We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Generic as Ham on White Bread” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Chicago Hotel and Towers

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Chicago Hotel and Towers to your Saves list
Sheraton Chicago Hotel and Towers
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   301 East North Water Street, Chicago, IL 60611 (Near North Side)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #52 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Generic as Ham on White Bread”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

The PROS: VERY comfortable beds and pillows! Possibly the best I've ever experienced in any hotel! Also, fast elevators - which is good because this is a big place and gets CROWDED. Rooms were clean and not too much wear and tear on the hotel.

BE CAREFUL: We booked two rooms through a reputable internet Hotel booking site that I often used. The hotel LOST one of the reservations. Fortunately, I spotted it a day before I arrived and the booking site was able to pressure the hotel into making our room available.

The CONS: Nickel and dime, nickel and dime. You need to get a good rate... we paid an average of $100 per night for 4 nights, (not including taxes = 16%)... which is excellent, I think. You'll need it because you pay for everything else.

Garage is over $50 per day, internet in room starts at $15 per 24 hours, and don't even think of putting anything in the room fridge. The fridge is filled with sodas and juices ($5-6) and those little bottles of brand alcohol, ie: Dewars Scotch = $11! (and much smaller than the amount you would get in a real drink in a bar). If you take out the drinks and put in your own food, they will try to charge you $25 per day. And you can forget trying to squeeze anything in there, between their bottles. Not even a sandwich or a yogurt will fit.

We did not have a long check-in at 3 pm, but usually there is a long line. Make sure you carefully review your bill at check out. They have been known to overcharge.

LOCATION - depends on what you like. Centrally located and we loved being on the River. But 15 minute walk to the "L" trains or subway. Great supermarket, "Dominicks," two blocks away, if you need fresh food or supplies. They may come in handy too because eating in the hotel restaurant for breakfast is EXPENSIVE. $19 omelets? You bet! You'd better be wealthy if you have 2 or 3 kids with you. Better to find a breakfast joint outside... but you will have to walk at least 10 minutes.

Bottom line: Nothing memorable or original here - a chain is a chain is a chain. Just sleep there, go out for everything else and enjoy the great Windy City.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addie H, Manager at Sheraton Chicago Hotel and Towers, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
First off, thank you for your business and I'm happy to hear that you slept well and enjoyed our Sheraton Sweet Sleeper Bed amenities. I sincerely apologize for any inconvenience from a billing perspective. While we do not own our parking so have no control over those fees and try to keep things in line with the market prices, I do apologize if this caused any additional stress during your trip. If you would like at your earliest convenience I would love the chance to speak with you so that we can repair our relationship. I can be reached at 312-329-6995 and look forward to chatting with you. Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,501
    897
    464
    197
    104
See reviews for
613
616
135
1,294
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (853)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

Everything met my expectations with this hotel. The only few complaints I have were that the pool was small and not useable 2 of the 4 days we were there. Fortunately we were there to explore and not swim all day long. #2 issue was that there is absolute no parking nearby so trying to check in and deal with putting the car in the parking space we had previously reserved was a bit if a hassle.
Overall I would recommend it because the location is really close to Navy Pier, a grocery/ drug store, and many other things.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addie H, Manager at Sheraton Chicago Hotel and Towers, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you for sharing. I also appreciate you sharing your feedback and please know I will be reviewing this with our applicable teams. I hope we have the chance to host you and your family again soon.
Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

If you are on business in the windy city or there for a romantic get away, I highly recommend this hotel. the location is great, the staff is very knowledgeable of the area and willing to make great dinning recommendations.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addie H, Manager at Sheraton Chicago Hotel and Towers, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing such compliments. I'm thrilled to hear you enjoyed your experience with us. Thank you for your business and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is old, especially the rooms and the bathroom. We moved a bed to acomodate our child and the rug was very dusty.
Breakfast in the room was awful and pricey. The Restaurant Shula's is good but too expensive for this hotel.
Location is good but not great.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addie H, Manager at Sheraton Chicago Hotel and Towers, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you for sharing. Please know we are in the process of renovating all our guestrooms to ensure that your experience with us is elevated. I also appreciate you sharing your feedback regarding our breakfast pricing and while we do ensure to stay in line with the market prices, I will be reviewing this with our applicable team. I hope we have the chance to host you and your family again soon.
Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

The rooms were very clean with great views and comfortable beds. Very knowledgeable concierge. The work our facility was much better than most other hotels' facilities. Great selection of weights and machines. I would stay here again on a future business trip.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addie H, Manager at Sheraton Chicago Hotel and Towers, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing about your recent stay with us. I'm very happy to hear you enjoyed our facilities and can't wait to welcome you back again soon! Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We decided to get away from our son for a weekend together, and we booked the Junior Suite. It was a very nice room, very relaxing. The views of the city were excellent. We had the Lava cake at Shula's which was outstanding. The breakfast buffet was a wonderful end.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addie H, Manager at Sheraton Chicago Hotel and Towers, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thrilled to hear you and your wife had a great weekend getaway and that you were able to take in the best views of Chicago with our renovated Junior Suite and enjoy a delicious meal at Shula's. We know how busy life gets, so we hope to be able to host you and your wife again soon. Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

I don't often get the chance to say this but this was a great experience for me. I am usually put-off by people in the service industry as a general rule simply because no one seems to care anymore. This would NOT be the case at this Hotel, wonderful atmosphere, very helpful staff, staff was accommodating at every turn. Can't say enough good things, I only wish all my hotel stays were this pleasant and made me feel as though customer service was at the top of their list like this Hotel did! AAA + from me, I will make this a destination to lay my head next time I am in the Windy City.
Thanks Sheraton for your obvious time you have taken in training all of your staff in the art of customer service.

Room Tip: You need to decide if you want the skyline view or the view of the river. The city at night is alway...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addie H, Manager at Sheraton Chicago Hotel and Towers, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Wow! What fabulous news! Reading your review, I can't help but smile as what you feel and experienced is our mission every day our doors are open. Making you feel at home while in the Windy City is our goal and we hope to have the chance to welcome you back very soon. Thank you again for selecting Sheraton Chicago, safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Chicago Hotel and Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Chicago Hotel and Towers

Address: 301 East North Water Street, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#30 Family Hotel in Chicago
#31 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#38 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Chicago Hotel and Towers 4*
Number of rooms: 1209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Chicago Hotel & Towers is within walking distance of Navy Pier, Millennium Park, Hancock Tower, and Michigan Avenue. We have 37 meeting rooms, including a luxurious 40,000 sq ft ballroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sheraton Chicago Hotel and Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chicago Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Chicago Hotel and Towers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.