We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best stay in Chicago” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Park Hyatt Chicago

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Park Hyatt Chicago to your Saves list
Park Hyatt Chicago
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   800 N Michigan Ave, on Water Tower Square, Chicago, IL 60611 (Gold Coast)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Breakfast at the Park
Ranked #8 of 171 Hotels in Chicago
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best stay in Chicago”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We stayed here a year ago but I hope to return soon! Every hotel I have stayed in since I compare to my stay at this one. Let's just say I think I will be comparing for a while. The stay was amazing! The staff was very helpful especially allowing us to check in early. The view from our room was incredible to wake up to and see at night. Great location with lovely layout to the room for a romantic and comfortable stay. Wish we would have been able to check on NOMI but had already made other dining plans. Hope to return!

Room Tip: Request a room facing the water tower for a unique view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

773 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    584
    142
    29
    11
    7
See reviews for
107
256
54
237
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chagrin Falls, Ohio, USA
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Staff was friendly. Service was exceptional. Location was perfect. Awesome value considering it is a five star in the heart of the city. Room was perfectly clean with all the amenities. We will be back.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

I have only glowing things to say about this amazing hotel. I have traveled to Chicago for business numerous times and stayed in various hotels. I have never had a better hotel experience than this one. I had planned a 2-day trip to Chicago for my husband's birthday, but was a little concerned about us bringing our 3 children, ages 3 and under. I called the hotel ahead of time to request the needed crib and asked if they had an infant tub. The concierge didn't think they had any infant bathtubs, but the woman I spoke with stated that she would put the request in the notes. I'd also requested car service to the concert my husband and I were attending (a very nice amenity). The phone call was a pleasant one and made me look forward even more to our arrival.

When we arrived, we were greeted with warm smiles and helpful hands as we unloaded all the things from our minivan that go along with having 3 small children. The lobby was beautiful and the woman at the front desk greeted us with a cheerful "happy birthday!" for my husband. She asked our newspaper preference and told us about the pantry in the lobby with coffee/tea in the mornings and hot apple cider in the afternoons. We immediately went over and got some delicious apple cider and bite-sized muffins that the kids adored. Everyone was friendly with our children, which we appreciated.

Our room was a beautiful lakeview room with the most amazing view of the lake and the water tower. It was spacious, clean, and comparable (if not better) than other five star hotels where we've stayed. The pack n play had already been set up, and the infant bathtub was in the bathroom with towels and a box of baby toiletries. Nice touch. After settling in, we heard a knock at the door and champagne was brought in for my husband's birthday. This is the kind of treatment that will bring me back to this hotel again and again in the future. The car (BMW) was waiting for us at the scheduled time and our driver was so nice.

The kids thoroughly enjoyed swimming in the pool, loved the comfy pillows on the bed, and got a kick out of the view from our room. The beds were so luxurious I didn't want to get up in the morning. Although we didn't try NoMI this time, I had been before and adored it. The location of the hotel is in the middle of everything, as other reviewers have noted, with any shops/restaurants you'd want within walking distance. I was especially delighted to see my absolute favorite clothing store directly across the street (Anthropologie).

I look forward to our next trip to Chicago and will definitely be staying at the Park Hyatt.

Room Tip: The view from the water tower/lakeview rooms is spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter R, General Manager at Park Hyatt Chicago, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Park Hyatt Chicago and sharing your review. I am thrilled that you and your family had such a wonderful time during your stay. I am glad you were able to take advantage of the pool, car service and our complimentary goodies in the library! I hope that your husband had a memorable birthday. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Regards,
Peter Roth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We had a stay recently at the Park Hyatt in Chicago located in the Magnificent Mile. The staff was great! The front desk lady who checked us in was very personable and chatting with us about our plans during our stay (in a genuine manner not the fake chatty feel). Then she went in the back room to get our 5 year old a nice little welcome bag with a rubber ducky and binoculars, He loved it! The Front door team were polite and even called inside ahead of time as we unloading from our car service to the front desk so they knew who we were when we came inside to check in. It was the numerous little things like that made this hotel such a joy to stay at.

Our room was great and is worth paying for the Park view or water tower side (same thing.) We were on the fourth floor and loved it. We asked for a few things from the front desk like a roll away for our son, and a fan to make a little noise at night to sleep easier. They happily accommodated us without issue and responded within a few minutes bringing the items to our room.

Finally on our last day we had a late flight out and we asked for a late checkout, asked for them to hold our bags because we wanted to squeeze in one more tourist trap before our departure (They did not charge us for any of the things we asked for). They happily accommodated us again and as we were leaving to go down to the attraction the front desk lady (same one that checked us in) informed us that it might rain that afternoon and that she would get us an umbrella for our excursion. We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone headed to Chicago for a visit!

The location was phenomenal! We could easily walk the entire Magnificent Mile. catching a cab, train, or bus is ultra easy too. The room was clean large and had a great bench seat built into the large window which our son loved! Very comfy bed and nice two head shower.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the Water Tower side and maybe a few floors up (above the fourth floor). We were on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter R, General Manager at Park Hyatt Chicago, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Thank you for staying at the Park Hyatt Chicago and sharing your review. I appreciate your comments about our staff, I am glad that you that found them friendly and helpful. I am also very pleased that you enjoyed your view and found the room well-appointed. We hope to see you again on your next visit to Chicago!

Sincerely,
Peter Roth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McGregor, South Africa
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

I wish I could be more enthusiastic about this hotel but particularly compared to other Park Hyatts, this was a disappointment, even compared to the Hyatt Place River North it was a let down. OK, a great location, if you want to shop and the lake view rooms have good views and lovely beds, towels and toiletries but service was not what I have experienced at Park Hyatts in other parts of the world. The food in NoMI was very good, but on my first visit service was poor, however to the hotel's credit, after a complaint, they responded very positively and subsequent visits (with Joey as a server) were excellent. Would I choose to stay again? Unfortunately no.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

What a beautiful hotel and what a location!! It is right in the middle of the Magnificent Mile and across from the Water Tower. 

We were upgraded to a spacious and beautifully appointed room facing the Water Tower. The bathroom was pure luxury and the Neroli line from Le Labo for the personal amenities was just heavenly. The free in-room WiFi access was a definite plus too. 

The shops at Water Tower are minutes away, as well as plenty of dining options; Nordstrom Rack is right opposite the hotel.

Very happy with our choice.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter R, General Manager at Park Hyatt Chicago, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Park Hyatt Chicago and posting your feedback about your experience. I am so glad that you enjoyed our amenities and found our location convenient. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Very best,
Peter Roth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

I stayed here a few weeks ago for just one night and had an outstanding stay. I booked through AMEX FHR and got a nice dining credit and free breakfast. Jennifer at the concierge cannot be beat! Now my only problem is trying to get stay credit from Hyatt!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Park Hyatt Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hyatt Chicago

Address: 800 N Michigan Ave, on Water Tower Square, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Chicago
#5 Business Hotel in Chicago
#6 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#7 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#14 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#15 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Park Hyatt Chicago 5*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Flagship luxury hotel, Park Hyatt in Chicago's best location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Amex, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Park Hyatt Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hyatt Chicago Hotel Chicago
Hyatt Chicago
Chicago Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Hyatt Chicago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.