We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Chicago Hotel and Towers

Save Saved
You added Sheraton Chicago Hotel and Towers to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sheraton Chicago Hotel and Towers
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   301 East North Water Street, Chicago, IL 60611 (Near North Side)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #47 of 167 hotels in Chicago
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
“Wonderful stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Our stay at the Sheraton was great. Our room was clean, modern, and had a pleasant view of the city/Lake Michigan. We would most definitely come again for another stay. We ate at the Hotel's LB’S BISTRO & PATISSERIE, and had a very tasty meal. The hotel staff was very polite, smiley, and quick so as to allow us to continue on with our stay.

Room Tip: The executive suites are very nice, wonderful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addie H, Manager at Sheraton Chicago Hotel and Towers, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
I'm so happy to hear you had such a wonderful stay and thank you for selecting our downtown hotel. I look forward to having you come see us again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,834 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,337
    793
    426
    184
    94
See reviews for
554
550
123
1143
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (736)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The location is absolutely the best in Chicago. On the river, next to the lake, smack in the middle of all the action. I ended up in a room facing southwest, so the view of the river and the city were breathtaking.

The hotel, like most other Sheratons, has a Club Lounge, which offers free breakfast in the mornings and snacks and drinks throughout the day. The breakfast, however, does leave a lot to be desired, and with all of the great restaurants in Chicago it is worth it to venture somewhere else.

The rooms were nice, great size, even better views.

Room Tip: Try to get the rooms facing South or Southwest for amazing views of the Chicago River and skyline.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addie H, Manager at Sheraton Chicago Hotel and Towers, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
I appreciate you taking the time to share your review about your stay and your business in general. Thank you for the feedback, I will definitely pass that on. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Sheraton for a business trip she had. I got to tag along and enjoy Chicago. What a difference it makes to stay at a hotel with an excellent concierge. Suzzanne took great care with every request I had, from how to get to the next attracton or how to get Book of Morman tickets. If you go to the Sheraton be sure and stop by and chat with Suzanne as she knows Chicago.
The room was nice and the view very good from the 17th floor. The price is reasonable and the restaurants nearby quite good. Be sure and try Quartino if you love good Italian food. It's just a quick $6 taxi ride away.

Room Tip: Higher up is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addie H, Manager at Sheraton Chicago Hotel and Towers, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review, I love Quartino too! Very happy our staff was helpful and we look forward to treating you to the same great service when you and your wife return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portage, Michigan
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Overall the Sheraton Hotel and Towers is a good location for meetings and events. As a runner, the location is great to get on the riverfront/lakefront path. Rooms are nice with comfortable beds and nice comforters. The location is a bit further east than I usually like to stay, but it's close to be able to walk to Navy Pier and one of my favorite specialty stores Fox & Obel. I ordered room service last night and it was quick and actually pretty good--French Onion Soup was good!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addie H, Manager at Sheraton Chicago Hotel and Towers, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
So happy to hear you enjoyed our meeting facilities and had a successful meeting here, as delivering top notch experiences is our main priority. Thank you for your business and we look forward to seeing you at an upcoming meeting here soon. Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Droitwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Great location only a short distance from North Michigan Avenue, excellent staff, attractive well equipped rooms, one of the best lobbies anywhere, especially for meeting buiness associates. But -- try to watch the news (or whatever) on ordinary broadcast TV and you run up against the most diabolical, user un-friendly TV system imaginable. If you think to watch the news only a minute or two before air time, you are likely to miss the news entirely. You have to wind your way through an unconsionable maze of non-intuitive screens just to find ordinary TV channels. At every click the system tries to sell you a movie or other pay per use service. The labeling of ordinary TV channels is disguised so that everything that seems to be ordinary TV is a money grab.

Sheraton should not permit such a money-grab system in its hotels. I am told the system is installed by a third party supplier which obviously cares nothing about anything other than trying to get you to pay for something. I suppose Sheraton gets paid well to permit the installation. But, is it worth upsetting customers? It IS upsetting. Everyone in my business group staying at the Sheraton this trip was seriously put off by the TV system.

Sheraton, please dump the TV system and get back to caring about what your customers think. Sans this TV system, I would have given this hotel five stars.

My only other comment is that this hotel is lacking restaurants. The flagship, Shula's Steak House, is not what it used to be. There is a difficult to find, but decent, hamburger place two levels below the reception desk -- but nothing else, and nothing much within several city blocks.

Room Tip: Try to secure a room on the river side of the hotel. The view is very good, and this is the quiet si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addie H, Manager at Sheraton Chicago Hotel and Towers, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
So happy to hear you enjoyed our meeting facilities and had a successful meeting as delivering top notch experiences is our main priority. Thank you for your business and we look forward to seeing you at an upcoming meeting here soon. Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowell, Michigan, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

I truly believe this is the best hotel value in the greater Chicago area. The staff is very friendly and helpful- and not just the concierge, I'm talking everyone- cleaning staff, front desk, valet, management, etc. They are completely committed to making it the perfect stay. The facilities are beautiful, very classy, but also modern Chicago chic. I don't know that there is a better in building restaurant combination than dinner at Shula's and breakfast at LB Bistro and Patisserie. There are other options, but honestly in the several times we stayed, we've never tried them even though they look great because we've been so blown away by Shula's and the Bistro! Finally- as if that wasn't already enough- they have THE bed. The absolute best beds I've ever slept on at a Hotel. If you're like me and when you travel it means that you're usually going to get at best a half nights sleep due to the inferior bed what a pleasure it is to find a place that has beds where you actually sleep as good as home. These bed are incredible! I probably sound like a shill for Sheraton, but we have stayed here several times at different times of the year over multiple years and every time the experience was PERFECT. You can pay more, but you can't find better.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are great, but the lake and river views are particular lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addie H, Manager at Sheraton Chicago Hotel and Towers, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you, thank you, thank you! We are so appreciative of your business and you taking the time to share your feedback. It was our pleasure to host you and we look forward to doing so again very soon.
Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shreveport, Louisiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

This is a repeat visit for me to Chicago and staying at the Sheraton. As always my stay was excellent. The Sheraton is a large hotel, but the attentiveness, professionalism, and overall quality of the hotel belie its size; everything always feels very personal unlike most large hotels. From the front desk, to the hotel manager, to the cleaning staff everyone is the very friendly, polite and willing to help. The rooms are very well maintained as is the rest of the hotel. The location is also just step to Michigan Avenue, making most destinations an easy walk. I used to stay at another Starwood hotel in Chicago, but after trying the Sheraton last year, I always return here.

Room Tip: The river facing rooms have a great view of the city as well as Lake Michigan
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addie H, Manager at Sheraton Chicago Hotel and Towers, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay with us and compliments. We appreciate your business and look forward to hosting you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sheraton Chicago Hotel and Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Chicago Hotel and Towers

Address: 301 East North Water Street, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Chicago
#26 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#26 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#39 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Chicago Hotel and Towers 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Chicago Hotel & Towers is within walking distance of Navy Pier, Millennium Park, Hancock Tower, and Michigan Avenue. We have 37 meeting rooms, including a luxurious 40,000 sq ft ballroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Starwood, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Sheraton Chicago Hotel and Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chicago Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Chicago Hotel and Towers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.