We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The whole package, room choice matters” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Park Hyatt Chicago

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Park Hyatt Chicago to your Saves list
Park Hyatt Chicago
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   800 N Michigan Ave, on Water Tower Square, Chicago, IL 60611 (Near North Side)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Breakfast at the Park
Ranked #9 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
GreenLeadersGold level
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“The whole package, room choice matters”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Three nights at this Magnificent Mile Hotel changed my previous lukewarm memories of neighboring properties. The location is excellent between the historic water tower and Giordano's pizza! Rooms are modern contemporary in style and the beds are very comfortable. The hotel restaurant and patio has terrific food and cocktails. I can attest to it being a happening spot as my room (815) was directly above the seventh floor patio, and I could easily hear the chatter and music until midnight each night. Since I was attending business meetings which started with breakfast at 6:30 am each morning, this room was very loud. The catering was surprisingly good... no rubber chicken meals at any event dinner I attended! Will stay again but specify my needs for a quiet room at check-in if traveling for business.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walter B, General Manager at Park Hyatt Chicago, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Park Hyatt Chicago and taking the time to send your feedback about your recent stay. I apologize for any inconvenience that the noise from NoMI Garden may have caused you but I am pleased that you enjoyed your overall experience with us. We hope to welcome you back again very soon.

Sincerely,
Walter Brindell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

826 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    624
    152
    31
    12
    7
See reviews for
114
272
58
253
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
WASHINGTON
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

The design of the room was just lovely, and everything was spotless. I liked the window seat. There's a lot of gadgetry--switches for the shades, etc., so I got my daughter to operate things when wanted. I prefer a firmer bed and this was painfully soft and I barely slept for three nights. The bathroom was huge and the water had good pressure even a dozen floors up, but when I put my head under the showerhead I was blinded by the spotlight overhead. The doormen were fast and almost always had the door open before we got to it, and the location is great and makes walking the best option for touring but I got there by subway from O'Hare in under an hour.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

I feel like the Hyatt name in the United States is synonymous with the true "chain hotel" experience, but when you stay at a Park Hyatt you realize that there is nothing cliche about these hotels. They are unique, modern, fresh and remarkably clean. They are consistently the #1 hotels in Asia, but in the states we haven't come to fully appreciate just how incredible these hotels are. I stayed at the Park Hyatt Chicago for 3 nights, in a corner room with a panoramic view. The view was breathtaking. A part of their service is to be able to ask for a hypoallergenic room that has been completely deep cleaned prior to your arrival, I have never stayed in a hotel room that I felt so confident in its cleanliness that I liberally walked barefoot on the carpet, it was so liberating! Upon checking into the hotel the staff told me about their fabulous Bottega Venetta suite, I almost splurged, but the price point for one person was just too much! but being able to lounge on Bottega Venetta leather upholstery while ordering room service would have been a dream come true! Well, even though I never made it into that suite, I did order from their room service menu, and it was beyond all expectations. They have something for everyone, fabulous juices, incredible burgers from their restaurant Nomi, and a too die for breakfast. Don't miss this hotel in Chicago, and don't fall for the more traditional hotels in the same area that boast the same rating, this hotels will give you more of what you expect from a 5 star property.

Room Tip: Pick a corner room for a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walter B, General Manager at Park Hyatt Chicago, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Lynsey,
Thank you for choosing The Park Hyatt Chicago. I thank you for the positive comments on cleanliness and comfort of your room. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed the views as well as our In Room Dining menu! We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Chicago!
Regards,
Walter Brindell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ohio
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

This hotel has been designed for the customer. It is unique in that the design of the rooms is innovative and yet thoughtful. Like a previous reviewer, I had a room (15th Floor) that looked right out to the lake. The bed is extremely comfortable and everything is very clean.. I had several meals and they were all delicious with excellent pastries, and very fresh fruit. I especially like the fact that the staff never appeared to wait for - or expect - a tip. In fact, they seemed to make sure that they left your side before you could even think about it. The rooms were especially well designed in that the closet opens from the hallway and also the bathroom. There are doors on the side of the large soaking tub (the shower is in its own stall) and opens up into the bedroom. The blinds are all electric and the desk is very useable with a very comfortable modern leather chair and footstool also in the room. Robes, slippers, toothbrush and paste are all available if needed with a room safe. I encourage you to enjoy this hotel. I hope that I can return to enjoy the hotel and try the spa!

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the lake!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

This is our second visit and we love this place just as much as the first time we stayed a few years ago. The views from the big picture windows overlooking the lake and Michigan Ave are just gorgeous. A nice window seat allows you to perch and people watch. The bed is super comfortable with a gorgeous bathroom that optionally opens into the bedroom with double doors over the bathtub that sits between the two. The staff is exceptionally polite and helpful, courteous, and professional. It is an oasis right in the middle of the magnificent mile. Can't recommend highly enough.

Room Tip: Worth the extra price for a room overlooking the lake & Michigan Ave. The rooms at the far end...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walter B, General Manager at Park Hyatt Chicago, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Park Hyatt Chicago and sharing the review of your recent stay on Trip Advisor. I am very glad that you enjoyed your room and the incredible views of Michigan Avenue. We hope to see you again the next time you visit Chicago!

Regards,
Walter Brindell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Nice Place - good service - gorgeous style.
I have been at this hotel during winter and also in spring.
It was so confortable! such a good location. Nice view of the lake.
Michigan Ave at one step.

Rooms have a good size. The restaurant is fantastic and it has a very good art work at the lobby and everywhere.

Room Tip: Looking to the Lake!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walter B, General Manager at Park Hyatt Chicago, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Park Hyatt Chicago and taking the time to send your feedback about your stay. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your experience and our decor. We hope to welcome you back again very soon!

Sincerely,
Walter Brindell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turku
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Park Hyatt is top class hotel. It has exlent rooms. The location is perfect yuo can walk almost anywher. They hava also wonderfull restaurant and bar there. The staff is good. I really don´t have anything bad to say!

Room Tip: ask the lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Park Hyatt Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hyatt Chicago

Address: 800 N Michigan Ave, on Water Tower Square, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Chicago
#6 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#6 Business Hotel in Chicago
#9 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#14 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#15 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Park Hyatt Chicago 5*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Flagship luxury hotel, Park Hyatt in Chicago's best location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Park Hyatt Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hyatt Chicago Hotel Chicago
Hyatt Chicago
Chicago Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Hyatt Chicago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.