We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good business hotel, very good stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Drake Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Drake Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
The Drake Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   140 E. Walton Place, Magnificent Mile, Chicago, IL 60611 (Gold Coast)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Pre-Sale Offer
Ranked #46 of 169 Hotels in Chicago
Kingsport, TN
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Good business hotel, very good stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I recently stayed at the Drake during a trip to Chicago for a conference. Its at the north end of Michigan Ave, but still a very good location near Watertower place, shopping, eating, etc. Remember that the Drake is a Hilton Honors property. They put me in a huge corner room that was fantastic. Service was great, hotel staff very helpful. No complaints at all.

Room Tip: Ask for room facing the lake!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,813 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    879
    559
    198
    119
    58
See reviews for
291
579
92
519
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (419)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newton, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

The hotel is located at the end of Michigan Ave. near many shops an restaurants on one hand and facing the lake on the other hand. Just the perfect Chicago location. It's an old style hotel, with a tiny bit feeling of "need remodeling" and a few very little maintenance issues. Yet, the rooms are huge and very comfortable, the beds are great, and I had everything I needed. The executive lounge with breakfast and afternoon cocktails is very nice, but I think the real nice thing about this hotel besides the location is the history, If I could I'd rate it 4.5 stars, because it really needs a little remodeling, but all in all, I had a great experience.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nashville
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

The charm of The Drake has not lost her appeal. We just returned from a long weekend's stay. The Executive Lounge offers what would be shyly called a continental breakfast complete with salmon and capers and fresh fruits and steaming coffees. You really must upgrade-totally worth it! Breakfast overlooking Lakeshore Drive and Lake Michigan each morning is just a delight. The revolving entry leads to the seasonally adorned lobby complete with tree and train. The Palm Court is still it own destination for dancing, tea, and live music. I would say because of the age of the building the temperature control of the guest rooms and lack of storage is a minus. This time of year the only way to gain room comfort is either by opening the windows (brrrrr) or requesting an oscillating fan (shortages!) The Coq D'or Grill on the lower level is happenin' with music, specialty cocktails, and great food. If you love beautiful architecture, a 1/4 block walk to Michigan Ave, genuinely helpful staff, and the feel of the days of old, call The Drake.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

My family spent a Saturday overnight at The Drake Hotel and loved it. The hotel has adjoining room configurations that are very unique so you can combine suites to accomodate lots of different options. My husband & I shared a large king suite and the adjoining room had 2 twins for the teenagers.

The concierge was very friendly and helped us with directions. The hotel is extremely close to Water Tower & the Hancock building.

Our bed was very comfortable too.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

What a great place and location, but the rooms are too dated to be considered a good deal for the price. There are better options. Sad for the Drake once held the premier place, but now it is just a storied hotel below the others in the area. The attitude of the front end staff was far below 5 star standards. The porters and bell men were excellent and funny.

Room Tip: Get a high floor or one with a Lake Michigan view. Otherwise you may get a view of the fire escape o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I've always had mixed feelings about staying in older hotels. On the plus side, they tend to be somewhat charming; it's kind of like stepping into a time machine to a more genteel era. On the down side, the upkeep required to maintain an older property is astronomical, both in monetary resourses and human labor. I was skeptical about the Drake after seeing some of the reviews, but overall I was pleasantly surprised. For location, it's right off Michigan Avenue, so it's tough to beat. The public spaces were beautfiul and very well-maintained, old fashion in a good way but without being musty. My room was huge, which I did not expect: most rooms in historic hotels tend to have the square footage of a shoebox, but not the Drake. The bathroom was disappointing in size and fixtures, although that I did expect. Loved the Peter Thomas Roth bath amenities! Staff was very nice, with the lone exception being the wait staff at Coq d'Or...20 minutes with a glass of ice water and no one seemed to even notice I was there (in their defense, it was a very busy night with a huge convention beginning the next day). The servers at Cape Cod, on the other hand, were personable and efficient. I'll probably try another hotel next time I'm in Chicago, but I'd stay at the Drake again if the rate was good.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We loved our 4 nights at The Drake. The staff were wonderful from the concierge to the cleaning staff. Restaurants in the hotel were terrific, and the location couldn't be better for exploring the Magnificent Mile. Our only concern was the bathrooms, which could use some plumbing upgrades, but probably this is to be expected in a building of this age.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Drake Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Drake Hotel

Address: 140 E. Walton Place, Magnificent Mile, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#30 Family Hotel in Chicago
#36 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#41 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Drake Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No other Chicago hotel has inspired more legendary acclaim on par with The Drake. This timeless property affords guests easy access to the city's most exclusive shopping, nightlife and dining.A fully equipped fitness/wellness center, business center and meeting rooms are available (surcharge). The stunning Gold Coast Room can accommodate 600 guests.Afternoon Tea at The Drake Hotel is as Chicago as a hot dog at Wrigley Field or a ride on the Ferris Wheel at Navy Pier. High society has always recognized The Drake Hotel as the quintessential social hotspot. Princess Diana, Queen Elizabeth and the Empress of Japan have all been seen in the Palm Court.Though The Drake has progressed both architecturally and technologically over the past 93 years, the roots of The Drake Hotel run deep beneath Lake Shore Drive into Real Chicago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, BookIt.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, Reservation Counter, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your The Drake Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Drake Hotel Chicago
Hilton Hotels Chicago
Chicago Drake Hotel
Drake Hotel Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Drake Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.