We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“oasis in Downtown Chicago” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Park Hyatt Chicago

Save Saved
You added Park Hyatt Chicago to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Park Hyatt Chicago
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   800 N Michigan Ave, on Water Tower Square, Chicago, IL 60611 (Gold Coast)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Breakfast at the Park
Ranked #7 of 169 Hotels in Chicago
GreenLeadersGold level
Grosse Pointe, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“oasis in Downtown Chicago”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

We stayed here for the first time in June with our family. Primarily based on reviews on Trip Advisor and others we chose this location for its central locale near the Miracle Mile and fantastic reputation. We were not disappointed. From the Valet on arrival to the Front Desk experience the Hotel is polished and professional. My wife and I had a room across from our children- both were spacious with luxurious accommodations and bathrooms. We were on the 7th floor and were not affected by the busy Chicago bustle or sirens. We were not also bothered by other room noise.
The bathrooms were stunning and clean with powerful showers, two sinks and a TV in the bathroom. The Beds were comfortable and conducive to sleep.Housekeeping kept the rooms clean and fresh with fresh ice daily. The rooms also had cool lighting and privacy screens on the windows
We all liked the modern Gym with refreshing water and towels.- all for a great workout.
The lobby also offered free and refreshing amenities - lemonade, water , coffee ,tea and fresh
financier- delicious treats after a day out on the town.
We were located close to Miracle Mile Shopping, Eataly ,Water Tower Place and River North.The concierge even offered us umbrellas to use for the sudden downpour.
We had stayed at the Waldorf Astoria previously, but will definitely consider the Park Hyatt as a first choice for a special Chicago stay.

Room Tip: rooms away from Chicago ave may be quieter
See more room tips
Green Features: energy star lighting,towel reuse organic toiletries
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

749 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    567
    138
    26
    11
    7
See reviews for
106
246
53
228
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boerne, Texas
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

My wife and I stayed here while I traveled on business July 2014. The property is amazing. Staff completely awesome and accomodating. We decided to updrage rooms after seeing our first room with no view of the water with a simple call downstairs. So, we upgraded for $40/night for a view of the Lake. Our room looked directly over the water tower and onto the lake. It had a wonderful view of Michigan Avenue. The room had a bench seat at the large picture window which was perfect for people-watching or just stretching out on.

The room was quite large, nicely appointed as you might expect. Pocket doors open up to allow you to open the wall between the jacuzzi tub and the sleeping area which allows you to look out the picture window or watch TV while in the tub. The bathroom also had a seperate TV over the vanity area. Besides the jacuzzi tub, there was a seperate shower with multiple shower heads, and two lavoratory sinks. A small fridge in a 'bar area' was also nice. We unloaded it of the beverages so we'd have room for our 'doggie bags'...some of the area deep dish pizza makes for great late-night snacks! Housekeeping brings ice to your room during the turn down service. The room was always impeccably made after morning made service as well. Given the price you pay, I would expect it would be Five Star. Bathrobes, slippers, safe, etc., everything you would expect in a high-end hotel. And the location, it's the best! Maybe two blocks or so away from the 'L'---the Red Line 'Chicago' Station, and Holy Name Catholic Cathedral a few steps away too. Of course, Michigan Avenue and the Water Tower right out the door.

If I had one thing to change, I would get more lighting in the lobby area. It just seemed kind of dark, but a trivial comment given the overall experience.

Room Tip: We upgraded for $20/night for a larger corner room which looked onto the Water Tower Square, but it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

We stayed there 4 days. The location is great and the staff is very helpful and friendly. Special thanks to Karen the chief concierge for great advice and help. The hotel is very well soundproofed There was a family with young kids next door and we did not hear them at all through the walls. The bar on the terrace is also quite enjoyable.
Olivier & Veronique

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

I could not decide if this was a high end 4 star or a low end 5 star. I chose the hotel based on location and a special rate available for elite customers. I would have been let down if we paid the full price. We had issues with the shower plumbing but the front desk said they would comp us some extra points. They have a coffee/refreshment area in the library at the lobby level but it was always in need of replenishment. We were loaned a nice umbrella during a rainstorm. The hotel is not conducive to sound sleep due to ambulance traffic and noise from the outdoor bar. The spa was nice and there is an indoor pool. I Would only stay again for a low rate or Hotwire. If you are looking for a true luxe 5 star place I can think of 3 within walking distance. Soap and amenities were average. The room freshness was a drab brown and black and was not my style. The house keepers were very kind and dashed in to clean the room as soon as we left. The basic room light switches also require an electrical engineer to operate efficiently. Sorry I wanted to love this place but in the end had an average experience. Request a room away from the elevators.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

Very prime location. Nicely appointed rooms. Very comfortable. Am a repeat guest. The quality of the linens is excellent and there were plenty of towels and toiletries. Would recommend to any traveler.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

GREAT location, modern sleek vibe, with gorgeous artwork everywhere you turn. This hotel is comfortable, chic, with great service. Did I mention location? Across from the old water tower, and the John Hancock building ( a must) with spectacular views of Lake Michigan. This hotel is right in the middle of everything! Great food, terrific shopping, beautiful city. Don't miss the dinner cruise, the navy pier, the Shedd Aquarium and if course Wrigley field. A quintessential American city. Just fabulous!

Room Tip: Try to get a room on a higher floor, for a view of Lake Michigan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Just finished a fantastic stay at the Park Hyatt Chicago. The staff and service were excellent. The room was comfortable and beautifully furnished. The blackout drapes and comfortable beds are great for getting a good nights rest. Breakfast in the restaurant is delicious and, if you are in a hurry, served very quickly. I was seated and served in 10 minutes. I seldom give 5 star reviews to hotels but this property truly deserves a top rating.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Park Hyatt Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hyatt Chicago

Address: 800 N Michigan Ave, on Water Tower Square, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Chicago
#5 Business Hotel in Chicago
#5 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#6 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#11 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#13 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Park Hyatt Chicago 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Flagship luxury hotel, Park Hyatt in Chicago's best location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Venere, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, Reservation Counter, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Park Hyatt Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hyatt Chicago Hotel Chicago
Hyatt Chicago
Chicago Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Hyatt Chicago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;