We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old style grandeur, meets modern room comforts!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel Chicago

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel Chicago to your Saves list
Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel Chicago
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   163 East Walton Place, at N. Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611 (Near North Side)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now & Save up to 20%
Ranked #66 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Seattle
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Old style grandeur, meets modern room comforts!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This was a break in tradition for us. With travel accounts, we usually stay at one of two brands that have several properties on and around Michigan Ave. This time, I wanted to try a hotel with a different feel. The property is about 2 blocks from Michigan Ave - and close to Lakeshore Drive; so well situated. It definitely retains it's old time grandeur in the lobby and common areas. A huge chandelier with very ornate decor, so unique. Like everywhere, your valet parking will be quite expensive - but the staff was exceptional as you'd expect. There is a bar and a restaurant in the lobby. Be prepared, the elevators are very small. 4 people with one bag each, or 6 people with no luggage, and you're elbow to elbow. Again - they've retained their old time charm, so who can complain! The rooms are where you'll find modern conveniences. We had two rooms, 1King and 2double - both had computers in the room...so handy. Each had large 40in (?) TVs and the bathrooms were nicely remodeled. The bathroom in the 1K was very very small. I'm 5'6 and i could extend my arms and touch the shower glass enclosure and the counter. Plenty of room, just small. Our 2nd room with 2 double beds had a much larger bathroom, if that's of any issue for you. Again, our rooms faced out to the interior corridor of the hotel, which had a quite dismal view of the same backside of the Westin hotel. Just hundreds of windows closed in around you blocking out all natural light, etc. Our recommendation is to ask for a street facing room - problem solved.
The concierge and bell captain were terrific, check in and out was simple. One room had an honor bar stocked and the 2nd room, empty. Be sure to look when you check in to ensure you dont get charged for something you didn't use!! I would recommend this, and would stay here again!

Room Tip: Interior wall rooms face out into a dismal U shaped view of the backside of the westin hotel rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    142
    37
    12
    8
See reviews for
61
129
19
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I stayed at the Millennium Knickerbocker in July 2014 and we loved it. Were very pleased with our room after reading many negative reviews. It was clean, tidy, spacious and had a nice view too. The staff, especially the Manager Sam, were wonderful. Its location is outstanding. If you want to shop the Magnificent Mile, you are RIGHT there. And I can't walk a lot but boy was I checking out all the shops! Public transport is also nearby to take you to Navy Pier, Millennium Park, or just the other end of the Mile. The only drawback was concierge - not very helpful at all. I would suggest you ask reception instead (or the bartender - he was very helpful too). Great restaurants also within walking distance too.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Velma W, General Manager at Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel Chicago, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest,

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you for your review and we are happy to know that you enjoy our location. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Yours in Hospitality,
Velma Wong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birkerod, Denmark
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have stayed in the Knickerbocker on three different occasions (every time with kids) and we love it. Easily the best hotel we have stayed in in Chicago (10+ trips). Very nice and spacious rooms and you can't beat the location. Every time we have needed the staff they have been nice and very helpfull. One time they even got a hold on our cabdriver while we were going to the airport to tell us we had forgotten our stroller. We are planning on coming back in march. Only negative is that there is no free wifi.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Velma W, General Manager at Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel Chicago, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on your recent stay. We are thrilled to hear that you think that the Millennium Knickerbocker is the best hotel in Chicago. Our staff takes pride in committing to providing helpful and good service for our guests. We look forward to having you stay with us again in March!

Yours in Hospitality,
Velma Wong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owensboro, Kentucky
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed here a few years back when in town for business. The room was small and old overlooking the alleyway with a hefty price tag. I wasn't too impressed with the room but the location and service was excellent. The valet parking and good information from the front desk was impeccable.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florencio F, General Manager at Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel Chicago, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review. We are delighted to hear that you felt the location and service was “excellent”. My team and I look forward to welcoming you back the next time you’re in Chicago!

