We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Good Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Raffaello Hotel

Save Saved
You added Raffaello Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Raffaello Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   201 East Delaware Place, Chicago, IL 60611 (Gold Coast)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #78 of 168 hotels in Chicago
Wantagh, New York
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A Good Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

We chose this hotel because we were on a tight budget and we were able to get a good deal. Look for specials where you pay in advance - if you are 100% sure you will be there - they give a good price, but it is non-refundable. The hotel is in a nice, old brick building that was recently renovated. The staff is nice, but I think they have a communication problem - the housekeeping staff seemed to think we were checking out every day... I don't know what that was about.

You pay for WiFi, except in the lobby. The rooms are well appointed and the beds are comfortable. The pull out sofa bed was not very comfortable, according to my son. Our room had a walk-in shower with one of those rainfall heads. It's ok if you like that sort of thing. I did not like that you had a step up to go into the bathroom and the door did not close properly. Also, there was no vent fan, so the mirrors get fogged when you shower. There is a fridge in the room with lots of over-priced items in it - no better or worse than anywhere else, I suppose. They will serve you breakfast in your room, but be prepared to spend a hefty amount for it. They do not have the option for breakfast elsewhere in the building. There is a cafe on the first floor that sells coffee, juices, and donuts. Not my idea of a healthy breakfast - although I did try a donut one day and it was excellent as a one time treat. There is a gym on the 2nd floor. Three treadmills, an elliptical, some weights. Good basic stuff.

Probably the best part is that it is about a block and a half from Michigan Ave - THE main thoroughfare in the Magnificent Mile neighborhood of Chicago. You have about a 6 block walk to the nearest Red Line subway station; 2 stops from there and you are in "The Loop" and can connect to most of the other "L" lines. There are tons of bus lines in the area - so getting around is really easy. If you have not been to Chicago, do some research on their public transportation system - CTA. Purchase a Ventra Card at Walgreens or one of the stations. A 3-day pass is 20 dollars. Well worth it.

Hey, this was not the Ritz Carlton, but it was a pleasant stay anyway. When returning to Chicago, this hotel will definitely be on my short list to choose from.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah B, Guest Relations Manager at Raffaello Hotel, responded to this review, 5 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay at the Raffaello Hotel. We are glad you enjoyed the neighborhood, the amenities, your room and our staff! On the other hand, we are sorry that some of the sleeping arrangements were not as comfortable for your son. We do hope you will return again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

918 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    366
    327
    107
    63
    55
See reviews for
207
295
52
149
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

Such a great hotel! Very caring staff, the rooftop bar has terrific views of Chicago! Super shopping & restaurants within a block or two. Rooms are all equipped with 'fridge and microwave, Keurig coffee makers, too.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah B, Guest Relations Manager at Raffaello Hotel, responded to this review, 5 weeks ago
We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at the Raffaello hotel! We hope to have you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Hotel Rafaello is a beautiful oasis that is extremely well situated near fantastic food, shopping, and walking along the lake. The staff are friendly, helpful, and eager to please. The rooms are very well apportioned, with wonderful amenities. The drum bar is a wonderful bonus at the top of the hotel.I look forward to staying there again soon.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah B, Guest Relations Manager at Raffaello Hotel, responded to this review, 5 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay at the Raffaello Hotel. We are so glad you had an enjoyable experience. We are happy to hear that you were satisfied with the area, staff, drumbar and the rooms! We hope to see you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanwood, Washington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

I had the pleasure of staying at the Raffaello Hotel in Chicago last week. I was traveling on business, and it was nice to stay at a boutique hotel for a change. I found the service and the accommodations to be wonderful! I was upgraded to a suite, which never happens to me, and I was so pleasantly surprised to find that my room was like an apartment. It made my business trip so much more comfortable than my usual routine. I found a little kitchenette (great for keeping and re-heating my left overs), a great floor-plan with a great desk space to work, as well as a comfortable living room area for relaxing after a long day. I also found the bed to be very comfortable and the bathroom was large and had plenty of space for all my "stuff." As one of the other reviewers mentioned, there are only 2 elevators, which are small, but I did not have any problems while staying there. There is a very nice little café with coffee and donuts in the lobby, which I found to be very delicious and very convenient as I could grab a bite and a coffee on my way to work in the morning. I would most definitely stay at the Raffaello Hotel again for business or leisure! It's a great location, near shopping, restaurants, and easy access to the freeways. This was my first stay, but it will not be my last!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah B, Guest Relations Manager at Raffaello Hotel, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your stay with us at the Raffaello. We are thoroughly happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you will be returning! We are glad you liked your accommodations and the location of the hotel. We look forward to having you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft Lauderdale, FL
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Great location just on the northeast side of the John Hancock building and a block from teh water tower on Michigan Avenue. Bar upstairs with roof top seating is also very, very nice and popular. The room and accomodations were nice, large room but everything was tired and not in great shape.

