We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Once again...outstanding.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Park Hyatt Chicago

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Park Hyatt Chicago to your Saves list
Park Hyatt Chicago
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   800 N Michigan Ave, on Water Tower Square, Chicago, IL 60611 (Magnificent Mile)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Suite Experience
Ranked #7 of 178 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Once again...outstanding.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2009

My third stay at this property and definitely not my last. Computer glitch in booking process was honored (via phone confirmation) prior to my arrival. Upon arrival, they did not have any availability for the type of room stated on my pre-printed confirmation so they upgraded me...to their absolutely amazing and gorgeous Lake Suite, in all of it's 1400 square feet glory. When I walked into the room, I was speechless. The upgrade aside, the staff and service are always unmatched here. The views are stunning, especially those facing east, the property and furnishings beautifully understated without feeling too minimalist. Most likely will be the best stay in any hotel, ever for me. Thank you to the staff at the Park Hyatt for an even more memorable time than my last stay!

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,005 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    769
    177
    38
    14
    7
See reviews for
147
337
62
309
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2009

Location, amenities, and service were all just excellent.
I stay here again and again.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — cost
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
110 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2009

Perhaps the best location in Chicago. Elegant, tasteful, warm and friendly staff. The hotel blends warm wood tones with ultra contemporary and succeeds. The bathroom was luxurious as was the rest of the room. It had been many years since I stayed at this hotel, will always now make it my first choice to check when returning to Chicago.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petoskey, Michigan
Level Contributor
345 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2009

We stayed at the Park Hyatt for Valentine's weekend and were very impressed. We usually stay at the Westin, but found the price at Park Hyatt was very reasonable. Infact, the only thing the Westin had left (we booked on February 11th) was a room with two double beds for roughly the same price. This surprised us as we had tried to stay at the Park Hyatt several times and couldn't book anything under $400/night. The room was wonderful, overlooking the old Water Tower on the 11th floor. There is an enormous soaking tub and separate shower. The hotel is very quiet and the service was impressive. The dining room is spectacular (NoMi), but be prepared to pay dearly. Our dinner cost more than our room for one night! Yikes! But it was worth it. The concierge managed to find us an open table at Zealous, the next night, Valentine's Day. which is a great local restaurant. My husband liked the fitness center and there's free internet access stations off the lobby. We would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrington, IL
Level Contributor
83 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2009

This is a very nice hotel with great service. I stayed here with my family for a weekend getaway. Every staff member we encountered was friendly and helpful. They were very customer service oriented.

We had a room with a view of the Water Tower and Lake Michigan. Terrific view. The room was clean and comfortable. The bathroom was large and the separate walk-in shower was a nice feature.

The gym/workout room was as good as any I've seen in a hotel. It also included free weights which I rarely encounter in hotels. The pool was large and kept at a comfortable temperature. The steam room was also nice.

The location of the hotel can't be beat. It is at the far north end of Michigan Ave. close to Water Tower. It is convenient to shopping and lots of great restaurants.

Finally, my family loved the hot chocolate in the lobby on a cold January day. A nice touch.

I would not hesitate to stay at this hotel again.

Stayed January 2009
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2009

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Park Hyatt Chicago and would certainly return again (in fact, we are in late January). Although the room was not huge, the furnishings were top notch (the bed was amazing) and the bathroom was large and luxurious, with a jumbo bathtub (separated from the bedroom by a sliding door), separate shower and spacious, double vanity with granite countertops. One nice touch was a bowl of apples placed in the room upon arrival (all were eaten) and free bottles of water during turndown. Great for a romantic getaway (our purpose), but we're certain a business person would be equally satisfied. The lobby and public spaces provided an oasis from the busy Michigan Avenue just outside the door. Great location!

  • Liked — Bed, bathroom, furnishings, view, peace and quiet.
  • Disliked — T.V. was on the small side, living area could have been a little larger.
  • Stayed January 2009
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2008

The Park Hyatt Chicago is the best in Chicago. We have stayed at twice at this property and prefer it over the Peninsula. It has a very modern, intimate feel. The location is perfect just off Michigan Avenue and be sure to get a room with a view of Water Tower and the Lake. The staff is great and the restaurant is superb. Having booked through the American Express Fine Hotels Resorts program, the included amenities are fantastic.

Room: We stayed in a Park View King. The room was modern and has a great window seat overlooking Water Tower, Michigan Avenue, and the Lake in the distance. Rooms are nicely furnished and very relaxing.

Restaurant: Food is great, including breakfast and dinner. The Nomi Lounge is also perfect for a smaller meal and excellent wine. The service at the outdoor terrace restaurant (when open) is a bit slow and not up to par with the inside restaurant and lounge.

We will always plan to stay at this great property every time we are in Chicago.

  • Liked — Overall quality and service level
  • Disliked — Valet parking service/staff
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#1 of 178 in Chicago
5.0 of 5 stars 1,134 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Four Seasons Hotel Chicago
Magnificent Mile
The Peninsula Chicago
The Peninsula Chicago
#6 of 178 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 stars 991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Near North Side
Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Water Tower
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hyatt Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hyatt Chicago

Address: 800 N Michigan Ave, on Water Tower Square, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Chicago
#2 Business Hotel in Chicago
#4 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#6 Family Hotel in Chicago
#7 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#10 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Park Hyatt Chicago 5*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Flagship luxury hotel, Park Hyatt in Chicago's best location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Venere, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Agoda, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Jetsetter so you can book your Park Hyatt Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hyatt Chicago Hotel Chicago
Hyatt Chicago
Chicago Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Hyatt Chicago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.