We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed for business reasons” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Raffaello Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Raffaello Hotel to your Saves list
Raffaello Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   201 East Delaware Place, Chicago, IL 60611 (Streeterville)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #73 of 177 Hotels in Chicago
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Stayed for business reasons”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

Decent location got good price thru 3rd party reservation. Was abit concerned of the hotel based upon reviews. But was satisfied. Bathroom is small and not layout properly. Bed was decent and was relatively quiet.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,535 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    654
    529
    184
    97
    71
See reviews for
367
495
78
250
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Potomac, MD
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

I read the Tripadvisor reviews and I was nervous about staying at this hotel. What a pleasant surprise. I called and spoke to Aida a day before I checked in and told her of my concerns. We had a beautiful room. The room was clean, not at all shabby and well appointed. We had a refrigerator and a microwave. I do agree with other reviewers, the shower door does not work well. You are half cold and half hot the entire shower and water does go on the bathroom floor.

Staff is wonderful. Gym is good. I would like to see them get a few exercise balls and some more weight equipment.

Please go wireless for no charge throughout the hotel!!!

I look forward to staying at the Raffaello next year!!

Room Tip: Try to get a room that ends in "02".
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

My husband and I stayed one night at the Raffaello based on a Groupon we purchased. The location of this hotel is great – located right behind the Hancock Tower, one block from Michigan Ave. Our room was located on the 16th floor without a view, the shower needed some maintenance but the room was clean. The bed was comfortable and there was a microwave and mini fridge in the room. Unfortunately during our visit there seemed to be some problem with the heating/AC because our floor was at least 80 degrees during the entire stay. People on our floor had their doors and windows open. We had to sleep with our window open even though it was only 25 degrees out.

A big con was there were only two small elevators that can make coming and going very slow.

Valet was prompt and the front desk staff was very friendly, however, not overly eager to help. When I complained about the temperature of our room – all I got was “oh – ok”. I expected an “I’m sorry or we will look into it” or something more. It didn’t give me great hope they were going to act on my complaint and at that point I was glad we only decided to stay one night.
While the Groupon made it worth the stay, I wasn’t impressed enough to pay the normal $350-$400 for a future stay given the surrounding hotels in the area.

Room Tip: Don’t stay on the 17th floor – we went up there to get ice and you can hear the noise from the 18th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha R, Guest Relations Manager at Raffaello Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
We always appreciate when our guests take the time to share their experience while staying with us, thank you. We are located in a truly fantastic location. Close to all that one might want food, drink, entertainment and shopping. But where our guests can enjoy the peace and quiet of the surroundings as well. I am, however, sorry to hear of your
complications you faced while staying with us. I assure you our entire team is here to make our guests feel comfortable and at home. The problem you faced in your room has been addressed and we hope to see you again to go above and beyond your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrington Hills
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We enjoyed almost every single thing about our stay at the Faffaello Hotel in Chicago.
Car valet was quick every time; the staff were always very friendly & helpful. The room was
wonderfully appointed. The donut shop in the lobby was frosting on the cake. Only downers
were the very small elevators that are slow and the music volumn in their Bar was so loud that shouting was mandatory to get service or have a conversation.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

Room was on 14 th floor. Elevators are very small and take forever to get up and down. Rooms are small for the price. Pics on web page look better than what we saw. Staff was great, slower than normal check in process. Drum bar on 18th floor was very nice and swanky. Didn't care for the North end location. We have stayed all over Chicago and I would give this hotel a 5/10. Our room was Ethiopia hot and I had thermostat turned down to 60 degrees.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurnee, Illinois
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

One of my family member is coming here for the first time and I wanted to take them to a nice hotel that's close to everything. I wanted to book this hotel for this upcoming Monday from all the wonderful reviews, but after I read all the reviews from this year I'm on the fence. Would you guys recommend this place???

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Raffaello a couple of years ago and it was a very nice hotel at that time, however, not so much any more. The room was clean and the staff was always friendly but it really needs some updates. We had a suite and it just felt run down. Paint chipping off of the baseboards, outlet not working for the coffee pot, bathroom grout chipping and stained.

We stayed two nights and we didn't get any coffee the second day and the mini bar fridge that I raided didn't get replenished either. The location is great and the price was right ($120/nt) so that made up for the shortcomings. I would stay again if they made some effort to keep it updated, but there is no shortage of hotels to choose from in this same area. Overall it was still a nice weekend getaway and we weren't really in the hotel that much anyway.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Raffaello Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raffaello Hotel

Address: 201 East Delaware Place, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Streeterville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#51 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#62 Business Hotel in Chicago
#68 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Raffaello Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chicago’s only completely non-smoking 4-star boutique luxury hotel has the best location of any 4-star hotel, just steps away from Michigan Avenue in the heart of the Gold Coast. The famed Magnificent Mile, is just steps from Raffaello Hotel’s front door, as is shopping, theater, nightlife, restaurants, clubs, Navy Pier, Hancock Observatory, museums, zoos, and beaches. Amenities include breakfast room service, massage treatments, manicure and pedicure by Windy City Massage, concierge services, 24-hour business center, PC computer kiosks, 24-hour fitness center, valet parking, valet laundry, mini-bars, microwaves, rain forest showerheads, flat screen LCD TV’s, DVD players, in room safes, luxurious bathrobes, all cotton terry bath towels, 350 thread count sheets overlaying goose down duvets. 18th floor meetings and convention center. Every guest room is non-smoking as are the public areas validating our claim to being Chicago’s only completely non-smoking luxury boutique 4 star hotel, just off Michigan Avenue, the Magnificent Mile. Our newest addition, Drumbar, sits atop the 18th floor. Drumbar is a multi seasonal destination with a speakeasy style inside lounge and outdoor garden terrace. Designed as a drinking establishment to deliver warmth, style, and an energetic spirit of old meets new. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, Splendia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Raffaello Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raffaello Hotel Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Raffaello Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.