We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had to pay for wi fi” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel Chicago

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel Chicago to your Saves list
Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel Chicago
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   163 East Walton Place, at N. Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611 (Near North Side)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #61 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
warrington
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Had to pay for wi fi”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

Well located and courteous helpful staff. Comfortable basic bedroom. Wi fi connection a bit expensive. Booked the hotel via Trip Advisor link to Get A Room Com. Will NOT use them again as after having promised best price guaranteed etc etc they considerably reduced the price after my booking and did not respond to my questions about this. My advice is to book direct or with another agency such as Travel Pony whose pricing policies are transparent.

Room Tip: Probably book direct with hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    140
    36
    12
    7
See reviews for
58
127
19
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Niles, Michigan
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

We stayed at the Knickerbocker on 4/6/14. We had snagged a Travel Zoo coupon for $109 that included; 1) one night stay, 2) $25 credit at the hotel bar/restaurant, 3) American breakfast for 2 at the hotel restaurant. It was such a great deal that we felt like the hotel was paying us to stay! The hotel is basically across from the Drake so the location is great for shopping. We had a corner room and though the view wasn't much the room was updated and clean, my daughter and her friends stayed in a double which was average but again clean and met their needs. For the price this was great stay!

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

This hotel is just steps away from Michigan Avenue, and very close to the John Hancock Building. Room was small, but very clean and everything worked. Some nice artwork on the walls. The lobby area is pretty average, and check-in/out counter is small. Bar area looked a little dated too. If a AAA member, this can help your rate. Parking is expensive. (No surprise in Chicago.) Good people and service. The internet (in room) is not free, but can be accessed in the lobby area for no charge. I personally do not think that any hotel should be charging extra for the convenience of an internet connection in your room. Most hotels I stay at do not charge for it, or is built in to the rate.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

My fiancé and I stayed in room 401 for one day. The exterior of the hotel is so beautiful. The bellman are quick to help with our luggage. When we entered the room we were amazed by its design. Bathroom was modern and the furniture was great. The bed was comfortable. Only downfall was the view but it was for only one day so we didn't mind. Hotel is in a great location also. Nice place to stay.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galesburg, Illinois
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

Our experience at this hotel was a bit of a mixed bag, but I will start with the pro's:

- Great location. If you are looking to explore Michigan Avenue, have tea at the Drake, or shop at Watertower Place, you will love this location. All of these attractions are within a few blocks.

- Quiet rooms. Perhaps it was the fan that we had to have running in our room (more on that later), but we never heard a noise while in our elevator-adjacent room

- Nice historic building. The lobby is nothing to write home about compared to other hotels in the area, but it is nice.

- Pleasant staff. Overall, the staff here are great. Our bartender was exceptional as was our waiter for breakfast.

Now, the cons:

- There is no reasonably-priced parking available anywhere around here. This is not necessarily a fault of the hotel, but it would be nice if they worked out a deal with a nearby parking garage. And if you are like us and don't trust a valet driver with your car, be prepared to walk several blocks and pay $45/night to self-park with no in/out privileges. This isn't out-of-this-world expensive for downtown Chicago, but is still on the steeper side of average for self-park blocks away from your hotel without in/out. Not a deal breaker, but something to be aware of if you are driving into the city.

- Again, this isn't something that the hotel could reasonably be expected to change, but I would strongly advise against staying at this hotel during any change of seasons. The building has an old single pipe ventilation system, meaning that they cannot switch back and forth between heating and cooling; and all rooms have to be in the same mode. So when we came here in early April and it was in the 70's, the heat was still on. Being on the 7th floor our room hovered around 83 degrees during our stay, hence the fan mentioned earlier. Not a reason to avoid this hotel, but a reason to wait and stay here during a time when this wouldn't be as likely to be an issue.

- The breakfast looked and sounded fantastic, but was such a let down. The American breakfast runs $17pp, so hardly a budget option, yet the eggs were horribly undercooked (even for overeasy), the potatoes tasted like a chunk of pure rosemary, and my wife's tea didn't arrive until halfway through our meal. The only saving grace here was our waiter, who was great.

- This one is another case of being something the hotel cannot be expected to change, but something to be aware of if you are a first time visitor to Chicago. This hotel really has no views, at all, due to it being so much shorter than the hotels around it. Not a big deal to us, and something we were aware of prior to our arrival, but for those visiting for the first time I would recommend a hotel with a view of the lake (The Drake is perfect) or a view down the Mag Mile. Just my two cents.

- And finally, the hotel messed up our bill and overcharged us. We had booked our stay directly with the hotel with a discount, and it was to include a $25 voucher for food. I noticed the next morning when we received our bill under the door that they had not deducted the $25. I called the front desk and mentioned this, and was told they would correct it immediately. Unfortunately they seem to have went ahead and pushed forward the incorrect charge, as it came through to my credit card a week later for the original amount.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Japan
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

Stayed 2 nights recently at the Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel. The Location is fantastic. Many things are within walking distance. I booked online and when we arrived early to check in our room was ready. We had a king bed on the 11th floor. It was very quiet and my quality of sleep couldn't have been better! The bed was very comfortable with plenty of pillows. When we arrived, the room was hot. The front desk staff said they had not yet switched the system over to aircon but with the windows open, it was very nice. There is a nice sized fitness center and also a business center. There was no free wifi. The hotel as well as the room seemed clean and nicely decorated. If you can get a good price for the room, its a good place to stay downtown.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carbondale, Illinois
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

Stayed here with my sister and 2 nieces. I would have given it 5 stars but they "upgraded" us to a 1 bedroom suite. Normally that would be wonderful, but since there were 4 of us, 2 of us ended up on the sofa sleeper. It was comfortable, but I do believe 2 queen beds would have been better. However, with the upgrade we got a really nice bathroom that I doubt all rooms have. The best part of this hotel is its location. Walking distance to everything that a person would need. The staff were friendly and helpful. We use spot hero for our parking needs so we don't need to pay the outrageous Chicago parking fees. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel Chicago

Address: 163 East Walton Place, at N. Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Chicago
#32 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#43 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#70 Family Hotel in Chicago
#70 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A four-diamond landmark on North Michigan Avenue, the famous Magnificent Mile, this hotel welcomes you to the best location in the city for shopping, dining and business. European style and gracious service are the trademark of this elegant hotel and the 86 Millennium hotels around the world. One block from Water Tower Place, across the street from Bloomingdale's and within walking distance of most major attractions, this hotel offers personalized service and attention not found in the larger hotels. The hotel features the Martini Bar offering several kinds of martinis. Nix restaurant offers a bistro setting and features continental cuisine for breakfast & lunch. A complimentary fitness center and lakefront jogging path are designed to keep you fit while traveling. Enjoy Classic Chicago style only steps away from all the city has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Otel, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millennium Knickerbocker Chicago
Chicago Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel
Knickerbocker Hotel Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel Chicago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.