We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chicago-The Drake” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Drake Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Drake Hotel to your Saves list
The Drake Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   140 E. Walton Place, Magnificent Mile, Chicago, IL 60611 (Magnificent Mile)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
BRAKE FOR SPRING
Ranked #55 of 177 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Tonka Bay, United States
1 review
“Chicago-The Drake”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Beautiful hotel, great location and pretty rooms. This nostalgic Chicago Hotel has world class charm and located right where you need to be for shopping, great dining and a walk on the shores of Lake Michigan.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,108
    690
    264
    140
    69
See reviews for
363
719
113
678
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (540)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cglex
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a family get together. See my review from 2012 for more details. The place hasn't changed which is a good thing. This time we didn't upgrade the room, so it was small and faced Walton Street instead of the Lake. The Drake Brothers still has a fine breakfast, although the service was not quite as good as our last stay.

Room Tip: If you haven't stayed here before, upgrade to a room with a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carpentersville, Illinois
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed at The Drake this weekend for the first time. The vallet guys were very friendly and helpful. The check-in desk was very nice and friendly. The lobby is lovely and busy. We walked into our room and suddenly realized we were upgraded to the Churchill suite. It had a separate bedroom and huge dinning room and living room. The view of the lake and michigan avenue was outstanding. We almost didn't want to leave our room to go to the theater. After our show and dinner we came back to the bar in the lobby. Our bartender was so nice. The next morning we went to the breakfast buffet and the coffee was good and strong. We will be back in December and will probably bring the kids and grandkids.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

I was very happy with the hotel. Lots of history and good charm. The service was great and the accommodations were clean and standard. i think it was a good buy. I did visit the pub and also used the cafe downstairs, both were good experiences.

The area around the hotel is a little sterile but it's a decent walk to the river and there's a few places around for eats typical of a larger city. If I go again I may choose to stay outside downtown so I can get a little more of the local experience (music really).

If you're into shopping in outrageous stores, this area is for you!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking that little lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We loved this Hotel! We will definately be back! Optimal Location! There are so many Restaurants and great shopping all over the area. Michigan Avenuie and The Water Tower! The staff was very attentive and we really enjoyed our stay.And part of The Hilton Chain as well. An added Plus!

Room Tip: Always go for a Suite when traveling with children
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Issaquah
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

The Drake is Old Chicago. It is a turn of the century classic, styled in elegance, class, and character. Aside from the beauty and elegance, one thing my wife and I love is that Hilton who owns The Drake "let's The Drake be The Drake" They stay out of it's way, let it be the icon it is in Chicago. And, in the Coq d'Or (the bar open since prohibition ended) the drinks are served Executive Style. If you dont know what that is, just order one and find out! :D

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RussellMenkes, General Manager at The Drake Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Your review was simply lovely! Thank you for taking the time to write such fantastic praise. I especially enjoyed the fact that, as a couple, you both recognize that "The Drake is The Drake" and rest assured we will never try to be anything else. We look forward to welcoming you both back on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

I needed last-minute accommodations in San Francisco for business travel. The staff at the Drake accommodated me immediatly and efficiently. the stay was very comfortable and the staff was very friendly. I would gladly return.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Drake Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Drake Hotel

Address: 140 E. Walton Place, Magnificent Mile, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#34 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#35 Family Hotel in Chicago
#49 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Drake Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 535
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No other Chicago hotel has inspired more legendary acclaim on par with The Drake. This timeless property affords guests easy access to the city's most exclusive shopping, nightlife and dining.A fully equipped fitness/wellness center, business center and meeting rooms are available (surcharge). The stunning Gold Coast Room can accommodate 600 guests.Afternoon Tea at The Drake Hotel is as Chicago as a hot dog at Wrigley Field or a ride on the Ferris Wheel at Navy Pier. High society has always recognized The Drake Hotel as the quintessential social hotspot. Princess Diana, Queen Elizabeth and the Empress of Japan have all been seen in the Palm Court.Though The Drake has progressed both architecturally and technologically over the past 93 years, the roots of The Drake Hotel run deep beneath Lake Shore Drive into Real Chicago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Drake Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Drake Hotel Chicago
Hilton Hotels Chicago
Chicago Drake Hotel
Drake Hotel Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Drake Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.