We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, friendly, helpful, great value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel Chicago

Save Saved
You added Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel Chicago to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel Chicago
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   163 East Walton Place, at N. Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611 (Gold Coast)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now & Save up to 20%
Ranked #59 of 169 hotels in Chicago
1 review
“Excellent, friendly, helpful, great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Edward and Simeon at the front desk, as well as Paul and Sheryl at the concierge desk went above and beyond their responsibilities to make our stay the best it could be. The doormen were friendly and helpful. Thank you.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    92
    87
    18
    7
    4
See reviews for
33
74
14
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Charleston, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I booked this stay through Priceline after checking with a work colleague in Chicago. The hotel is older but has been modernized...nice marble shower, fine linens. The room was taken up by the King-size bed but for the price of the room - no complaints at all. It is 1/2 block off Michigan Avenue shopping...2 blocks from the lakeshore beach and within walking distance of Millenium Park. Great restaurants and bars nearby on Rush Street. We used UBER to quickly get to Field Museum, Museum of Science & Industry,RiverWalk and Chicago Cut on the River. Henry, the concierge, gave us a voucher to get in quickly at GinoEast (plus free breadsticks) and made reservations at Francescas (got a free dessert). Charlie, the main valet/bellman was wonderful. A great 4 day trip. Biggest shock to me (living in Charleston SC) was the drink prices at about all places...prices very high even compared to Charleston.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mississippi
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

My wife and I stayed at this hotel 8/8-10/14. It was very nice and convenient to everything we wanted to do - beach, shops, eating, etc.

The only downside is none of the rooms have a nice lake view - from what I was told and the door men could do a better job of opening the doors for guests..

Would i go back? yes
Would i recommend? yes

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This historic hotel - the site of a gangster speakeasy during the Prohibition period - is a wonderful place from which to see Chicago. The rooms are spacious and extremely comfortable and the hotel bar produces amazing cocktails and delicious food. The staff and unfailingly polite and helpful - the concierge Henry particularly so. The breakfast menu is good and reasonably competitively priced. The location is excellent, a short walk from the lakeside and Old Town and half a block from the Magnificent Mile, so there are a wealth of shopping and eating venues very close to hand. There are also buses to downtown, the Art Institute and many other major attractions. Excellent.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois City, Illinois
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My husband and I enjoyed our stay at the Knickerbocker with friends. The employees were extremely pleasant and the hotel is in a great neighborhood where we able to walk around to many sights like Millennium Park, the Art Museum, Navy Pier and many restaurants. We would definitely stay at the Knickerbocker in the future.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My daughter and I spent three nights at the Knickerbocker. The location was fabulous, the room very comfortable and the service throughout the hotel was excellent. This is an historic hotel but totally modernized in conveniences and amenities. It is right across the street from the famous Drake Hotel and it is evident that the Knickerbocker keeps up with its neighbors. Breakfast was delicious and served with little elegant touches. We'd come again!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This is my second time staying at the Knickerbocker and it was even better than the first time. I love the character and charm displayed throughout the hotel and its staff. It's a flashback in time to a classy 'rat pack' era. The front desk staff was efficient, cordial and accommodating, especially Simeon C., as he worked his magic in finding an extra room so my husband and I could extend our stay. Furthermore, what I sincerely appreciate, is a beautiful, comfortable and clean room. The Knickerbocker has delivered once again, thus we will return as often as possible!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florencio F, General Manager at Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel Chicago, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Guest,

We love to read the praises of our recent guests and we thank you for taking the time from your day to share your experience from your stay with us. Your kind remarks about our Front Desk team, including Simeon, are highly valued. We look forward to welcoming you and your husband back soon for your third stay with us!

Yours in Hospitality,
Florencio Ferrao
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel Chicago

Address: 163 East Walton Place, at N. Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Best Value Hotel in Chicago
#30 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#52 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#80 Business Hotel in Chicago
#81 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel Chicago 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A four-diamond landmark on North Michigan Avenue, the famous Magnificent Mile, this hotel welcomes you to the best location in the city for shopping, dining and business. European style and gracious service are the trademark of this elegant hotel and the 86 Millennium hotels around the world. One block from Water Tower Place, across the street from Bloomingdale's and within walking distance of most major attractions, this hotel offers personalized service and attention not found in the larger hotels. The hotel features the Martini Bar offering several kinds of martinis. Nix restaurant offers a bistro setting and features continental cuisine for breakfast & lunch. A complimentary fitness center and lakefront jogging path are designed to keep you fit while traveling. Enjoy Classic Chicago style only steps away from all the city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Amex, Agoda, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Reservation Counter, getaroom.com, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millennium Knickerbocker Chicago
Chicago Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel
Knickerbocker Hotel Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel Chicago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.