We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed Reviews” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel Chicago

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel Chicago to your Saves list
Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel Chicago
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   163 East Walton Place, at N. Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611 (Near North Side)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #61 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Mixed Reviews”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I have to say checking into this hotel we were greeted warmly and then it was kind of a disaster. The woman said you booked through Expedia? Which Zi did not I used AA miles, what difference does it make?After 3 attempts to register our CC they finally just gave us the keys and let us go to the room. The rooms are very comfortable, the beds are great. The bathrooms have been updated with this rain shower head that is so awkward it really is very uncomfortable to take a shower, you have to stand sideways. Then the worst part was our room was never cleaned we saw two maids on our floor inquired to both and they said our room wasn't one of theirs. Finally someone said they would clean our room. When we returned our room was still not serviced, I went down to the lobby spoke to Sam and when I questioned it he apologized and said he would look into it. Seriously what good is that going to do us? When I walked away saying I would leave a bad review he called our room 10 minutes later saying he was going yo comp the 10.95 Wi Fi charge which in my opinion should be free and 2 drink coupons fir the bar, I said there are 4 of us and he said ok Ill give you 4 but that's it. Now I'm on the phone holding over 8 minutes because they are trying to charge me for a diet coke from the mini bar that we did not drink. Never staying here again! P.S. Henry just removed the charge one smart employee!

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    140
    36
    12
    6
See reviews for
57
127
19
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
IL
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Knickerbocker provided nice accommodations for a couples friends weekend in the city. I enjoy staying in a smaller and quieter hotel in the city and the location here is great! Our room was a standard king and rather small, as you would expect for a small, older hotel. The mattress was just okay, but the linens were very nice. The lobby coffee shop provided a nice breakfast, but not complimentary. One evening there was hot chocolate in the lobby, but only on a Friday night. Having ice water or some hot complimentary beverage, especially during cold winter, would have been an easy and nice addition to their service. The lobby bar was small, but nice with a good bar tender. Very friendly and helpful staff!!

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florencio F, General Manager at Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel Chicago, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on your recent stay with us. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the location of our hotel. We greatly appreciate your comments about the staff especially the bartender and “friendly and helpful” staff. We have been offering hot chocolate in our lobby area and apologize if you were not offered any during your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back next time you’re visiting the Windy City!


Yours in Hospitality,
Florencio Ferrao
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

When we first checked in the hotel staff was quite friendly, the hotel itself is the only reason this hotel deserves a 2/5. The bed was very comfy, and the room is a decent size for chicago. Other than that the employees paid absolutely no attention to my boyfriend and I, however would chat up anyone that had a very expensive look to them. Our bar fridge was missing items when we checked in, we were woken up to drilling in the room beside us at 8 in the morning on the day of checkout, and by 9am every morning staff would come knocking at the door to try and clean or refill the fridge. The location is perfect if visiting Michigan Ave but other than that if you are staying as part of a "vacation" I'd stay elsewhere. Apparently wearing dark blue jeans and a black pea coat with black boots meant that I wasn't worth their time and deserved to be treated rudely. Also asked to use a phone as we were having issues with ours and one of the employees commented on how "in america they use cell phones" making remarks on us being Canadian. Overall not at all impressed with the service we received and will not be staying here again.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florencio F, General Manager at Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel Chicago, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest,

We sincerely apologize for the lack of attention you received from our staff. We pride ourselves in making every guest feel welcome and comfortable and we regret to hear that this was not the case in your circumstance. Again, we greatly apologize for the inconvenience. We hope that you will give us a second chance to demonstrate our true commitment to service

Yours in Hospitality,
Florencio Ferrao
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We just checked out of this boutique Chicago hotel on the North end, just East of Michigan Ave. My husband booked the weekend and we enjoyed the stay very much. Sam, at the front desk, was super nice and accommodating. He greeted us as we checked out as if he truly remembered us!
Brian, at the martini bar....what can we say but this man gives the most tremendous customer service and makes one heck of a martini! Thank you to Junior, as well, for making our stay so lovely and we certainly are rooting for purse hooks under the bar and a beautiful gold colored chalk board wall to announce your daily/seasonal specials. We will certainly be back for another visit as soon as possible.
Merry Christmas and Happy New Year from the Martin's.....Ron and Kristi

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florencio F, General Manager at Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel Chicago, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing the Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel for your trip to Chicago. We are pleased to hear that you experienced “tremendous” customer service and enjoyed your stay. Sam, Brian and Junior will be made aware of how their service impacted your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back- hopefully for your birthday next year!


Yours in Hospitality,
Florencio Ferrao
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed here with my wife and toddler for the weekend. It's a very nice old hotel. The rooms were updated and clean but small. As everyone has mentioned, the elevators are small but weren't inconvenient. The concierge, valet and baggage attendants went out of their way to help with everything. My only complaint is at ~$65/ night, the valet was expensive but self park across the street was ~40. Overall we really enjoyed our stay.

Stayed December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florencio F, General Manager at Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel Chicago, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. I am very happy to see that our team left you with a positive impression and will pass on your kind remarks. We look forward to welcoming you back and hope that you book directly with us for your next stay!

Yours in Hospitality,
Florencio Ferrao
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was a decent hotel. It didn't wow me by any means, but the room was fine and the bathroom although small was modern and clean. Elevators are tiny...no more than 6 people and if there are bags, more like 3 or 4. During checkout times, be prepared to wait a good 6 or 7 minutes for an elevator...or just take the stairs. Gym was decent as well. The belts on the treadmills were loose so no way I could run on them. All in all a decent hotel, but not extraordinary.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florencio F, General Manager at Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel Chicago, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review on your recent stay with us. We are happy to hear that you found our roomsl to be “modern and clean”. We appreciate your feedback about our elevators during our high peak hours and also regret the treadmill in our Gym. Rest assured these matters have been attended to. We hope that you’ll visit soon and stay at the Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel again.

Yours in Hospitality,
Florencio Ferrao
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel has an old Chicago vibe, it makes you feel like you took a step back in time. Right by the lake and magnificent mile, so your close to everything. The concierge was super friendly helping, gave us tips on where to go and coupons and passes.

Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florencio F, General Manager at Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel Chicago, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking time to comment about your recent stay at our hotel. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our central location. We are pleased to note that our concierge was able to provide you with “friendly” service. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Chicago.

Yours in Hospitality,
Florencio Ferrao
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel Chicago

Address: 163 East Walton Place, at N. Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Chicago
#32 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#43 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#69 Family Hotel in Chicago
#70 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A four-diamond landmark on North Michigan Avenue, the famous Magnificent Mile, this hotel welcomes you to the best location in the city for shopping, dining and business. European style and gracious service are the trademark of this elegant hotel and the 86 Millennium hotels around the world. One block from Water Tower Place, across the street from Bloomingdale's and within walking distance of most major attractions, this hotel offers personalized service and attention not found in the larger hotels. The hotel features the Martini Bar offering several kinds of martinis. Nix restaurant offers a bistro setting and features continental cuisine for breakfast & lunch. A complimentary fitness center and lakefront jogging path are designed to keep you fit while traveling. Enjoy Classic Chicago style only steps away from all the city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, BookIt.com, Agoda, Otel, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millennium Knickerbocker Chicago
Chicago Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel
Knickerbocker Hotel Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel Chicago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.