We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Drake Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Drake Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
The Drake Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   140 E. Walton Place, Magnificent Mile, Chicago, IL 60611 (Gold Coast)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Room & A View - from $219
Ranked #54 of 168 hotels in Chicago
Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Elegant Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

The Drake is a marvelous experience. It's classic in style. The restaurants are wonderful and the rooms are very comfortable. It's always a treat to stay there. It's extremely convenient. We've stayed there a number of times. It's our favorite hotel in Chicago (and we've stayed at many!).

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,606 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    755
    509
    179
    105
    58
See reviews for
247
513
88
470
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (347)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Nice Hotel. Loved that one of the elevators has a tapestry seat. Very cute. I had a nice room and it was in all a great experience. If you can splurge for a room that faces the lake - go for it.
I would definitely go back. Reminded me of the Waldorf in NYC.

Room Tip: Pick a room with a view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Niguel, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

The Drake is truly a beautiful hotel, this was my 2nd time staying here. The rooms are spacious, somewhat outdated, but still nice and clean. WIFI is extra cost, which really nobody charges for that anymore, especially $12.99/day. The staff is very helpful and very nice. I love the location, it simply couldn't be any better, you are walking distance to all major attractions, shopping and great restaurants, which is really good because the hotel restaurant closed very early. The one thing I really didn't care about was the valet and the cost of it. It was outrageous by any standard, I didn't even pay that much in NYC and I just don't see how you charge more, so be prepared for that. Overall, great hotel and I will stay here the next time I"m in Chicago, no question about it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

This is a gorgeous old hotel, they don't make them like this anymore!

Everything was well maintained and clean.

The view is great. The staff is so accommodating and pleasant. The fitness room is superb.

I loved everything.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burr Ridge, Illinois
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Stayed at the Drake for a special holiday. It had old world charm. Room was quite spacious. It seemed "dated" in some areas but the view of Lake Michigan was nice. The location to the lake and Michigan Ave is ideal. There is a good restaurant there as well.

Room Tip: Try to get floors 5th floor or higher.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for a recent business conference. The hotel is very nice. The service was good. Wifi is available but at an additional cost. I stayed in a small room with twin beds. The decor was traditional and the beds were just ok. The shower could also be improved. There is a restaurant in the hotel that I did not visit. I have stayed at several other hotels around the area and if i were coming back for vacation, I would probably stay in another hotel as I have found the other rooms to be of better quality. However, the location is very good and close by to shopping and restaurants.

Room Tip: Upgrade to get a better room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The hotel was clean, the service excellent and the price very reasonable. The restaurant is typical hotel expensive for breakfast. The lounge where afternoon tea is served is also a fun night spot with a band playing. The bar service is slow and the servers not quite the quality as the rest of the staff.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Drake Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Drake Hotel

Address: 140 E. Walton Place, Magnificent Mile, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#40 Family Hotel in Chicago
#42 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#52 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Drake Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No other Chicago hotel has inspired more legendary acclaim on par with The Drake. This timeless property affords guests easy access to the city's most exclusive shopping, nightlife and dining.A fully equipped fitness/wellness center, business center and meeting rooms are available (surcharge). The stunning Gold Coast Room can accommodate 600 guests.Afternoon Tea at The Drake Hotel is as Chicago as a hot dog at Wrigley Field or a ride on the Ferris Wheel at Navy Pier. High society has always recognized The Drake Hotel as the quintessential social hotspot. Princess Diana, Queen Elizabeth and the Empress of Japan have all been seen in the Palm Court.Though The Drake has progressed both architecturally and technologically over the past 93 years, the roots of The Drake Hotel run deep beneath Lake Shore Drive into Real Chicago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Reservation Counter, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda, Otel and Venere so you can book your The Drake Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Drake Hotel Chicago
Hilton Hotels Chicago
Chicago Drake Hotel
Drake Hotel Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Drake Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.