We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old World Charm” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Drake Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Drake Hotel to your Saves list
The Drake Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   140 E. Walton Place, Magnificent Mile, Chicago, IL 60611 (Magnificent Mile)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
BRAKE FOR SPRING
Ranked #55 of 177 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence 2014
rockford
1 review
“Old World Charm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2010

We had a wonderful stay at the Drake Hotel. The hotel was beautiful. We were not sure what to expect staying at such an old hotel, but it was clean, service was great, and the history of the hotel was very interesting. We took our two young daughters to tea in the tea room. What a wonderful experience! The location of the Drake is perfect! We walked everywhere! We will go back.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,109
    690
    264
    140
    69
See reviews for
363
720
113
678
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (541)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2010

The drake hotel has two great things going for it, the history and its location. The place oozes class (which off course you pay for). the location at the top of magnificent mile means its near to all the shops and surrounded by bars and restaurants. Its also by the beach so easy to go for a pleasant stroll when the weather permits. if your in chiacgo on business then its a little away from the offices but i mean literally 1-2km away so a $10 taxi ride (of which there is a long line of cars waiting outside the hotel). I would certainly go back, especially if the purpose of your trip was leisure.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Drake to celebrate our anniversary and we were both quite disappointed. Two of the elevators were out of service and the one we did ride in got stuck. Our room was very musty and not updated. it looked very shabby. The only thing that saved it was the view. Visit the Drake for its historical significance but stay somewhere else becuase the rooms are not worth the price.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thedrakechicago, General Manager at The Drake Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2010
Dear Trip Advisor
Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay at The Drake. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you were caused due to the temporary problem with the elevators, and I regret that your room was not up to our normal very high standards of cleanliness and comfort. We have just completed the final phase of a renovation program that has now included all guest rooms and much of the public area of the hotel. We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back to The Drake to restore your faith in our hotel. Thank you again for your comments. Russell Menkes, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pt edward
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2010

I stayed at the hotel in December. There was multiple billing problems which required multiple phone calls and e-mails. The problems were finally corrected for my March credit card statement. I called and e-mailed the hotel manager multiple times but there was never a response.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thedrakechicago, Manager at The Drake Hotel, responded to this review, March 30, 2010
Dear Trip Advisor, please accept my sincere apologies for the billing difficulties you encountered and especially the lack of follow-up. We make every effort to correct billing inaccuracies as quickly as possible and truly regret the problems you were caused. Sincerely Russell Menkes, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth Western Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2010

Had friendly staff although I am a low maintenance hotel guest my brother and I enjoyed our stay at The Drake, location was pretty good room was nice view was of an adjacent building from our room but I'm sure there are rooms with a nice view.

Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denver, co
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2010

I have been staying at The Drake for right at 20 years and always rated it well. The hotel is just an elegant gem that continues to hold its' own after all of the years. Even though it is not convenient to the business area I continue to stay here. Two issues: The internet is simply awful. For a business hotel charging $13 a night for slower than dial-up internet it is a crime. I gave up trying to download business documents. Second issue...they lost my FedEx package. I was not notified of the arrival and 6 hour later I went down looking for it. It took them almost an hour to find the package. The day manager was polite and professional but she needs to whip her front desk and receiving staff in line. One sad note. The wonderful Cape Cod Restaurant (where i first ate nearly 50 years ago) was just empty. It is clearly struggling in this economy. The food was great but in the two hours I was in the restaurant during prime dinner time they served just two tables.

Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heythere2
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2010

The hotel is really beautiful. They do a great job of preserving the history there. However, for as much as I paid to stay there, I should not have been double billed and the tub should not have been clogged up with hair.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Drake Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Drake Hotel

Address: 140 E. Walton Place, Magnificent Mile, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#34 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#35 Family Hotel in Chicago
#47 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Drake Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 535
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No other Chicago hotel has inspired more legendary acclaim on par with The Drake. This timeless property affords guests easy access to the city's most exclusive shopping, nightlife and dining.A fully equipped fitness/wellness center, business center and meeting rooms are available (surcharge). The stunning Gold Coast Room can accommodate 600 guests.Afternoon Tea at The Drake Hotel is as Chicago as a hot dog at Wrigley Field or a ride on the Ferris Wheel at Navy Pier. High society has always recognized The Drake Hotel as the quintessential social hotspot. Princess Diana, Queen Elizabeth and the Empress of Japan have all been seen in the Palm Court.Though The Drake has progressed both architecturally and technologically over the past 93 years, the roots of The Drake Hotel run deep beneath Lake Shore Drive into Real Chicago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your The Drake Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Drake Hotel Chicago
Hilton Hotels Chicago
Chicago Drake Hotel
Drake Hotel Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Drake Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.