We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice for the Price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Raffaello Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Raffaello Hotel to your Saves list
Raffaello Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   201 East Delaware Place, Chicago, IL 60611 (Streeterville)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #71 of 178 Hotels in Chicago
Southeast WI
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice for the Price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We stayed at the Raffaello Hotel the night of June 29, 2014. Upon arrival, Alex greeted us and gave us plenty of information about parking, check-in, and some things to do. SUPERB! We pre-registered at the front desk, checked in our bag, self-parked our car, and took to the streets. We were notified by text that our room was ready over one hour earlier than normal check-in (NICE PLUS).

When we got to the room, it was a little damp, but everything else was perfect. The AC struggled to keep the room cool enough, but it worked...The room was clean and it was just what was needed for our one night stay. We did not spend much time in the hotel, but what time we did stay was definitely worth being here.

Would definitely stay here again as it is convenient and pleasant.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,612 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    692
    557
    191
    98
    74
See reviews for
383
525
81
259
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Spent a few nights here in June 2014 and wasn't impressed, but it wasn't a bad place to stay either. Our reservation was messed up or at least we were given a room with two beds when we'd requested one (and it said so in our confirmation). They were able to accommodate us and gave us a different room that had a lot of minor issues. Falling apart to say the least. Stain on the carpet, holes in the wall from an older smoke detector that looks like it was moved, crumpled lamp shades, and a bed without a fitted sheet--just another top sheet sort of folded into the bed. Kinda odd, but nothing was worth complaining about for the amount of time we spent in the room. Bed was comfortable and bathroom mostly ok--just no door on the shower so the bathmat gets drenched every time you take a shower. Strange design. Also, there are only two very small elevators and they charge a $10 /day fee for wireless access which is frustrating when you're already paying a premium for a room in the city.

Overall we had an OK stay for the amount of time we spent in the hotel/our room which was minimal. The best part about it was the doughnuts in the lobby! Glazed and Infused is a must do when staying at the Raffaello. The hotel is close to bus stops and places to go and things to see on the Magnificent Mile. There is also a nice restaurant right across the street (the Local) for when we didn't want to venture too far our in the rain one evening. Location wins out on this one.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

We stayed at the Raffaello hotel with our son & two grandsons in two double rooms for five days.The hotel is spotless , at a very convenient location for shopping & attractions, and the staff is very caring and knowledgable! The rooftop bar has excellent views & drinks! The rooms have a fridg, microwave,& Keurig coffee maker. An excellent choice!

Room Tip: Double rooms are a good size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah B, Guest Relations Manager at Raffaello Hotel, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Raffaello. W are glad you enjoyed your room, Drumbar and our staff. We hope you will return for an even more enjoyable trip and we look forward to seeing you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

The best thing with Hotel Raffaello is probably the central location just beside John Hancock tower. But also the quality of the rooms are great, friendly staff and a nice outdoor and indoor bar at the roof top.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah B, Guest Relations Manager at Raffaello Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad you enjoyed the neighborhood and your accommodations. We hope to have you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wantagh, New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

We chose this hotel because we were on a tight budget and we were able to get a good deal. Look for specials where you pay in advance - if you are 100% sure you will be there - they give a good price, but it is non-refundable. The hotel is in a nice, old brick building that was recently renovated. The staff is nice, but I think they have a communication problem - the housekeeping staff seemed to think we were checking out every day... I don't know what that was about.

You pay for WiFi, except in the lobby. The rooms are well appointed and the beds are comfortable. The pull out sofa bed was not very comfortable, according to my son. Our room had a walk-in shower with one of those rainfall heads. It's ok if you like that sort of thing. I did not like that you had a step up to go into the bathroom and the door did not close properly. Also, there was no vent fan, so the mirrors get fogged when you shower. There is a fridge in the room with lots of over-priced items in it - no better or worse than anywhere else, I suppose. They will serve you breakfast in your room, but be prepared to spend a hefty amount for it. They do not have the option for breakfast elsewhere in the building. There is a cafe on the first floor that sells coffee, juices, and donuts. Not my idea of a healthy breakfast - although I did try a donut one day and it was excellent as a one time treat. There is a gym on the 2nd floor. Three treadmills, an elliptical, some weights. Good basic stuff.

