We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice for a luxury stay in Chicago” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Park Hyatt Chicago

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Park Hyatt Chicago to your Saves list
Park Hyatt Chicago
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   800 N Michigan Ave, on Water Tower Square, Chicago, IL 60611 (Magnificent Mile)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Suite Experience
Ranked #7 of 177 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Good choice for a luxury stay in Chicago”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We enjoy staying here for staycations and appreciate the hotel's dependable service and attention to detail. Our stays are always memorable, in no small part due to the kind attention and thoughtfulness that Won provides.

The location is excellent and extremely convenient for shopping and dining.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

926 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    704
    167
    35
    13
    7
See reviews for
127
314
61
287
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Peshtigo, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Get the Water Tower Park view room. It is comfortable and it offers a great view of Michigan Avenue and the lake. It has a great restaurant and it is near just about everything, anything else is a short cab ride away. The room is clean, the service is great and the staff very professional. It is moderately priced.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morton, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

This was our first time staying at Park Hyatt. We were pleasantly surprised by the quality of the hotel. Loved the location. Upon check in our room was not ready but hotel staff went out of their way to make sure we were taken care of. Room was extremely comfortable and quiet.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

This hotel is a great location to stay while touring Chicago. It is in the heart of some of the most fun areas to shop and eat. Felt safe when walking to the various areas nearby, and the friendly staff was helpful with suggestions and getting us to where we wanted to go. The lobby had an area to sit and enjoy the complimentary coffee or drinks and some treats in the morning. The restaurant offered a good variety of food during the conference. Got to experience the spa treatment and enjoyed sipping the tea while having a pedicure. The indoor pool looked inviting but did not have time to jump in! The room was spacious and the bathroom was like a spa setting that included a large tub with bath salts to relax in after a busy day of touring. Our room had a great view of the historic water tower that has a beautiful architectural design. The closet was smartly designed so it could be accessed by either in the room or in the bathroom. The room was clean and the design was modern sleek. I would definitely encourage anyone planning a trip to Chicago to reserve their room at the Park Hyatt.

Room Tip: I did hear sirens on the street throughout the night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago and Rome
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Right on the Magnificent Mile with a view of the Water Tower and lake beyond -- that is a location that is hard to beat in Chicago. But what makes this hotel stand out from the crowd is personal service and homey atmosphere. The room off the lobby is truly a living room where it is easy to meet people or simply relax with coffee and the newspaper.

The rooms contain all the amenities one expects of a five-star hotel with the additional comfort of a padded window seat with a view of some of the special things that make Chicago a world class city.

The food is simply outstanding and served in a casual atmosphere both indoors and out. And on the kitchen counter, just like home, are glass jars of sweets made daily and set out in such a way one doesn't feel the need to ask; just like home.

"Homey" may conjure images of faded sofas and casual housekeeping, but there is nothing worn or faded, and the housekeeping would pass the strictest scrutiny. The Park Hyatt brand includes global excellence with the local touches that make a guest feel at home in the city they are visiting.

Room Tip: Select a lake view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Hill, SC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

My wife and I have desired to stay at this hotel forever. Price was the only thing that kept us away. Finally their July 4 promotion allowed us to enjoy the full hotel. For twenty years we have dined at their wonderful NoMi Retaurant every time we visited Chicago. The hotel was worth every dollar. We hope our next visit to Chicago will be here again!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

The very best leisure and business hotel in the United States, in my opinion. The staff of this hotel is the very best overall group of "caring" individuals I have ever encountered under one roof. The rooms are excellent, for sure, but what makes this hotel so very special is the staff. The are gracious, caring and responsive. They have been that way toward me and my family for over 15 years. While I do feel like I get the special treatment when I am at the Park Hyatt Chicago, I am astute enough to realize that everyone that stays there is "special" and receives the same incredible service.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Park Hyatt Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hyatt Chicago

Address: 800 N Michigan Ave, on Water Tower Square, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Chicago
#3 Business Hotel in Chicago
#4 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#7 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#12 Family Hotel in Chicago
#12 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Park Hyatt Chicago 5*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Flagship luxury hotel, Park Hyatt in Chicago's best location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Amex, BookIt.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Park Hyatt Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hyatt Chicago Hotel Chicago
Hyatt Chicago
Chicago Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Hyatt Chicago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.