We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor service” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel Chicago

Save Saved
You added Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel Chicago to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel Chicago
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   163 East Walton Place, at N. Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611 (Gold Coast)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now & Save up to 20%
Ranked #59 of 169 hotels in Chicago
1 review
“Poor service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I hope this hotel realizes that its not just about things like location or price that determines a good hotel and a hotel that makes people want to come back. It's also the service. I'm so glad I only had to stay here for a day since it was pretty bad, especially the first impression.

I was "welcomed" by Simeon at the front desk who nearly checked me in until he realized that my the debit card I paid with was not mine but my husband's. But he didn't even say that. Just shook his head and said "Can't do that." Can't do what? Did not even look at me and acted as though I took or stole somebody else's card to spend it. My husband had to stay in Chicago for work this week, while I was coming up from Indiana. That's why I had used his card and not mine.
So when I showed Simeon my debit card, of course Chase blocked it because it didn't know I was in Chicago. Simeon made the suspicious face again. It's absolutely fine if I need to pay with a card that has my name since I made the reservation. Simeon could have just said so. I could explain why I wasn't using my cards. My husband had just gone parking, so he was returning soon. Simeon shouldn't be making these faces.
The people at the front desk are usually the hotel's first impression (maybe the bellboys as well). I don't want to receive suspicious looks and bad service at a place I'm paying to stay. Honestly, this hotel needs to train its people how to treat their guests, explain to their guests, and maybe even how to act.
If that

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    95
    89
    22
    8
    4
See reviews for
36
76
14
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

As cabin crew we stay in this hotel a lot. We also really rely on a good sleep at our hotels as Chicago is 6 hours behind uk. Every time I have stayed here I get woken up by really noisy people outside my room, which I'm assuming the cleaners and mini bar people. I always put a do not disturb sign on the door so that they know someone is sleeping but that never helps . Maybe the hotel should invest in better doors and soundproof walls or just ask them to be polite and not shout outside people's rooms . Other than this hotel is lovely. Staff at front desk are very helpful Aswel .

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niles, Michigan
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The Knickerbocker came through again honoring a travel zoo voucher(s) that were about to expire! Superior King room, we even had vie of Lake Michigan, $25 drink credit, 2 free american breakfasts($18) all for $99, pretty hard to beat that deal!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Refurbished classic hotel, very nice and with great people! Good bar, clean and confortable beds. Plenty of space on the bedroom.

The only downside was the complementary wireless on the room. Any decent hotel has free wireless everywhere.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Independence, Missouri
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I booked this hotel via a sort of "hotel roulette" from HotWire. I'd do it again. It promised a 4-star average rating hotel in the Magnificent Mile neighborhood for less than $125 per night (plus taxes & fees). Decided to go through with it and was not disappointed. Parking was very expensive but I was able to leave my car with a relative outside the city. The room was small but we had a king-sized bed which was pretty awesome. We were able to leave our luggage with the bellhop before our check-in and after our check-out. I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, VA
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I enjoyed staying at the hotel although the staff was not very helpful. They weren't rude at all, just not helpful. It is not as opulent as the Drake across the street but it is more affordable, more modern room style and they have suites which is nice. The beds were comfortable, it is remarkably quiet, elevators worked well and the location can not be beat for a downtown location. We walked down Rush street every night for dinner and it was beautiful.
Also - one downside is that like many of the hotels in Chicago it seems to charge for everything. Parking a car is $65 a night, the wi fi is $11 a day, even an apple cost me $2 - and make sure to incorporate all the taxes into your room rate!

Room Tip: We had a room with a view of an air conditioning unit in back so not very nice. But it was quieter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florencio F, General Manager at Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel Chicago, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. We greatly appreciate your positive comments about our downtown location, comfortable beds and rooms. We also want to thank you for sharing what you liked least about your experience, as this will help us improve in the areas your addressed. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Yours in Hospitality,
Florencio Ferrao
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

The hotel which claims to be on the "Gold Coast" fell short of Gold Coast service. I attended a wedding and the reception was held at the Knickerbocker. Since the ceremony was early afternoon, most guests requested early check-in to change for the wedding ceremony. No one from the wedding party and/or wedding guests (other than the bride) were able to get into our rooms until after the wedding ceremony. There clearly was no preparation from the hotel to accommodate wedding reception guests. We were instructed by the Front Desk to change in the lobby restroom which looked like it wasn't clean from the night before. There was no consideration taken by the hotel's part. Very disappointing!

Room Tip: Plan to check in after 4pm for a clean room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florencio F, General Manager at Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel Chicago, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. We apologize that we were unable to provide early check-in for you and the wedding guests. Early check-in is based on availability and the hotel has been sold out, so we were unable to accommodate these requests. We hope that you had an enjoyable time at the wedding and hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours in Hospitality,
Florencio Ferrao
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel Chicago

Address: 163 East Walton Place, at N. Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Best Value Hotel in Chicago
#30 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#51 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#80 Business Hotel in Chicago
#81 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel Chicago 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A four-diamond landmark on North Michigan Avenue, the famous Magnificent Mile, this hotel welcomes you to the best location in the city for shopping, dining and business. European style and gracious service are the trademark of this elegant hotel and the 86 Millennium hotels around the world. One block from Water Tower Place, across the street from Bloomingdale's and within walking distance of most major attractions, this hotel offers personalized service and attention not found in the larger hotels. The hotel features the Martini Bar offering several kinds of martinis. Nix restaurant offers a bistro setting and features continental cuisine for breakfast & lunch. A complimentary fitness center and lakefront jogging path are designed to keep you fit while traveling. Enjoy Classic Chicago style only steps away from all the city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Reservation Counter, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millennium Knickerbocker Chicago
Chicago Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel
Knickerbocker Hotel Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel Chicago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.