We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go for the price, stay for the nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Raffaello Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Raffaello Hotel to your Saves list
Raffaello Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   201 East Delaware Place, Chicago, IL 60611   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #75 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Cary, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Go for the price, stay for the nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2009

Location: About a block away from Michigan Ave, Water Tower Place and right behind the John Hancock tower. If your not from Chicago, this means it is in the heart of the city. It's a safe neighborhood.

Parking:
Option one - $47/night hotel valet
Option two - $22/night self-park right across the street (not truely a self park, because the garage attendant takes your keys and parks the car for you).

Lobby: Small, but comfortable. Area for sitting and free coffee.

Room: Booked a King room for $99 direct on the hotel site. We stayed on a Saturday night and they upgraded us to a King Suite for no additional charge. The suite was in extremely nice shape and looked very clean. The bed was firm, yet comfortable. All the furniture was contemporary.

The amenities at this hotel are limited. It's a place to stay on a budget, but it is a very nice looking hotel inside and out. When you are in Chicago, you don't need a hotel that has everything (just a clean, comfortable place to stay). You're in a city that has it all.

  • Liked — The free upgrade, cleanliness, price and great location.
  • Disliked — Can't think of anything I disliked.
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    549
    478
    165
    94
    65
See reviews for
319
421
70
234
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2009

I stayed here twice in late December whilst visiting the area. There is absolutely nothing I can fault with my experiences. The door staff are extremely attentive, the price was fantastic and the location is unbeatable. I particularly loved the bathroom as the shower was to die for. I found the decor refreshingly elegant, did not have any issues with the elevators as mentioned in other reviews and would reccomend to all!

  • Liked — the friendliness of staff
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2009

Well, my fiance in France wanted to book time at the Rafaello on his trip to see me at the end of this month. After several email attempts with no reply, and a phone call that was switched over from the concierge to the reservation desk and then cut off all together, and a retraction on a request that just a day before the hotel said they would honor - we've decided not to book a room here. I guess they just didn't care to have our business!

Stayed January 2009
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2008

I did not stay there, but I got the help I needed to send a bottle of champaign to friends. Although there is no in house shop today, the concierge ran out and purchased a bottle w/in my price range - by the way - it was below 0 degree wind chill!!!! Then arranged for the bottle to be chilled upon their arrival.
great service!

Stayed December 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2008

This is a lovely hotel - our room was excellent and had all the facilities we could want and the staff could not have been more helpful. We found the concierge, whose name I cannot now remember, particularly helpful in recommending places to visit, eat and shop. And he got us some discounts! The hotel may be away from the Loop but that means you can avoid the noise and we found taxis to be good value. It also means the Raffaello is located in a pretty sophisticated and quiet neighbourhood. Anywhere located within a few blocks from Oprah Winfrey's home can't be bad. The hotel is extremely well located for Hancock Centre, Magnificent Mile and is only two block from the stops for the main city tour buses. It was one of the best city centre hotels we have stayed at.

  • Liked — Relaxed atmosphere
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2008

Ok, so Chicago is an expensive town, and a convention town, so finding affordable and available hotels, while still wanting some comfort and ammenities is not easy. I found the Raffaello online. Great location, I will say that. The rest of the Hotel really lacks in service and style to warrant a 340 dollar per night price tag. There is no restaurant on site, no bar, internet is not free and the doorman will call you cab, if he absolutely has to but as we had 36 degree weather, we had to find one ourself because he was inside getting warm. Service is minimal here. MINIMAL. For the money, stay at budget marriot or best western. At least then you'll have a no frills expectation. I am writing this review FROM the hotel room. Smells like fried food...probably because people have to bring food in from the outside for dinner, unless they go out. My room still hasn't been cleaned. We left at 8:30 this morning so plenty of time. Access to the internet requires a code, fine, but you must enter it in EVERY time you log in as the system does not remember it. Bathrooms are tiny, no space to put anything, one hook for a towel shared with blow dryer. I called the front desk and the concierge this morning. No answer at either. Things happen, no hotel is perfect. But the over all problem of this place is the general sense that this is just a job for the staff. They don't say hello, goodbye, open a door, ask you if you need help, or offer a smile. I'm from LA, I can get that for free. The Raffaello has a lot to learn about service and client relations. A LOT. Starting with remembering that guests come first and are paying to stay there, not the other way around. So, if you lower your expectations, this is a great place. Otherwise, there is a courtyard marriott around the corner. Go there, and save yourself the $$ and the aggravation.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Service (lack of) for the money was sub par.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2008

I travel to Chicago frequently for business, and we discovered the Raffaello back in June. Since then, I've been in Chicago about 8 times and stay there every time.

ADVICE: Always book a King room. They're much bigger than the double rooms

The staff is friendly, the rooms are spacious and comfortable, and it's a perfect location. It's a 5-10 minute cab ride to our client's offices, right off the Magnificent Mile (though I never have time to go shopping) and a quick cab ride to any restaurant we ever choose to dine in. I'm surprised about the reviewer saying the bellman wasn't around, there's always 1-2 standing there when I get in. I've even been given comp upgrades to a suite, which is FANTASTIC!

No, they don't have room service but you can ask the front desk for a couple places that deliver to your room. They are Italian places, but have extensive menus (not just pizza) and the food is pretty good. In the morning, they will deliver breakfast to your room if you put the order on your door the night before.

all in all, I'd say stay there. It's a great hotel, great location, and great price. I've never paid more than $240 a night, and for this location and quality of hotel, that's a steal.

  • Liked — Accommodations, Staff, Location and Price
  • Disliked — Small elevators (and only 2), no room service
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Raffaello Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raffaello Hotel

Address: 201 East Delaware Place, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#57 Business Hotel in Chicago
#67 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#72 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Raffaello Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chicago’s only completely non-smoking 4-star boutique luxury hotel has the best location of any 4-star hotel, just steps away from Michigan Avenue in the heart of the Gold Coast. The famed Magnificent Mile, is just steps from Raffaello Hotel’s front door, as is shopping, theater, nightlife, restaurants, clubs, Navy Pier, Hancock Observatory, museums, zoos, and beaches. Amenities include breakfast room service, massage treatments, manicure and pedicure by Windy City Massage, concierge services, 24-hour business center, PC computer kiosks, 24-hour fitness center, valet parking, valet laundry, mini-bars, microwaves, rain forest showerheads, flat screen LCD TV’s, DVD players, in room safes, luxurious bathrobes, all cotton terry bath towels, 350 thread count sheets overlaying goose down duvets. 18th floor meetings and convention center. Every guest room is non-smoking as are the public areas validating our claim to being Chicago’s only completely non-smoking luxury boutique 4 star hotel, just off Michigan Avenue, the Magnificent Mile. Our newest addition, Drumbar, sits atop the 18th floor. Drumbar is a multi seasonal destination with a speakeasy style inside lounge and outdoor garden terrace. Designed as a drinking establishment to deliver warmth, style, and an energetic spirit of old meets new. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Raffaello Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raffaello Hotel Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Raffaello Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.