We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glad this kind of hotel is still around” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Drake Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added The Drake Hotel to your Saves list
The Drake Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   140 E. Walton Place, Magnificent Mile, Chicago, IL 60611 (Magnificent Mile)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Drive In Special
Ranked #56 of 178 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
East Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
73 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Glad this kind of hotel is still around”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at The Drake a few weeks ago. The room was spotless and the price very reasonable. The bed had the comfort we associate with Hilton. The greeting and check-in were excellent and the self-parking worked perfectly and, considering the parking costs in Chicago, the rates were acceptable; same with the wi-fi. To be sure, this is a hotel of the Old School. That is part of its charm. If hotels like this are no longer available, we will all lose something.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RussellMenkes, Manager at The Drake Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Alan, I am glad you had a wonderful stay with us in June. I agree with you, hotels like The Drake add something to the charm of the city. The Drake has been around longer than most known Chicago landmarks-- a real historical treat. Thank you for taking the time to review us and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,185
    726
    280
    144
    73
See reviews for
394
767
115
714
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (565)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Blacksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
194 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

The have live music in the bar and gives a very nice ambient together with the classic decoration of the historic building. The location is perfect, one block away from the Gold Coast beach. Is not massive big, so it is very comfortable unlike the Palmer house where there is so much people because of the size of the hotel and you can't hear anything when the lobby is full.
Rooms have a perfect size.
Things to improve: The wall of my shower had hairs.. for a hotel of this category is totally unacceptable. Aside from that everything was perfect.

Room Tip: If you pick a room with view to the back of the hotel you see the lake, is very nice view. Strongly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RussellMenkes, Manager at The Drake Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thanks for the review! I'm glad you had the chance to enjoy our live music in the Palm Court and Coq d'Or during your stay. I agree with you, the size and history of The Drake Hotel are direct contributors to its innate charm. We hope you join us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

The family room was huge at around 500 sq ft. It is a great place to stay with comfy beds, old world charm and a great location. It has an excellent fitness center and free live excellent jazz on some Thursday nights in the Palm Court. What a great experience.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RussellMenkes, Manager at The Drake Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thanks for the review! I'm glad you got the chance to enjoy some jazz in the Palm Court, next time you should join us for live music in the Coq d'Or! Thanks for staying at The Drake Hotel and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Making our reservation a month in advance, we got a very reasonable (for downtown Chicago on the Miracle Mile) rate for a top floor room (9 out of 10), executive level, paying extra for both that and the lakeshore view. Both our room and the executive lounge allowed one to gaze up the Gold Coast with the lake (and sailboats), the beach, the walking/jogging/biking trail, tree-lined Lakeshore Freeway and the condo buildings all in view. The executive lounge (walk-up to a partial 11th floor) offered fine serve-yourself breakfast fare until 10 am and hors d'oeuvres in the late afternoon/early evening. Custom coffee drinks in the morning and alcoholic beverages in the evening were well prepared (with no waiting line) for reasonable charges to the room. Other highlights include beautiful, classic public spaces with enormous, fresh floral arrangments in the lobby and the main lounge. The water-themed restaurant and bar are cozy. (Have the bartender point out Marilyn Monroe's initials!) The lower level's small store arcade with it's interesting window displays is another classic treasure you only find with hotels of this erea. The expertly efficient and friendly concierge was wonderful, helping us get tickets for our pre-selected activities as well as guiding us to some other gems, based upon our tastes and preferences. These folks deserved a nice gratuity and got it! The room was very nice, but had some minor wear on the furniture and moisture spots on the bath walls. There were also a couple of minor HVAC and plumbing maintenance issues that were at least partially addressed upon complaint. (Older hotels sometimes have their limitations as to how finely conditions can be tweaked.) Don't miss a walk across the street to Spiaggia. Get one of the tasting menus with the drink pairings and prepare yourself for a meal without equal! VERY expensive , but worth every dollar! After all, you saved that cab fare dining here! This is still one of the grand hotels of America that everyone should experience at least once.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RussellMenkes, Manager at The Drake Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a comprehensive review of The Drake Hotel. When our guests upgrade to the lakeview and executive lounge accomodations they walk away with picturesque memories atop the Magnificent Mile. I see you made it to the Cape Cod restaurant to see Marilyn and Joe DiMaggio's initials-- quite an experience. We pride ourselves on The Drake Standard and I'm very happy you received it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

It´s so important that places like this are kept alive. And the personell so friendly, the view and the food at breakfast...
The concierge table gave us good tips.
Our room was executive so it was very confortable and spacious.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RussellMenkes, Hotel Manager at The Drake Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay with us in June at The Drake.

I was happy to read how you appreciate the historic value of The Drake and I compleltely agree that it is important to keep history and places like this alive.

I am glad that you enjoyed our friendly service and accomodations as well as the food and the wonderful view of the lake.

Thank you once again for all of your compliments. I look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of assistance.

