We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Chicago Hotel

Save Saved
You added Renaissance Chicago Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Renaissance Chicago Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 W Wacker Dr, Chicago, IL 60601 (The Loop)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Sale! $50 Hotel Credit
Ranked #46 of 168 hotels in Chicago
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great location and staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Here on business for meetings. Good: Great location and staff. The bad: Few things not working properly in the room. Most importantly, ask for a room AWAY from the train. Very loud if you are on 9th floor with the train right outside your window...running every couple minutes.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

875 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    425
    324
    88
    25
    13
See reviews for
148
194
62
306
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

My family of five stayed here for three nights while my husband was in town for a convention. It was within walking distance of everywhere we needed and wanted to go. You can walk to the Art Museum and Michigan Avenue shopping. Close to many great iconic Chicago restaurants and locations. You can walk to the Aquarium and Planetarium but it is a haul. I will stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask fir a view of the River.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, D.C.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Located at Wacker and State, this hotel is walking distance to most anything in downtown Chicago on the north loop. As a platinum Marriott member, I was upgraded to a river view which was very nice. Parking was 55 dollars a day which is expected being central Chicago. The concierge lounge had the usual fixins' with nothing overly special. The Novo bar was nice, and staff was friendly. Overall, a bargain at 189 dollars per night and well worth it. An added bonus during my stay was the fact that they shine your shoes for free! just call the front desk and they send someone to take your shoes and return them in about 20 minutes fully shined!

Room Tip: Get a high floor. The traffic noise and police sirens can keep you awake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

I stayed here in May 2012 and couldn't of been happier. This hotel is beautiful and in a great location of the city, me and my friend walked everywhere. The room (especially the bathroom) is big with very comfortable beds. The customer service was excellent and I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed at the Renaissance Chicago several times throughout my career. From a business traveler's standpoint, it has everything you would need or want. Good restaurants, friendly and helpful staff, courteous attendants, fast internet connectivity and a close proximity to offices, public transportation and the like. From a personal perspective, I have stayed here with my family, and it is equally impressive for the family vacation or a nice weekend away. The views of the river and spacious rooms are great for impressing the spouse and for entertaining the kids. It's also a quick bus (or train) to most of the touristy places in town and some of the great Chicago neighborhoods. On weekends, the area around the hotel does have a lack of quick (open) restaurants, but that tends to be true of any central business district. However, there is enough going on nearby and enough open restaurants to make it tolerable especially considering how convenient transportation options are. Tom Robertson runs great hotels, and I always know his properties will be top-notch. Stay here. Look no further.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marblehead, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

The hotel is gorgeous with all the amenities of a fully upscale establishment. It is very easily accessible from the highway but is perfectly located in the heart of the downtown Chicago Loop. The spa staff was top notch as was the hotel staff. All of this cost less than $150 per room per night. How do they do it?

Room Tip: We opted for the least expensive rooms and were thoroughly satisfied.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

As this was a Priceline experience, I wasn't necessarily expecting the funky cool vibe of the hotel. It was great fun staying here! Not a bad price, either. The room was beautiful and very clean. We used the mini fridge to get breakfast at trader Joes (few blocks away) and eat in the room. The shower and bathroom were really nice, as was the big foyer to store extra luggage. The housekeeping and other hotel services that we used were great, but admittedly we tend to be fairly low profile travelers so I can't comment much more than that.

Here are a few negatives, but I will still give five stars because the experience still exceeded expectations:
- the bedding, mostly the comforter, was not wide enough for the bed. Granted it was a ginormous king size bed to begin with, and by "not wide enough" I just mean that the comforter came to the edge of the bed and didn't drape over far enough. But it was more than enough for two people. Just less nice than I expected given how nice the rest of the room was.
- there was only one luggage rack and not a ton of storage or a good place for me to put my bag (traveled with husband).
- the hotel restaurant is tapas style food. It was very good, but if you're looking for a traditional dinner you will have to venture out, maybe to the Hilton next door. Tapas = very small plates with high prices. There is a smaller bar-type restaurant below that, but that kitchen closes early. Nowhere to get breakfast in the hotel that I saw except Starbucks and room service.


Still - we would definitely return and had a great experience.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Renaissance Chicago Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Chicago Hotel

Address: 1 W Wacker Dr, Chicago, IL 60601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#35 Business Hotel in Chicago
#42 Family Hotel in Chicago
#57 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Chicago Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Encounter the sophisticated ambiance of a premier Chicago hotel near the theatre districts and famed museums at the Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel, an intriguing urban sanctuary in the heart of downtown. Situated on the north edge of the Loop, this luxury hotel is steps away from upscale shopping, fine dining and famed Millennium Park. Revitalize body and mind in luxury hotel rooms boasting unique amenities with marble accents and stunning skyline views of the city's architecture. Unwind in style at the Rejuvenation Center, a refreshing indoor pool and indulgent spa treatments. Experience Bar Novo, a downtown setting unlike any other providing a trendy and distinguished night-life scene serving delectable dishes and creative cocktails. Discover something wonderfully new hotel providing guests a refined atmosphere and sense of style at the Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Renaissance Chicago Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Hotel Chicago
Chicago Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Chicago Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.