We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty hotel with good service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel Chicago

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel Chicago to your Saves list
Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel Chicago
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   163 East Walton Place, at N. Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611 (Streeterville)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Now & Save up to 20%
Ranked #82 of 177 Hotels in Chicago
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Pretty hotel with good service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The Millenium Knickerbocker is a small & charming hotel in a great location, very close to the lake & Mag Mile. Reception staff were friendly & efficient and allocated us a tenth floor room with a view of the lake. Our room was spacious enough, with a very comfortable super king bed, mini bar, desk, two chairs & roomy wardrobe. The bathroom was a good size, with a rainfall shower, that included a hand held option. We slept very well, as the hotel is in a quiet area, although we did need to switch off the noisy air conditioning. We had breakfast in the hotel's small, yet airy restaurant & were pleasantly surprised by the á la carte menu & reasonable pricing. We ate huge portions of eggs florentine, with a large pot of coffee each. Although our stay was only one night, it was long enough to know that we would stay here again.

Stayed April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    167
    43
    17
    10
See reviews for
71
145
22
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The Millienium Knickerbocker Hotel Chicago was a 5-minute walk from the Chicago red line CTA subway station. The Hotel's location was in the Near North area towards the north end of The Magnificient Mile shopping belt, and a stone's throw to the Oak St Beach further up north. Plenty of retail shops and eateries in the vincinity of the Hotel. In particular, I liked to go to the Water Tower place mall, an easy walking distance south of The Hotel; it has lots of shops, Macy's, a food court, and free Wifi. Macy's offered a 10% discount voucher for tourists who registered their passports at the Macy's information counter.

The interior of the Hotel was high-class, glamerous, and cozy. The lounge is spacious and had a live gig in the evenigs. Parts of the lounge was nicely decorated like a study room with large bay windows. The staff at the check-in counter and concierge were professional and friendly. Checking in was a breeze. I would like to compliment one of the bellhops. He was carrying some lugguages belonging to a frail elderly couple in the lobby while the couple was entering the hotel through the revolving door. As they entered the hotel with some effort, they stumbled a little and the bellhop was sharp to turn around quickly and extended his helping hand to steady them and lef them further into the lobby. I was very impressed since this was the first time I witnessed a bellhop focusing on the safety of hotel guests in the midst of his taking care of guests' lugguages. I feel very safe in this hotel, knowing that such a staff worked there. Unfortunately, I did not find out his name. He was tall, dark, and without spectacles.

My room was clean, neat, cozy, comfortable, and rather spacious. There was a nice writing desk with a computer monitor and keyboard on it. There were complimentary coffee power and tea bags, a drawerful of paid snacks, and a mini refrigerator fully stocked with paid drinks. The bed was comfortable to sleep in. The bathroom came with a bathtub, clean towels, and complimentary bath products. All the items in the room were of fine furnishings. Wifi in the room was chargeable but complimentary in the lobby. I did not see any safe box in the room though.

I would stay in this hotel again if I have the chance to visit Chicago again in the future.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Your valet was very rude when we requested a cab. We needed a cab for 6 people and called down 20 min ahead of time. He said that would be very difficult and then hung up on us. When we went down to the valet to get a cab we again requested one for 6 people and he said he couldn't do that or we would be waiting a half hour then walked away from us and ignored us. We ended up getting our own 2 cabs at more of an expense to us. The second time we requested help was for our bags to be held the day we were checking out so that we could give up our rooms. They said they would have someone right with us but we were left standing in the lobby for 15 min while 5 of your employees stood outside laughing together. We ended up hauling all of our luggage back up to one of our rooms for storage. I will not be visiting this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Very nice hotel indeed. Lots of old world charm (even more hidden below some of the modern facade as one of the excellent waiters told us!), good food, very good room which was large, clean, had a great bed, very good shower and was quiet (compared with New York where I travelled from!)
Very good location with very helpful staff - reception, concierge, waiters, getting a taxi etc. No hesitation is recommending this hotel and would happily stay there again

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I recently stayed at the Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel in Chicago for a work-related conference (hosted at the Four Seasons, only 2 blocks away). This was my first time staying at a Millennium hotel. The hotel was on the older side in terms of structure (small elevators) but had a charm to it. The rooms are what I expected from my prior stay in Chicago—small. I had a king bed that was comfortable, a desk to work at and a small chair. That was all I really needed for the trip. There were plenty of charging stations at the desk and a light on either side of the bed. The bathroom was very small. The stall shower had a “rain” head but the water would come out of the shower if the door was not closed. The water pressure was poor. The room was loud with hallway noise and traffic noise from the street. I turned off the HVAC/heating because of the loud noise. The gym was good for a hotel gym—7 pieces of cardio equipment with individual TVs (I went each day before 6 am and had no problem getting equipment). Overall, the hotel was clean and affordable and the staff was friendly.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego,ca
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Hotel is old but nice. Rooms could use an update. Staff was friendly and helpful. Great location for walking around downtown. Public transportation is also with in walking distance. Lobby bar is just inside front door and is a great place for groups to gather.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boyne City, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel is near it all. The rooms are well appointed and offer a warm feeling. The front desk associates are mannered and well trained. I would either stay here or at the JW Marriott during my next trip to Chicago.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel Chicago

Address: 163 East Walton Place, at N. Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Streeterville , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Chicago
#41 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#66 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#70 Business Hotel in Chicago
#78 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A four-diamond landmark on North Michigan Avenue, the famous Magnificent Mile, this hotel welcomes you to the best location in the city for shopping, dining and business. European style and gracious service are the trademark of this elegant hotel and the 86 Millennium hotels around the world. One block from Water Tower Place, across the street from Bloomingdale's and within walking distance of most major attractions, this hotel offers personalized service and attention not found in the larger hotels. The hotel features the Martini Bar offering several kinds of martinis. Nix restaurant offers a bistro setting and features continental cuisine for breakfast & lunch. A complimentary fitness center and lakefront jogging path are designed to keep you fit while traveling. Enjoy Classic Chicago style only steps away from all the city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, World Independent Hotel Promotion, EasyToBook, Otel, Priceline, Agoda and BookIt.com so you can book your Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millennium Knickerbocker Chicago
Chicago Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel
Knickerbocker Hotel Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel Chicago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.