Best regards,
Stefan Gruvberger
Hotel Manager
The Drake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Very nice location near the beach and the city center. Old rooms but nice setup. We had a lot of problems with not very attentive staff. Not a good value for the money we paid. We had to change the room because of insects in the room. Only after insisting we got a new room. Also staff at the bar and at the afternoon tea was not living up to the price tag.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RussellMenkes, Hotel Manager at The Drake Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review The Drake on Tripadvisor.

I would first like to apologize for the lack of service you experienced.

Please rest assured that I will be informing our team members of your recent experience. I am committed to consistently cultivating and working with our staff so that we may provide every guest with the best possible experience and the level and quality of service they deserve.

I am glad that overall you did enjoy The Drake and our location which is so close to the wonderful Oak Stree Beach.

I do sincerely hope you return so that we may provide you with the service and quality The Drake is known for.

Please feel free to contact us whenever we can be of assistance. Thank you once again.

Best regards,

Stefan Gruvberger
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

I booked my 5 night stay at The Drake after spending about 6 weeks jumping from Hilton to Hilton in Chicago for work in the Loop. The hotel is old and that is a part of its charm. I have a stellar view of the lake from my room - which i paid for. The rooms are OK, the bathroom while updated is far from modern, The Palmer House has a better set up but the location isn't as good. The bar is nice as is thee Lobby. The staff for the most part have been lovely, the room service waiter I had my first night has said hello to me every time I've seen him, the front desk up until today were very nice. I say that because when I got back. To my room this evening I looked at my bed and laughed.

While I understand the linens are not changed every day I do expect that my bed look like it is freshly made - not just pull up the covers - actually make the bed. I suppose I could have done it myself but isn't that what I'm paying for?? Had housekeeping not done their minimal job yesterday - make the bed and leave fresh towels (which they must be rationing), nothing was straightened - the hair dryer was still on the sink - again I have been in a Hilton for 6 odd weeks and that has not happened. The curtains remained closed and the lights were still on when I got back. The sheets were changed yesterday so I gave the benefit of the doubt - lots to be done when making a bed. I did not say anything with regard to the servicing however, I did ask someone go up to be sure the windows were closed as there were little gnats (I hope) flying around the curtains when I opened them -I killed about 30. I did ask that their carcasses be cleaned up as well. Needless to say they are still on the window sill. I asked the guy (not the same as last night- who was lovely, I wish I could recall his name) at the desk what their policy was for making the bed etc and he said he wasn't sure. He said he would talk to the head of house keeping and have her take a look. Really!?! How about I will have someone go up to re make the bed AND change the linens as an added bonus for the inconvenience. Or better yet get me a drink at the bar while I wait-which is where I am now, very good Manhattan... I'm back to the Palmer House, Doubletree and Garden Inn for the next few weeks. Maybe I will try back another time...

My rating is ONLY because of Housekeeping and the one jerk at the desk. O other issues. The View is Fab and the hotel is lovely - for an old hotel with a lot of history.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RussellMenkes, Hotel Manager at The Drake Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review The Drake on Tripadvisor.

I would first like to apologize for your experience with housekeeping. I completely understand your frustration and disappointment when returning to your room and the bed had not yet been made. I am also sorry that the front desk agent was unable to resolve this issue and make this poor experience right for you.

Please rest assured I will be working directly with our housekeeping department and the Front Office regarding your experience.

I am glad that overall you did enjoy The Drake and our older historic charm. I sincerely hope you return so that we may provide you with the service and quality The Drake is known for.

If you would like to discuss your experience further please do not hesitate to contact my office directly at (312) 932-4504 or by email at Stefan.Gruvberger@hilton.com . I would very much like the opportunity to make this right for you and regain your trust in The Drake.

Thank you once again, and I look forward to hearing from you.

Stefan Gruvberger
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Streeterville
Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel Chicago
Magnificent Mile
The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago
Streeterville
Hilton Chicago/Magnificent Mile Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnificent Mile
Omni Chicago Hotel
Omni Chicago Hotel
#36 of 178 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 stars 2,227 reviews
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Water Tower
Gold Coast
The Whitehall Hotel
The Whitehall Hotel
#77 of 178 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 stars 427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Drake Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Drake Hotel

Address: 140 E. Walton Place, Magnificent Mile, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#33 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#36 Family Hotel in Chicago
#50 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Drake Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 535
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No other Chicago hotel has inspired more legendary acclaim on par with The Drake. This timeless property affords guests easy access to the city's most exclusive shopping, nightlife and dining.A fully equipped fitness/wellness center, business center and meeting rooms are available (surcharge). The stunning Gold Coast Room can accommodate 600 guests.Afternoon Tea at The Drake Hotel is as Chicago as a hot dog at Wrigley Field or a ride on the Ferris Wheel at Navy Pier. High society has always recognized The Drake Hotel as the quintessential social hotspot. Princess Diana, Queen Elizabeth and the Empress of Japan have all been seen in the Palm Court.Though The Drake has progressed both architecturally and technologically over the past 93 years, the roots of The Drake Hotel run deep beneath Lake Shore Drive into Real Chicago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Venere, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, HotelsClick and Jetsetter so you can book your The Drake Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Drake Hotel Chicago
Hilton Hotels Chicago
Chicago Drake Hotel
Drake Hotel Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Drake Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.