We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old world charm!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Drake Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added The Drake Hotel to your Saves list
The Drake Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   140 E. Walton Place, Magnificent Mile, Chicago, IL 60611 (Gold Coast)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Cyber Sale - Save BIG!
Ranked #52 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Old world charm!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Overall a great experience! Helpful staff, large bedroom with beautiful views of Lake Michigan, very good value. We dined on Cape Cod and it was amazing! All hotel exudes an atmosphere of elegance and old world charm, beautiful entrance hall, elegant shops and restaurants and harp playing in the afternoon.Great location too, within walking distance of Hancock Building.The cons were the fees charged for wi-fi and the housekeeping that forgot to take away some plates and cups and replace some coffee supplies.

Room Tip: Choose the Lakeview rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,084 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,002
    642
    240
    135
    65
See reviews for
331
652
102
618
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (501)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Parking your car here will cost you $56/night plus tips (both the doorman and the car attendant) will expect something so be aware of this because Hilton won't disclose it to you. I need to add more charaters to exceed a 200 minimum so this sentence means nothing expect to fill space.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

We made our reservation 3 weeks before and took an overnight flight to Chicago. Then we were told there was no room available and we had to wait and sleep in the lounge for hours. Very unpleasant experience for such a luxurious place.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Louisville, KY
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

The Drake is on the cusp of Michigan Avenue and Lake Michigan. It is traditional with probably the most charming lobbies in the business--especially at Christmas. Also, great restaurant--Cape Cod Room--go for Bookbinders' soup and lobster or dover sole for entree. I used to live in the area, and despite competition from the likes of Four Seasons, Ritz-Carlton, and Peninsula--none of those have the "old world" charm of The Drake. Guests there have included Princess Diana, Bob Hope, Marilyn Monroe, and Kelsey Grammar (Frazier). Get a room overlooking north to the Lake--feels like Hawaii in summer or even in a cold winter night.

Can't miss....
Ron Smith

Room Tip: Already said above--look north toward the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

When you first walk into the hotel and see its high ceilings and chandeliers and the dark wood paneling you immediately get a sense of the years of grandeur in its history. The Drake’s location on the Magnificent Mile cannot be beat as it is within easy walking distance to numerous restaurants, bars, shopping, and attractions.

Even with that grandeur, the entire property is in need of refurbishment as the signs of wear and tear are readily apparent. The guest rooms were spacious but dated. The bed was a little uncomfortable and sagged in the middle and the walls were thin enough that they shook and reverberated any time another guest shut the door to their room.

The staff is to be commended for their friendliness, efficiency, and professionalism----they really made us feel like our business was valued and they are what elevated my rating to 4 out of 5 stars.

With some renovations The Drake would have the potential to regain some of its lost luster. I hope they do this soon because I would love to go back and experience the hotel in its restored glory.

Room Tip: Chicago drivers enjoy using their horns. Do yourself a favor and select a higher floor to get away...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

This was our first time in Chicago. We spent 3 nights and discovered that The Drake has been there since the 1920's, and has maintained its classy historical image. Our room was spacious and very comfortable. The only minus is they charge $12.95 per day for wi-fi in your room. It is free in the lobby. The Fitness Room was state of the art and is open 24-7; plenty of cardio machines so you don't have to wait; multiple flat screen TV's, free weights, and weight machines. The concierge (Andrea) was very helpful. She was able to make reservations for us at restaurants which were sold out according to Open Table (she has connections). The Drake is within walking distance to some great restaurants, and is just a few steps from No. Michigan Avenue- The Miracle Mile. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We almost always stay at The Drake, and had not been there for quite a while. It was pleasant to return. Our room had 2 full bathrooms which we really liked a lot. One thing we did not like: went to their lower-level bar; waited 15 minutes to place our order; waited another 15 minutes to get our drinks. We all commented on this, & did not like it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Drake Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Drake Hotel

Address: 140 E. Walton Place, Magnificent Mile, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in Chicago
#29 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#40 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#46 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Drake Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 535
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No other Chicago hotel has inspired more legendary acclaim on par with The Drake. This timeless property affords guests easy access to the city's most exclusive shopping, nightlife and dining.A fully equipped fitness/wellness center, business center and meeting rooms are available (surcharge). The stunning Gold Coast Room can accommodate 600 guests.Afternoon Tea at The Drake Hotel is as Chicago as a hot dog at Wrigley Field or a ride on the Ferris Wheel at Navy Pier. High society has always recognized The Drake Hotel as the quintessential social hotspot. Princess Diana, Queen Elizabeth and the Empress of Japan have all been seen in the Palm Court.Though The Drake has progressed both architecturally and technologically over the past 93 years, the roots of The Drake Hotel run deep beneath Lake Shore Drive into Real Chicago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Drake Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Drake Hotel Chicago
Hilton Hotels Chicago
Chicago Drake Hotel
Drake Hotel Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Drake Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.