Yours in Hospitality,
Florencio Ferrao
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed in one of the suites here, the room was nice with a soaking tub, location was great near main shopping strip. Unfortunately that's where it stops.
There was no concierge to help us with planning activities, lucky we had trip advisor to help
You have to pay to use Internet!!!
The staff in general were absolutely useless , I think it's a moral thing as I heard some talking on how they hated working there.
Overall there are better places to stay near by
Only once out of the week we stayed did the bellboys get me a cab, it was to cold for them to go outside, or maybe they just weren't engaged in their job

Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florencio F, General Manager at Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel Chicago, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review on trip advisor and we are happy to hear that you enjoyed our location. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience that you experienced with our staff. Your comments are not taken lighting and proper measures were taken. I regret that you were unhappy with your stay at the hotel. Next time you’re in the city, my team and I hope that we can make it up to you


Yours in Hospitality,
Florencio Ferrao
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My family and I stayed here this past summer when in town for the Orioles vs Cubs games. First off, the location is wonderful! Just a few steps and you're on the Magnificent Mile or over by the beach/lake area. The bus was easy to catch when we needed to get somewhere and right around the corner. The closest El stop was several blocks away though. When we checked in, my parents room was ready right away while my sister and I had to wait.I had called ahead the day before and that morning and was told both rooms would be ready. I understand things happen though so I wasn't too upset by that and we put our stuff in my parents room. Once we got to our room, it was spacious, plenty of room for 2 girls to get ready and throw our stuff around. The elevators though - very small! Then again, this an older hotel and you could say it's part of it's charm. However, two nights we were there at one point only one elevator worked and everyone was playing the waiting game. When i walked up the steps to try and nix the elevator I found out that the steps start at the 3rd floor so you had no choice but to wait. (Also, just curious isn't that a fire code violation to have the stairs start on the third floor?) The staff though, while I did have one nice front desk attendant, the others were a bit rude and stand offish. There were two times when I was standing there waiting to be helped and they just kept talking to each other in the backroom.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florencio F, General Manager at Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel Chicago, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. We are happy to read that you enjoyed your spacious room. We have taken your comments regarding our elevators seriously and do have stairs on all levels for our guests. We apologize for the inconveniences you experienced. We hope that we can provide you with a more memorable stay next time you visit the Windy City.


Yours in Hospitality,
Florencio Ferrao
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I went to see my daughter in Chicago and see the city. My first time outside of O'Hare Airport. When we arrived, the staff was great, but my wife had made a reservation for two rooms, one under our name and the other inadvertently ended up under my (soon to be) son in law's name. As I was unaware of this, the clerk at the counter could not find the reservation and copped an attitude that I was lying to sneak in an extra room or God knows what...He was arrogant and obnoxious, had my daughter not been there, I would have punched him out. Upon leaving, there was a second charge for valet parking on the same day. We took cabs and never moved the car. When I approached the (same) clerk about it, again with the attitude as if I was lying. This time my daughter wasn't around, but the GM was when I went to his office. They fixed the billing error, but not the employee attitude. I would never go back at the prospect that a single dime of mine might contribute to this person's salary.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florencio F, General Manager at Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel Chicago, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest,
We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience that you experienced. While it is a rare occurrence, we proactively try to make every guests stay as memorable as possible. We spoke with the front desk staff about this issue and took necessary action. We hope that we can make it up to you next time.

Yours in Hospitality,
Florencio Ferrao
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel Chicago

Address: 163 East Walton Place, at N. Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Chicago
#33 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#48 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#71 Business Hotel in Chicago
#75 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A four-diamond landmark on North Michigan Avenue, the famous Magnificent Mile, this hotel welcomes you to the best location in the city for shopping, dining and business. European style and gracious service are the trademark of this elegant hotel and the 86 Millennium hotels around the world. One block from Water Tower Place, across the street from Bloomingdale's and within walking distance of most major attractions, this hotel offers personalized service and attention not found in the larger hotels. The hotel features the Martini Bar offering several kinds of martinis. Nix restaurant offers a bistro setting and features continental cuisine for breakfast & lunch. A complimentary fitness center and lakefront jogging path are designed to keep you fit while traveling. Enjoy Classic Chicago style only steps away from all the city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Otel, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millennium Knickerbocker Chicago
Chicago Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel
Knickerbocker Hotel Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel Chicago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.