We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Soft Beds - Beautiful Hotel - Great Gym” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Drake Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Drake Hotel to your Saves list
The Drake Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   140 E. Walton Place, Magnificent Mile, Chicago, IL 60611 (Magnificent Mile)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Drive In Special
Ranked #54 of 178 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Vero Beach, Fl
Level Contributor
269 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Soft Beds - Beautiful Hotel - Great Gym”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We stayed for a weekend and had a wonderful time. The Hotel lobby was beautifully decorated with fresh flowers. We used the hotel concierge several times and unfortunately we felt misled. We asked for a reasonably priced steakhouse and they sent us to Rosebud's. It was a very expensive meal and the aged meat tasted rotten. We also asked for a great hot dog and they sent us to Portillo's. The hot dog was cold and the Big Beef Sub had no flavor. It was a Cute fast food restaurant but I am sure not the best hot dog in Chicago. The hotel staff were friendly and the room was quite nice and clean but the bed actually sloped down on each side due to years of use. The sheets and pillows were very soft. The workout room was excellent. Lot's of different modern exercise machinery, lot's of fresh towels and was much like a private spa. The Hotel had several restaurants and some were surprisingly reasonably priced.
One lesson from the trip was to use TripAdvisor for the restaurants as later I read the reviews on the restaurants and they were very accurate and better than using a concierge. I would definitely stay at the Drake again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathryn D, Manager at The Drake Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear LEvoyeur,

Thank you for your candid review of your stay with us at The Drake Chicago. I appreciate your candor with regards to the quality of your mattress, as well as the recommendations of our team of concierge. I have passed your feedback to my team. I am glad you enjoyed the gym and look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back.

Sincerely

Kathryn Day
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,161
    709
    273
    143
    73
See reviews for
381
748
115
702
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (556)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Des Moines, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

I had problems with a noisy room near the elevators my first night at this hotel. After contacting the front desk I was immediately moved to quieter room for the remainder of my stay. Additionally, the fitness facilities were very nice and the hotel breakfast was great.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathryn D, Manager at The Drake Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear Cynthia L,

Apologies with regards your first room and the noise disturbance. I am so glad we could move you and you were able to enjoy the remainder of your stay.

We hope to see you again very soon.

Kind regards,
Kathryn Day
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silver lake
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

My husband and I came downtown for a concert. Wanted nice hotel ........called for room service, a pot of coffee @9 am. Took over an hour.
Thats not what I'd expect from Michigan Ave hotel.
Not sure I would go back. Yes, its only coffee. But that's the point.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathryn D, Manager at The Drake Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear Mep604,

I am dispointed that we did not deliver in terms of service during your recent stay with us. Please contact me directly at 3129324505 so i can discuss with you what i can possibly do to ensure you will consider staying with us again.

I look forward to the opportunity to speak in person.

Kind regards,

Kathryn Day
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

I stayed at the Drake while on business and enjoyed the high ceilings, marble bathroom, big closets and great service. This a really nice place with a lot of character and I had an excellent experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathryn D, Manager at The Drake Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear axr4,

Thank you for your five star review of your recent stay with us. I am excited that you enjoyed our decor and the features of the hotel. My team are looking forward to welcome you back again in the very near future,

Sincerely,

Kathryn Day
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Excellent experience. Hotel staff was extremely helpful and made our trip to Chicago very memorable. We will definitely be returning to Chicago again and booking at the Drake - Thank you for making our weekend getaway a wonderful time.

Room Tip: Pick one - you can't go wrong
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathryn D, Manager at The Drake Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear IVSC,

I am thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us and my team and look forward to welcome you back to The Drake on your next visit to Chicago.

Best regards,

Kathryn Day
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

The Drake is in a great location. However, the bathrooms need to be updated, service was not great (with the exception of the bellhop who brought our luggage to and from our room). Also, I was charged for local calls when I only called the desk to complain about the bathtub not draining. Also, checkin was 3:00 and we did not get our room until after 5:00. Rather disappointing for the price.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathryn D, Manager at The Drake Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear Corinne D,

Thank you for your review. I appreciate your feedback with regards to your stay and am disappointed we did not serve you as we should and the fact you to wait for your room past our guaranteed check in time. Please contact me directly at 3129324505 so we can discuss what I can do to ensure you do choose to stay with us when you return to Chicago. I look forward to the opportunity to speak.

Sincerely

Kathryn Day
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Elegant, luxury & clean hotel, friendly staffs and reasonable price with bed and breakfast in an excellent location. However, the breakfast can be expensive if you have to pay for the menu price. Some furniture might need rehab.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathryn D, Manager at The Drake Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear Happy062014,

Thank you for your review of your stay with us at The Drake Chicago. I am glad your enjoyed the ambience and the service. Thank you for your feedback on the price of breakfast, feeback that has been passed on and will be considered internally.

I hope to see you again soon,

Kind regards,

Kathryn Day
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Drake Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Drake Hotel

Address: 140 E. Walton Place, Magnificent Mile, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#32 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#32 Family Hotel in Chicago
#48 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Drake Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 535
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No other Chicago hotel has inspired more legendary acclaim on par with The Drake. This timeless property affords guests easy access to the city's most exclusive shopping, nightlife and dining.A fully equipped fitness/wellness center, business center and meeting rooms are available (surcharge). The stunning Gold Coast Room can accommodate 600 guests.Afternoon Tea at The Drake Hotel is as Chicago as a hot dog at Wrigley Field or a ride on the Ferris Wheel at Navy Pier. High society has always recognized The Drake Hotel as the quintessential social hotspot. Princess Diana, Queen Elizabeth and the Empress of Japan have all been seen in the Palm Court.Though The Drake has progressed both architecturally and technologically over the past 93 years, the roots of The Drake Hotel run deep beneath Lake Shore Drive into Real Chicago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Drake Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Drake Hotel Chicago
Hilton Hotels Chicago
Chicago Drake Hotel
Drake Hotel Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Drake Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.