We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Staff and Great View” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Park Hyatt Chicago

Save Saved
You added Park Hyatt Chicago to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Park Hyatt Chicago
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   800 N Michigan Ave, on Water Tower Square, Chicago, IL 60611 (Gold Coast)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Breakfast at the Park
Ranked #11 of 168 hotels in Chicago
GreenLeadersGold level
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Outstanding Staff and Great View”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed on the 10th floor of the Park Hyatt for a long weekend of business meetings mixed with some pleasure. Although our hotel room was somewhat small, the bathroom was nothing short of grand. The hotel had the most deepest marble soaking tub I've ever seen complete wiht lux bath products and even candles. It was the most luxurious, relaxing bath I've ever had! We loved the area surrounding the hotel which included nice shopping and restaurants. We had a few hiccups with room service, but the rooom service manager, Pam Ireland, invited us to the high end hotel restaurant NoMi for complimentary breakfast. The breakfast was outstanding, and the food was truly a labor of love for Pam and her staff. Fresh eggs, Neuske bacon, and the best waffle my husband has ever had! Our served Luiz could't have been kinder. The Park Hyatt has a rooftop cocktail bar with amamzing views and unique handmade cocktails which was a great way to end our night. Our room had a great view and a very comfy bed, so I shall be sad to check out later today. If you're ever in Chicago, the Park Hyatt is truly a hotel experience not to be missed. From the time I slipped into the hotel's Frette robe until the time we checked out after breakfast, the entire time at the hotel was outstanding. I highly recommend this place!

Room Tip: The higher floors have the best city views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter R, General Manager at Park Hyatt Chicago, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Julie,
Thank you for choosing the Park Hyatt Chicago for your recent trip Chicago. I am happy to hear that our location suited you well. I apologize for any incidents with room service but I am glad that Pam helped to resolve any issues. We greatly appreciate this honest feedback as we always look for ways to improve guest experience.
We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Regards,
Peter Roth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

669 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    504
    124
    24
    11
    6
See reviews for
88
219
52
206
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York, United States
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

This property is impressive, with imposing lobby, large and comfortable rooms, well-equipped bathrooms, large showers, and good quality amenities. The outdoors bar on the 7th floor is attractive and has the right vibe. The gym and lap pool are all you need to stay in shape. The staff is helpful. I needed a iPhone charger and quickly got one. My only complaint was that my room 302 was lovely with a great terrace, but noisy. I could hear every siren and other traffic noise. Overall my experience was excellent. I will return because the hotel and the location are excellent. As I have said in other reviews, I have recently turned into a Hyatt fan. This hotel gives me plenty of reason to stay loyal!

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter R, General Manager at Park Hyatt Chicago, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Laura,
Thank you for your continued loyalty and support of the Hyatt brand. It is a pleasure to know that we are able to deliver the high level of service that you expect. I am very sorry for any inconvenience that the traffic noise may have caused you during your stay.
We appreciate you taking time to review the hotel on Trip Advisor and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Park Hyatt Chicago!

Sincerely,
Peter Roth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I stayed here for my birthday (worth the trip from the north suburbs)...Excellent location right on the Mag Mile, across the street (well, almost) from Water Tower Place. The view from our 10th floor room across Michigan Ave to the lake was wonderful, both day and night! Large soaking tub, Eames-style lounge chair - very relaxing. My only gripe was parking - $54!!!!

Room Tip: Request a higher floor (to avoid street noise) facing the lake (East).
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Park Hyatt Chicago a quality property with all the amenities. The hotel design is contemporary but rich in beautiful details and materials. It's location is central and great for restaurants and shopping. The rooms are comfortable and the suites are large well appointed. Rooms have great views of the lake and city.

The hotel has a good fitness area with swimming pool, and steam. The lounge area is very comfortable for a drink, meeting, snacks. The restaurant NOMI is excellent for lunch and dinner. The outdoor garden area is great in the summer months.

It is a great business hotel, comfortable leisure property and romantic for a weekend getaway.

Room Tip: High floor for the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walter B, General Manager at Park Hyatt Chicago, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
David,
Thank you so much for choosing the Park Hyatt Chicago during your trip to the Windy City. I am truly delighted to read that you enjoyed the hotel’s location, views and design. I am also happy to hear that you were able to take advantage of our fitness facilities and NoMI Garden. We truly value your patronage and will look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Sincerely,
Walter Brindell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
syracuse ny
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

just an excellent hotel. Clean, and stylish. Staff is eager to please. Bar is comfortable for drinks or food. Only downside is erratic wireless connection in my room. Overall, a great hotal in a great location, that doesn't feel like a big chain hotel. ther for a business mtg and room set up and food selection was excellent.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

We went there for my 49th birthday and OMG!!! We had the greatest time. The food is outstanding, the spa made me feel like a queen and the room was great! The location is in a good spot and there are carriages right next to the hotel. Ww plan to go back.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walter B, General Manager at Park Hyatt Chicago, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Deborah,
Thank you for choosing to stay The Park Hyatt Chicago and taking the time to post your kind review. We are so pleased to hear that we helped make your birthday one to remember. Your comments on our hospitality are much appreciated! We hope to welcome you back very soon!
Regards,
Walter Brindell,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Three nights at this Magnificent Mile Hotel changed my previous lukewarm memories of neighboring properties. The location is excellent between the historic water tower and Giordano's pizza! Rooms are modern contemporary in style and the beds are very comfortable. The hotel restaurant and patio has terrific food and cocktails. I can attest to it being a happening spot as my room (815) was directly above the seventh floor patio, and I could easily hear the chatter and music until midnight each night. Since I was attending business meetings which started with breakfast at 6:30 am each morning, this room was very loud. The catering was surprisingly good... no rubber chicken meals at any event dinner I attended! Will stay again but specify my needs for a quiet room at check-in if traveling for business.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walter B, General Manager at Park Hyatt Chicago, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Park Hyatt Chicago and taking the time to send your feedback about your recent stay. I apologize for any inconvenience that the noise from NoMI Garden may have caused you but I am pleased that you enjoyed your overall experience with us. We hope to welcome you back again very soon.

Sincerely,
Walter Brindell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Park Hyatt Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hyatt Chicago

Address: 800 N Michigan Ave, on Water Tower Square, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Chicago
#7 Business Hotel in Chicago
#7 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#10 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#13 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#21 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Park Hyatt Chicago 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Flagship luxury hotel, Park Hyatt in Chicago's best location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Amex, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Park Hyatt Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hyatt Chicago Hotel Chicago
Hyatt Chicago
Chicago Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Hyatt Chicago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.