We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved the Park Hyatt!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Park Hyatt Chicago

Save Saved
You added Park Hyatt Chicago to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Park Hyatt Chicago
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   800 N Michigan Ave, on Water Tower Square, Chicago, IL 60611 (Gold Coast)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Breakfast at the Park
Ranked #10 of 168 hotels in Chicago
GreenLeadersGold level
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“We loved the Park Hyatt!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We had such a wonderful stay! Every staff member was so kind and courteous, we really felt special. Our room was on the 14th floor and had a great view of the lake and Michigan Avenue. Our room was very clean and spacious and the bed was very comfortable. My favorite feature in our room was the big window seat that overlooked the Water Tower and Michigan Avenue, I wanted to sit there all day. We had lunch at NoMI and asked for a table by the window, but they were all taken, so we were seated at another table, which was totally fine. After about two minutes a staff member came to our table and said they had just cleared a table by the window, and would we like that table instead...how nice! We had great service and a great view. The hotel pool was also very nice. Another nice touch was the complimentary apple cider, coffee, and tea in the lobby. The location is perfect, and we can't wait to come back for another stay. Thank you Park Hyatt for the best service. :)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter R, General Manager at Park Hyatt Chicago, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Dear Laura,
Thank you for choosing the Park Hyatt Chicago and posting your review on Trip Advisor. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed the views from your room, our service and your experience at NoMI. We look forward to welcoming you back during your next visit to Chicago!

Warm regards,
Peter Roth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

678 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    512
    124
    25
    11
    6
See reviews for
90
221
52
210
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Trenton, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

There are a lot of excellent hotels in downtown Chicago. However, the customer service at the Park Hyatt makes this hotel exceptional. The hotel itself is very unassuming from the outside. But when you enter the hotel, you are inpressed. The staff could not do enough to accommodate me. The rooms are above average and the hotel restaurnat was fine. It is the excellent customer service which makes this hotel special.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

OK. How about a very helpful and friendly staff staff, a surprisingly good exercise facility for a hotel and an excellent bar with a killer view for a late night drink.

Located just off Michigan Ave. at the old waterworks, this is a terrific hotel. The staff are uniformly friendly and helpful, and the rooms are just great. The furnishings are modern in style and are really comfortable. East side rooms have a distant view of the harbor. There is a nice rooftop deck for outdoor relaxing
.
This will be our go-to hotel in Chicago.

Room Tip: For a distantg view of the harbor and a good place to watch the sunset, get an east side room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter R, General Manager at Park Hyatt Chicago, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Park Hyatt Chicago and posting your feedback. I am delighted that you were able to take advantage of NoMI Lounge and our fitness facilities during your stay. I am happy that you found comfort in your room and our location convenient.
We hope for the opportunity to welcome you back again very soon!

Regards,
Peter Roth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, Massachusetts
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Being welcomed by the staff, from the curb through the check-in, to a beautiful hotel in the heart of the Miracle Mile section of Chicago made our 3 day stay delightful. The concierge was extremely helpful with direction, restaurant suggestions and tour ideas. The rooms are luxurious, beautifully decorated an very comfortable. The pool is a pleasure for swimming or aqua-exercising. I highly recommend the Park Hyatt.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter R, General Manager at Park Hyatt Chicago, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Dear Nancy,
Thank you for posting your kind remarks about your experience at the Park Hyatt Chicago on Trip Advisor. I am very glad that you found our team polite and friendly, they are a tremendous staff and are appreciative of your compliments. I am very happy that you enjoyed the pool as well.
We look forward to welcoming you back during your next visit!

Regards,
Peter Roth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate New York
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Great location and very nice staff. Room layout is great and when I asked the front desk for a coffee maker they brought one up.

I really enjoyed our stay but...my wife and I kept shaking our heads.

1. We were on the 12th floor overlooking the lake....you can hear every fire engine or police siren...drove us a little nuts and woke us up!

2. Request a coffee maker- unless you want to walk down to the lobby each morning...this is a little unreal...for what you will pay a coffee maker with good coffee is a given at a 4 star hotel.

3. We were "napping" during the days...but the house keeping would knock on our door at different times...ignoring the do not disturb sign..to ask for turn down service or fresh towels.

Would I go back? Sure....but request a much higher floor and make sure house keeping understood what the do not disturb sign means.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

The location is amazing. In the hearth of magnificent mile on Michigan Ave. with restaurants and shops all around. Within walking distance from Lake Michigan and Oak Street Beach Ask for upper level with east or northeast view. The view of magnificent mile and the lake is to remember for long time.

Room Tip: East view or north view is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter R, General Manager at Park Hyatt Chicago, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Park Hyatt Chicago and posting the review of your stay on Trip Advisor. I am so glad that you enjoyed our location and stunning views of Lake Michigan.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Warm regards,
Peter Roth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Wife and I stayed at the Hyatt in July 2013. The hotel is wonderful with very helpful and polite staff. The tub is awesome. Kettle cookie was an insanely good room service treat. We would stay at this hotel again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Park Hyatt Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hyatt Chicago

Address: 800 N Michigan Ave, on Water Tower Square, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Chicago
#7 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#7 Business Hotel in Chicago
#9 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#12 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#17 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Park Hyatt Chicago 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Flagship luxury hotel, Park Hyatt in Chicago's best location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Park Hyatt Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hyatt Chicago Hotel Chicago
Hyatt Chicago
Chicago Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Hyatt Chicago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.