We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location Chicago” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel Chicago

Save Saved
You added Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel Chicago to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel Chicago
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   163 East Walton Place, at N. Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611 (Gold Coast)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now & Save up to 20%
Ranked #74 of 167 hotels in Chicago
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Location Chicago”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This hotel was brilliant, central location in Chicago, easy to walk to many restaurants and bars. The staff were very helpful and friendly. We were there during the World Cup and the bar had themed specials on for food and alcohol for each game which was fun.
The restaurant is only open for breakfast and there is no room service however the bar has a small bar bites menu running. Not really an issue considering how many wonderful restaurants are close.
Room was lovely and clean, free wifi in lobby and bar area.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    61
    61
    13
    7
    4
See reviews for
28
49
8
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We had a wonderful trip to Chicago and couldn't have picked a better location. The hotel is just off the Magnificent Mile so terrific shopping was right at hand as well as so many first class restaurants in the Chicago north side neighborhood. The staff were very kind, especially Charlie our doorman who always had a big smile for us; he was incredibly welcoming and fun.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Joseph, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This place is excellent and I would recommend to anyone. The restaurant, bar, lobby and rooms were all clean and well maintained. The staff were all very friendly and courteous. The location is fantastic.

Instead of paying $65/night to park our car w/a valet at the hotel, we parked in a public garage at Orleans & Hubbard and paid $28/night. We didn't mind and for a difference of almost $40/night, we didn't mind the extra walk as we walked all around during our stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The hotel is in a great location and the room is modernized style and clean. The only issue is some staff may not be very helpful with their duty which includes concierge who does not have answers on several tourist questions, bell man who does not open the door but standing next to the door that you need to be careful while pushing open it. We got a promotion deal which we are not expect high quality service. But to the people who pay regular price, you may want to be prepared that the hotel service may short of your money.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

We spend 4 nights at the hotel. I'm rating as an excellent hotel because of its location (close to Michigan ave. and easy access to the lake front boardwalk and beaches). It was quite at night even with the windows open! Room was clean, bed comfortable, with commodities such as air dryer, coffee maker, safe and nice rain shower! :)
I would recommand to all my friends that visit Chicago.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

One of my favourite hotels - we had an adjoining room with a friend who had arrived a lot earlier then us due to our being delayed but she was allowed in her room and spent a great time at the bar waiting for us.

The staff are excellent and very very helpful - especially the 'older' gentleman concierge and the bar staff.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

You really cannot go wrong staying here. It's a small, stylish historic hotel with an intimate boutique atmosphere to it. It has the air of a place that people "in the know" would stay at. You're going to feel a bit special - and smart - for picking it. For the price, location, and comfort, it's perfect.

I was initially a bit worried about being so close to the bustle of Michigan Ave, but the location of the hotel is one of its best features. It's about a block north of where the real touristy, shopping portions end, so it's quiet and tucked away from the chaos while simultaneously very close to high-end shopping and sights. You're near to the Red Line on Chicago Ave., and you're also right at the intersection of quite a few bus routes (If you're feeling adventurous, that is. Just ask the concierge for some tips; it's honestly one of the easiest ways to move about the city). You are not going to have difficulty getting where you need to go.

Staff was exceptionally kind, quick, and friendly. Room was clean. The king-sized bed was plush and restful, and the pillows are super soft, which is a must for me. Bathrooms are clean, chic, and modern; I always looked forward to showering. Everything was cozy, comfortable, and well designed.

And make sure to stop by the bar downstairs. They have a couple cocktails that will really hit the spot after a day around town.

Just stop looking around for a place to pick for your stay in Chicago. You've found it. This is it.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel Chicago

Address: 163 East Walton Place, at N. Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#68 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#84 Family Hotel in Chicago
#87 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel Chicago 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A four-diamond landmark on North Michigan Avenue, the famous Magnificent Mile, this hotel welcomes you to the best location in the city for shopping, dining and business. European style and gracious service are the trademark of this elegant hotel and the 86 Millennium hotels around the world. One block from Water Tower Place, across the street from Bloomingdale's and within walking distance of most major attractions, this hotel offers personalized service and attention not found in the larger hotels. The hotel features the Martini Bar offering several kinds of martinis. Nix restaurant offers a bistro setting and features continental cuisine for breakfast & lunch. A complimentary fitness center and lakefront jogging path are designed to keep you fit while traveling. Enjoy Classic Chicago style only steps away from all the city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Amex, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Despegar.com, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millennium Knickerbocker Chicago
Chicago Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel
Knickerbocker Hotel Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel Chicago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.