We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Park Hyatt Chicago

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Park Hyatt Chicago to your Saves list
Park Hyatt Chicago
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   800 N Michigan Ave, on Water Tower Square, Chicago, IL 60611 (Magnificent Mile)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Suite Experience
Ranked #7 of 177 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Memorable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We checked in The Park Hyatt with Michigan Avenue Water Tower view! Unbelievable customer services from the Valet to Check out! Flawless delivery of services. We ate at Nomi which was top notch! This was our engagement night. Thank you Park Hyatt for the memories!

Stayed in the Park Hyatt for our Anniversary. Again, they consistently delivered. You cannot go wrong with hotel. By far the most warmth hospitality, compared to the Ritz or Five Seasons which tend to be so snobbish.

Room Tip: Definitely utilize their concierge services and valet parking. Trust me... you will have nothing to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

927 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    704
    167
    36
    13
    7
See reviews for
127
314
61
288
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

Truly magnificent! I am finally writing a review after staying here countless times! If you have to be in Chicago, staying here is a must! Without even considering how convenient it is to everything on the magnificent mile and downtown, I would still say this has to be one of the best places to stay! Service is spectacular and rooms are immaculate. Look no further for luxury and comfort.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne O, General Manager at Park Hyatt Chicago, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your continued loyalty and support. We are so pleased that you were happy with our service and look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Sincerely,
Walter Brindell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Stayed their for an overnight flight connection and everything about the experience was excellent form check in to check out, the staff is attentive and well trained and versed on customer service. Definitely recommend it to upscale travelers.

Room Tip: The upgrade I received provided a room facing the water tower and lake michigan....definitely the de...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atherton, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We stayed at the Park Hyatt for a quick two night trip from the Bay Area. My husband had a business. We typically stay at The Peninsula (have stayed at the Waldorf Astoria as well), but we thought my accompanying him on this trip would be nice since the next night was Valentine's Day. The curb service is on top of arrivals and departures. The lobby is contemporary and very nicely done.
Other Pros are the room was very nice, so you do walk in first thing and have a very good impression. We had a lake view which made for a pretty view. The bed is definitely good quality and very comfortable. The 9th floor will allow some traffic noise that was tolerable and I'm sensitive to this issue. The big bath tub that can accommodate two has double sliding doors that open into the bedroom to create a very spacious feel and access the lake view. The location is perfect for downtown shopping and good restaurants.
Cons - if you are traveling with someone the doors of the closet and bathroom and drawers are awkward and somewhat of an annoyance. If drawers are open, the closet door has to be open and blocks passage to the closet, bathroom or door for the other guest. If you are showering and the bathroom door is open, you will bang it soundly against the shower which is pretty jarring. The doors open onto each other. When accessing drawers, closets, or taking a showers, you need to be mindful or you will experience the clashing of doors and block the other guest from access.
This is livable. We just found it odd to design the room that way. I'd stay here again for the economic value. Beautiful hotel, terrific Concierge (made hair appt for me quickly), front desk works efficiently. Friendly staff. Like I said pretty room. It's about $100 less than The Peninsula which remains our favorite. For quick trip mixing business with pleasure, it's a great value.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

I recently stayed at the Park Hyatt Chicago. Even if i had been to his restaurant Nomi in the past it was my first stay on property. The staff was very welcoming and helpful with my luggage and boxes. I got an upgrade to a lake view room and it was nice to wake up in the morning overlooking the lake (i was on the 13th floor). When lot of hotels are still charging for internet, Park Hyatt offer it on complimentary basis to his clients, I absolutely love it.

the location remain for me one of the key of the hotel, you are right in the middle of everything.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Our schedule worked out so we happened to arrive at the hotel early, around 9:00 am. We hadn't asked for early check-in, so expected the desk staff would hold our bags and tell us to get lost for a while. Instead, we were quickly sent to a beautiful room with an amazing view. From that point on, every moment at the Park Hyatt was just terrific. Service of every kind was impeccable and quick. The desk people were welcoming and friendly; every bellman or room service waiter was knowledgeable and apparently anxious to help; even the doorman went out of his way to enthusiastically recommend restaurants and give us detailed directions. The rooms are sleek and beautiful, and, if a bit on the small side, shrewdly laid out so every square inch counts. The extra long window seat, piled with pillows, makes for lovely spot to sip a glass of wine and watch Chicago go by. Be sure to ask for a room on the lake/water tower side, and make sure it's high enough to clear nearby buildings if you want a view of the lake. The hotel is so well located, you can easily walk to shopping/Millennium Park/Art Institute/restaurants. A wonderful hotel staffed by warmhearted professionals.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne O, General Manager at Park Hyatt Chicago, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Park Hyatt Chicago and taking the time to send your feedback about your recent stay. I truly appreciate your kind remarks about our team and am glad to know that they met your needs. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your room and view. We look forward to welcoming you back again and hope to exceed your expectations once again.

Sincerely,
Walter Brindell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, OH
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We are in a lovely room with a window seat and a very firm, comfortable king bed. The room has great lightling, including two bedside lamps that turn off quietly. There are both sheer and darkening blinds which raise and lower remotely. The bathroom had twin sinks and a wonderful showerhead. The only downside is that the closet is a little small if one wanted to hang up a weeks worth of clothing for 2 people. The hotel provides complimentary water in the room and coffee and tea on the first floor. The fitness center is great----many cardio machines, strength machines, free weights, mats and medicine balls. It's also cooled to a nice temperature. There is pool that is a couple lap lanes and long enough to really swim.

The restaurant has a nice view, but is really expensive. Around the corner is an Einstein's bagels and a tea shop, both of which are a less elegant but more moderate way to have breakfast. However, it depends on what you want. The hotel is across from Water Tower place and also close to bus and metro stops. There is valet parking---

I paid for this with airline points and I don't know what it costs in dollars and so whether it's worth it. Of course, that depends on what you want. There's no doubt, it is much nicer than a Hampton Inn and many others.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Park Hyatt Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hyatt Chicago

Address: 800 N Michigan Ave, on Water Tower Square, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Chicago
#3 Business Hotel in Chicago
#4 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#7 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#11 Family Hotel in Chicago
#12 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Park Hyatt Chicago 5*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Flagship luxury hotel, Park Hyatt in Chicago's best location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Amex, BookIt.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Park Hyatt Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hyatt Chicago Hotel Chicago
Hyatt Chicago
Chicago Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Hyatt Chicago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.