We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Spot for Business Traveler” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Chicago Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance Chicago Hotel to your Saves list
Renaissance Chicago Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 W Wacker Dr, Chicago, IL 60601 (The Loop)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$25 Daily Credit
Ranked #52 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Dallas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Spot for Business Traveler”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed my stay. Hotel was quiet. Nice bar area. Good room service. Fabulous bed. Excellent gym - lots of machines and weights. Tons of restaurants a short walk or shorter cab ride away. Will definitely stay again the next time I'm in town for work.

Room Tip: The higher up you are, the farther you are from city sounds - train nearby and traffic sounds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

955 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    460
    355
    98
    27
    15
See reviews for
161
209
62
343
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
212 reviews 212 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Excellent location, walk down to the Art Institute or up to Magnificent Mile. Our spacious and comfortable room enjoyed a classic view of the Chicago River complete with Trump Tower and Wrigley Building. This is not however the classiest of Renaissance hotels, either in design or experience. Most of our niggles could be put right if the management were anywhere visible. Let's get them out of the way: The music is the lobby (and elevator lobbies) is downright nasty - I could imagine it being used in a KGB cell to demoralize prisoners; the interconnecting doors between rooms are not that soundproof; on our hallway the doors were loose so rattled every time someone shut their door; always a long wait for the elevators; the tables in the Club Lounge were never wiped clean between users. Small bottle of Evian $4; shirt laundry $7.50.

Room Tip: Request upper floor and view of River
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Great hotel and conveniently located between the financial area and Michigan Ave. Within walking distance to both and the hotel has a few restaurants and retail shops located on the lobby level. The hotel rate was reasonable and the wi-fi was free for Marriott rewards members. The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was clean and the bed/pillows were awesome. It was like sleeping on a cloud. The concierge lounge was a little scarce the night I went up there so I didn't go back. Will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire UK
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
225 helpful votes 225 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

This is a fabulous hotel, the staff are totally helpful and accommodating, the food is excellent (albeit we only had breakfast, a bar lunch and club room access). Our room was huge and really well appointed. I loved the location here - very close to the river, easy access to the Riverwalk, across the bridge for shopping and a nice brisk walk to Navy Pier. Good views from the hotel, nice and quiet, Macy's just down the street - what more does one need, I would stay here again. However only one concierge on duty so hard to organise any tours.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

First of all the good: This is a beautiful hotel located in a lovely area of Chicago on the river. The river flows right in front of the hotel and be sure to upgrade to a room facing the river. The rooms are spacious and spotless. Housekeeping does not begin to knock until after nine AM which is gratefully appreciated on some mornings.
Now for the not so good: The front desk staff consists of a group of frosty workers. Is this a senior management decision to be efficient without being warm? I had to almost argue for the opportunity to pay extra for switching my room from the back of the hotel to the river view. What's up with that? I asked for an hour extension on my departure and was told that the hotel was "completely booked". An hour is not a long time to request as a Marriott Rewards Member and I have never been turned down at any hotel, including Marriotts, before. The servers in the restaurant looked uninterested and removed. During both times I ate there, I had to vigorously flag down the servers. No water poured, no smile, no midwest hospitality here either. I've stayed at Marriotts in other cities and this one stands out for its dour front desk and restaurant staff.

Room Tip: Upgrade to river view on high floor. It's worth the cost to bypass the city noise and the elevat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Angelo, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Great location, convenient to all downtown attractions. Lobby was nice and they had water with fruit which was so refreshing.
I wish Wi-Fi was free, even in the lobby. That would be all I would change about our stay. We plan to stay there for future trips.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the river, it is gorgeous to see the city from your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

This was my first time in Chicago and the Renaissance was in the perfect location. The shopping district was only a few blocks away, and had it not rained, I would have walked the 15 min to the Art Institute. Directly across from the river, provided for lovely walks. Our room was a good size, clean and modern. I plan to stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Chicago Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Chicago Hotel

Address: 1 W Wacker Dr, Chicago, IL 60601
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#34 Family Hotel in Chicago
#41 Business Hotel in Chicago
#47 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Chicago Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 553
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Encounter the sophisticated ambiance of a premier Chicago hotel near the theatre districts and famed museums at the Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel, an intriguing urban sanctuary in the heart of downtown. Situated on the north edge of the Loop, this luxury hotel is steps away from upscale shopping, fine dining and famed Millennium Park. Revitalize body and mind in luxury hotel rooms boasting unique amenities with marble accents and stunning skyline views of the city's architecture. Unwind in style at the Rejuvenation Center, a refreshing indoor pool and indulgent spa treatments. Experience Bar Novo, a downtown setting unlike any other providing a trendy and distinguished night-life scene serving delectable dishes and creative cocktails. Discover something wonderfully new hotel providing guests a refined atmosphere and sense of style at the Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Renaissance Chicago Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Hotel Chicago
Chicago Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Chicago Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.