Room Tip: North or west view (even numbered rooms) and higher is best, lower east and south views get to see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah B, Guest Relations Manager at Raffaello Hotel, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed the location of our hotel as well as our bar. However, we are sorry to hear of your impression of the accommodations and look to improve upon these conditions. We do hope that you will return again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Great hotel, right next to John Hancock building and steps away from the Magnificent Mile (Chicago's best shopping street)The little coffee & donut cafe in the lobby is brilliant for a grab and go breakfast.

Our room was gorgeous & the whole place was kept in really great nick! Very little to fault here!

BUT my one gripe was the price of the restaurant! We got room service one night as we had eaten a big meal during the day & just wanted something small (and small it was!!!) I got a caprese salad & my husband got a bowl of penne.....$66!!! Which it was so not worth!

Otherwise, I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a stylish, comfortable place to stay in the AMAZING city of Chicago!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah B, Guest Relations Manager at Raffaello Hotel, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your stay with us at the Raffaello. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the location of the hotel, your room and Go Glazed. On the other hand we are sorry to hear your experience with the restaurant attached to our hotel did not meet your expectations. We do hope you return for another visit so that we may ensure an even more enjoyable visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoples' Republic of Boulder
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

We stayed here when we went to Chicago for the Am. Anthropological Assn. meetings. We had to take a cab to the meetings but the location is very convenient otherwise. Just a block off the upper end of the Magnificent Mile of Michigan Avenue, there is plenty of shopping and eating, plus access to Lake Michigan, the John Hancock building, and the subway to the airport. The room we had was a bit small, but fine, and the beds were good - nothing to complain about. On the 18th floor is a very trendy - and also very loud - nightclub called the DrumBar. It seemed to always be packed by younger locals with music blaring, but they made the best Pisco Sours I've had. The bartender went to great lenghts to get it right - broke a fresh egg, separated the white, shook the dickens out of it, topped it with a circular design of bitters. Expensive, but delicious when taken back in the room.

Room Tip: There is a convenient, small coffee shop off the lobby. Don't miss it and run off to the John...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah B, Guest Relations Manager at Raffaello Hotel, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at the Raffaello, and it's wonderful surrounding area. I am also glad you enjoyed the Pisco Sours at Drumbar, as they are some of my favorite cocktails! We hope you return again soon for another stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Raffaello Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raffaello Hotel

Address: 201 East Delaware Place, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#70 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#70 Family Hotel in Chicago
#81 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Raffaello Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chicago’s only completely non-smoking 4-star boutique luxury hotel has the best location of any 4-star hotel, just steps away from Michigan Avenue in the heart of the Gold Coast. The famed Magnificent Mile, is just steps from Raffaello Hotel’s front door, as is shopping, theater, nightlife, restaurants, clubs, Navy Pier, Hancock Observatory, museums, zoos, and beaches. Amenities include breakfast room service, massage treatments, manicure and pedicure by Windy City Massage, concierge services, 24-hour business center, PC computer kiosks, 24-hour fitness center, valet parking, valet laundry, mini-bars, microwaves, rain forest showerheads, flat screen LCD TV’s, DVD players, in room safes, luxurious bathrobes, all cotton terry bath towels, 350 thread count sheets overlaying goose down duvets. 18th floor meetings and convention center. Every guest room is non-smoking as are the public areas validating our claim to being Chicago’s only completely non-smoking luxury boutique 4 star hotel, just off Michigan Avenue, the Magnificent Mile. Our newest addition, Drumbar, sits atop the 18th floor. Drumbar is a multi seasonal destination with a speakeasy style inside lounge and outdoor garden terrace. Designed as a drinking establishment to deliver warmth, style, and an energetic spirit of old meets new. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Jetsetter, Travelocity, Orbitz, Splendia, Tingo, Venere, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Otel and Agoda so you can book your Raffaello Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raffaello Hotel Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Raffaello Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.