We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for Chicago travel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Chicago Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance Chicago Hotel to your Saves list
Renaissance Chicago Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 W Wacker Dr, Chicago, IL 60601 (The Loop)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$25 Daily Credit
Ranked #50 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Baton Rouge, LA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great location for Chicago travel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I spent a week at the Renaissance Chicago in April of this year and of the 4 downtown properties I stayed at over the last 9 months, it's my favorite. Great central location on the river, staff that is very service oriented, a concierge lounge (if you have those Marriott benefits) that had great selections in food and drink, and just a great layout. I keep hoping to have another meeting there. The location and proximity were ideal. It's right down the street from the historic Chicago Theatre and sits at the top of the entire theatre district. A room with a river view made even the room time pleasant. I highly recommend!

Room Tip: Ask for a river view room. Great atmosphere!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

968 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    467
    361
    98
    27
    15
See reviews for
163
213
62
347
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed here in August for a short family vacation. Great location, beds are comfy, rooms are clean. Staff is friendly. Pricey - but the location cannot be beat. We chose this because we were going to a Cubs night game and it is close to the El. The Redline (stop is about a block from the hotel) takes you right to Wrigley Field. Valet parking is $54. Self parking is about $38. Pool is small. This is more of a hotel geared to adults - although the kids enjoy that it is "fancy". I have stayed here several times for business, a couple of times for famliy weekend getaways and once for a getaway with my husband......good dinner, good wine and close to the theater for Wicked!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Mary, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

We had a wonderful stay. We had a river view room and looked out to a beautiful view. It was a corner meeting room with a King bed and separate living and dining area. The rooms were spotless and the service was top notch. The location was very convenient. Close to shopping, restaurants and bars. Looking forward to staying there again!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

I loved the location, the vibe of downtown with people singing on the sidewalk and the theater lights is kind of fun. Also It has a Walgreens really close where you have 2 floors with everything you need, and a very large Macys. The hotel was very clean, nice lobby, and if its raining you can go out the back door of the lobby and you will find inside a Starbucks, a Salon, and few places to eat. The rooms are good size but the bed was not comfortable for me, which I found very rare for a Marriott. Also the NOICE was something that bothered me a lot. A train station is RIGHT THERE you here the train coming and going until very late at night and very early in the morning, even if you are on a high floor. Also sirens where very frequent. I don't know if there is a fire station close....but sure seemed like it.
I liked the hotel but honestly don't think I'll be back because after all for that price I can go to a hotel somewhere fun but a little more quiet.
I must recognize the efforts and attentions of the personel of the lobby to attend all requirements of the guests. The even changed my room to a more quiet one. I could hear the train only a less....

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for a conference and loved it. The staff were great- offered great recommendations for restaurants! The room was great- I was hoping to have a river view room, but no dice. The city side had a great view as well (13th floor). Didn't eat at the restaurants, but had breakfast and lunch provided at the conference- very good. I look forward to staying here the next time I am in Chicago!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for Labor Day weekend. It was busy but you never felt crowded or ignored. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Room was clean and perfect for our stay. The location of food and transportation is a definite plus!
The workout facility is nice, would have liked it if they had workout balls or mats (perhaps I did not find them...).
Bar area was a good atmosphere for a drink in between our activities.
We plan to stay again when we go to a Bears game!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

I love this hotel. The location is great, the rooms are really nice. I especially love the night light under the bathroom vanity that gives off just enough glow to allow for very easy nighttime bathroom use without having to blind yourself by turning on a light. It's little things like this that make a hotel special. The lobby has a nice bar that you can grab a quick drink at before hitting the town. I can't recommend this hotel more for either business or pleasure.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Chicago Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Chicago Hotel

Address: 1 W Wacker Dr, Chicago, IL 60601
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#32 Family Hotel in Chicago
#39 Business Hotel in Chicago
#41 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Chicago Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 553
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Encounter the sophisticated ambiance of a premier Chicago hotel near the theatre districts and famed museums at the Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel, an intriguing urban sanctuary in the heart of downtown. Situated on the north edge of the Loop, this luxury hotel is steps away from upscale shopping, fine dining and famed Millennium Park. Revitalize body and mind in luxury hotel rooms boasting unique amenities with marble accents and stunning skyline views of the city's architecture. Unwind in style at the Rejuvenation Center, a refreshing indoor pool and indulgent spa treatments. Experience Bar Novo, a downtown setting unlike any other providing a trendy and distinguished night-life scene serving delectable dishes and creative cocktails. Discover something wonderfully new hotel providing guests a refined atmosphere and sense of style at the Renaissance Chicago Downtown Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Marriott, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Renaissance Chicago Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Hotel Chicago
Chicago Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Chicago Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.