Probably the best part is that it is about a block and a half from Michigan Ave - THE main thoroughfare in the Magnificent Mile neighborhood of Chicago. You have about a 6 block walk to the nearest Red Line subway station; 2 stops from there and you are in "The Loop" and can connect to most of the other "L" lines. There are tons of bus lines in the area - so getting around is really easy. If you have not been to Chicago, do some research on their public transportation system - CTA. Purchase a Ventra Card at Walgreens or one of the stations. A 3-day pass is 20 dollars. Well worth it.

Hey, this was not the Ritz Carlton, but it was a pleasant stay anyway. When returning to Chicago, this hotel will definitely be on my short list to choose from.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah B, Guest Relations Manager at Raffaello Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay at the Raffaello Hotel. We are glad you enjoyed the neighborhood, the amenities, your room and our staff! On the other hand, we are sorry that some of the sleeping arrangements were not as comfortable for your son. We do hope you will return again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Such a great hotel! Very caring staff, the rooftop bar has terrific views of Chicago! Super shopping & restaurants within a block or two. Rooms are all equipped with 'fridge and microwave, Keurig coffee makers, too.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah B, Guest Relations Manager at Raffaello Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at the Raffaello hotel! We hope to have you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

Hotel Rafaello is a beautiful oasis that is extremely well situated near fantastic food, shopping, and walking along the lake. The staff are friendly, helpful, and eager to please. The rooms are very well apportioned, with wonderful amenities. The drum bar is a wonderful bonus at the top of the hotel.I look forward to staying there again soon.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah B, Guest Relations Manager at Raffaello Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay at the Raffaello Hotel. We are so glad you had an enjoyable experience. We are happy to hear that you were satisfied with the area, staff, drumbar and the rooms! We hope to see you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Streeterville
Millennium Knickerbocker Hotel Chicago
Gold Coast
The Whitehall Hotel
The Whitehall Hotel
#82 of 178 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 stars 433 reviews
Streeterville
MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
The Tremont Chicago Hotel at Magnificent Mile
Magnificent Mile
Warwick Allerton Hotel Chicago
Magnificent Mile
The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raffaello Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raffaello Hotel

Address: 201 East Delaware Place, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Streeterville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#52 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#66 Business Hotel in Chicago
#70 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Raffaello Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chicago’s only completely non-smoking 4-star boutique luxury hotel has the best location of any 4-star hotel, just steps away from Michigan Avenue in the heart of the Gold Coast. The famed Magnificent Mile, is just steps from Raffaello Hotel’s front door, as is shopping, theater, nightlife, restaurants, clubs, Navy Pier, Hancock Observatory, museums, zoos, and beaches. Amenities include breakfast room service, massage treatments, manicure and pedicure by Windy City Massage, concierge services, 24-hour business center, PC computer kiosks, 24-hour fitness center, valet parking, valet laundry, mini-bars, microwaves, rain forest showerheads, flat screen LCD TV’s, DVD players, in room safes, luxurious bathrobes, all cotton terry bath towels, 350 thread count sheets overlaying goose down duvets. 18th floor meetings and convention center. Every guest room is non-smoking as are the public areas validating our claim to being Chicago’s only completely non-smoking luxury boutique 4 star hotel, just off Michigan Avenue, the Magnificent Mile. Our newest addition, Drumbar, sits atop the 18th floor. Drumbar is a multi seasonal destination with a speakeasy style inside lounge and outdoor garden terrace. Designed as a drinking establishment to deliver warmth, style, and an energetic spirit of old meets new. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Odigeo, EasyToBook, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Raffaello Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raffaello Hotel Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Raffaello Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.