To get a good rate on short notice, we used a discount voucher program where you pay for the room at time of booking. I was a little skeptical as the information online seemed to imply that the room may come with a king or two queen beds. It appears most of the rooms have king and if you choose the slightly more expensive option, you get a high floor. After I booked, I called the hotel and they confirmed it was a king. All standard or standard-plus rooms appear to have walk-in showers rather than tubs, as well.

Room Tip: Windows open for fresh air. Rooms have walk in showers rather than tubs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I took a 4 day trip to Chicago for fun and couldn't have been happier with our stay at the Knickerbocker Millennium. We arrived early, around noon and expected to drop our bags off until check in time but we were checked in immediately since our room was ready which was a lovely surprise. The room was very clean and well stocked. The room was small but I knew that when I booked it and it wasn't an issue for the two of us, especially considering we had a king size bed. The bathroom was clean and the shower was really nice with 2 shower heads and it was a large stand up shower. The robe in the room was a nice touch. The entire staff were welcoming and very friendly, especially the cleaning staff on our floor who were always working hard. We were never bothered early for cleanings and our room was cleaned quickly while we were out during the day. The elevators were small but quick to arrive. The bellhops/valets who worked outside were always friendly and quick to get us a cab. I honestly don't think I have ever been to a hotel with a nicer staff as a whole. The only bad thing about the hotel as a whole was the TV package at the bar. We went to the bar after leaving the Cubs/Mets game on Monday 5/11 and when we asked to have the Cubs game put on one of the TV's they didn't have the channel! The bartender was super nice and very apologetic but this was out of his control if the manager doesn't supply him with a cable package to accommodate a request to watch a local game. We actually left, and went down the street to the Local which is at the Marriott (I think) and had a drink there watching the game. All in all our stay was great. The location of this hotel is perfect for walking to see a lot of Chicago and there is nothing too far out of the way. There are tons of great places to eat/drink, shopping etc. I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel Chicago

Address: 163 East Walton Place, at N. Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Streeterville , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Chicago
#43 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#62 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#77 Family Hotel in Chicago
#79 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A four-diamond landmark on North Michigan Avenue, the famous Magnificent Mile, this hotel welcomes you to the best location in the city for shopping, dining and business. European style and gracious service are the trademark of this elegant hotel and the 86 Millennium hotels around the world. One block from Water Tower Place, across the street from Bloomingdale's and within walking distance of most major attractions, this hotel offers personalized service and attention not found in the larger hotels. The hotel features the Martini Bar offering several kinds of martinis. Nix restaurant offers a bistro setting and features continental cuisine for breakfast & lunch. A complimentary fitness center and lakefront jogging path are designed to keep you fit while traveling. Enjoy Classic Chicago style only steps away from all the city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, World Independent Hotel Promotion, EasyToBook, Otel, Odigeo, BookIt.com and Agoda so you can book your Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millennium Knickerbocker Chicago
Chicago Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel
Knickerbocker Hotel Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel Chicago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.