We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This staff has it "down"!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Park Hyatt Chicago

Save Saved
You added Park Hyatt Chicago to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Park Hyatt Chicago
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   800 N Michigan Ave, on Water Tower Square, Chicago, IL 60611 (Gold Coast)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Breakfast at the Park
Ranked #10 of 168 hotels in Chicago
GreenLeadersGold level
Montreal
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“This staff has it "down"!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Stayed their for an overnight flight connection and everything about the experience was excellent form check in to check out, the staff is attentive and well trained and versed on customer service. Definitely recommend it to upscale travelers.

Room Tip: The upgrade I received provided a room facing the water tower and lake michigan....definitely the de...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

681 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    513
    126
    25
    11
    6
See reviews for
90
222
52
212
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atherton, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We stayed at the Park Hyatt for a quick two night trip from the Bay Area. My husband had a business. We typically stay at The Peninsula (have stayed at the Waldorf Astoria as well), but we thought my accompanying him on this trip would be nice since the next night was Valentine's Day. The curb service is on top of arrivals and departures. The lobby is contemporary and very nicely done.
Other Pros are the room was very nice, so you do walk in first thing and have a very good impression. We had a lake view which made for a pretty view. The bed is definitely good quality and very comfortable. The 9th floor will allow some traffic noise that was tolerable and I'm sensitive to this issue. The big bath tub that can accommodate two has double sliding doors that open into the bedroom to create a very spacious feel and access the lake view. The location is perfect for downtown shopping and good restaurants.
Cons - if you are traveling with someone the doors of the closet and bathroom and drawers are awkward and somewhat of an annoyance. If drawers are open, the closet door has to be open and blocks passage to the closet, bathroom or door for the other guest. If you are showering and the bathroom door is open, you will bang it soundly against the shower which is pretty jarring. The doors open onto each other. When accessing drawers, closets, or taking a showers, you need to be mindful or you will experience the clashing of doors and block the other guest from access.
This is livable. We just found it odd to design the room that way. I'd stay here again for the economic value. Beautiful hotel, terrific Concierge (made hair appt for me quickly), front desk works efficiently. Friendly staff. Like I said pretty room. It's about $100 less than The Peninsula which remains our favorite. For quick trip mixing business with pleasure, it's a great value.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

I recently stayed at the Park Hyatt Chicago. Even if i had been to his restaurant Nomi in the past it was my first stay on property. The staff was very welcoming and helpful with my luggage and boxes. I got an upgrade to a lake view room and it was nice to wake up in the morning overlooking the lake (i was on the 13th floor). When lot of hotels are still charging for internet, Park Hyatt offer it on complimentary basis to his clients, I absolutely love it.

the location remain for me one of the key of the hotel, you are right in the middle of everything.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Our schedule worked out so we happened to arrive at the hotel early, around 9:00 am. We hadn't asked for early check-in, so expected the desk staff would hold our bags and tell us to get lost for a while. Instead, we were quickly sent to a beautiful room with an amazing view. From that point on, every moment at the Park Hyatt was just terrific. Service of every kind was impeccable and quick. The desk people were welcoming and friendly; every bellman or room service waiter was knowledgeable and apparently anxious to help; even the doorman went out of his way to enthusiastically recommend restaurants and give us detailed directions. The rooms are sleek and beautiful, and, if a bit on the small side, shrewdly laid out so every square inch counts. The extra long window seat, piled with pillows, makes for lovely spot to sip a glass of wine and watch Chicago go by. Be sure to ask for a room on the lake/water tower side, and make sure it's high enough to clear nearby buildings if you want a view of the lake. The hotel is so well located, you can easily walk to shopping/Millennium Park/Art Institute/restaurants. A wonderful hotel staffed by warmhearted professionals.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne O, General Manager at Park Hyatt Chicago, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Park Hyatt Chicago and taking the time to send your feedback about your recent stay. I truly appreciate your kind remarks about our team and am glad to know that they met your needs. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your room and view. We look forward to welcoming you back again and hope to exceed your expectations once again.

Sincerely,
Walter Brindell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, OH
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We are in a lovely room with a window seat and a very firm, comfortable king bed. The room has great lightling, including two bedside lamps that turn off quietly. There are both sheer and darkening blinds which raise and lower remotely. The bathroom had twin sinks and a wonderful showerhead. The only downside is that the closet is a little small if one wanted to hang up a weeks worth of clothing for 2 people. The hotel provides complimentary water in the room and coffee and tea on the first floor. The fitness center is great----many cardio machines, strength machines, free weights, mats and medicine balls. It's also cooled to a nice temperature. There is pool that is a couple lap lanes and long enough to really swim.

The restaurant has a nice view, but is really expensive. Around the corner is an Einstein's bagels and a tea shop, both of which are a less elegant but more moderate way to have breakfast. However, it depends on what you want. The hotel is across from Water Tower place and also close to bus and metro stops. There is valet parking---

I paid for this with airline points and I don't know what it costs in dollars and so whether it's worth it. Of course, that depends on what you want. There's no doubt, it is much nicer than a Hampton Inn and many others.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

I stayed at the Park Hyatt for a few days on business and was very happy with my overall experience. The service at this hotel is impeccable!

I checked in VERY early (7am) and was quickly given a room with no questions asked. The room is spacious and modern and comfortable with a large bathroom with separate toilet area, glass enclosed shower and large soaking tub. Bathrooms and beds are the most important areas in a hotel room for me and both were great. The large window bench overlooking Michigan Avenue below and Lake Michigan in the distance was a great place to sit and type out some morning emails.

I ate breakfast twice in the restaurant and the food was fantastic. The manager of the restaurant was amazing and went above and beyond in accommodating me after I was given wrong information by the front desk about when breakfast ended.

The hotel is perfectly situated if you enjoy shopping. Michigan Avenue has many high end stores within walking distance and Rush street is a few blocks away.

I would highly recommend this hotel!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing Lake Michigan. Such a lovely view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Bottom line: One of the better hotels to stay at for comfort and service, with Michigan Ave location that simply can't be beat, BUT the price is out of sight unless luxury prices are your range. The bar and restaurant at the top are excellent meeting points for drinks and/or business.

I stayed at the Park Hyatt when Hurricane Sandy canceled my flight back to the East Coast, and had to scramble for a Michigan Ave hotel. Only the Park Hyatt had a room available at short notice, but I paid full fare (in excess of $400) for a suite. This is absolutely one of the best suites I've *ever* stayed in, but I could not justify the price in the end. If you stay here, try getting a deal through an online service, but even then it's going to be pricey.

Service is superb - reception, concierge and baggage are all responsive, helpful and prompt. The room was large and very modern with a comfortable bed and a thoroughly luxurious bath sporting a jacuzzi tub and two(!) mini tv monitors in addition to the giant flat screen in the main room. Separate shower and toilet. The closet was more like an old school valet trunk; I haven't seen the sheer number of men's and women's grooming and clothing accoutrements in any hotel outside of a Gulf five star. I half expected Jeeves the Butler to leap from a side door.

The top of the hotel sports a cool bar/restaurant with free wifi that is worth knowing even if you don't stay at the Park Hyatt. The bar serves up a good cocktail and great appetizer-type foods and sandwiches. A little pricey, but worth the indulgence for a business meeting or perhaps meeting friends for a drink/date before moving on. There's a great wall-line window that shows Michigan Ave (nice in the evening). It's on the same floor as the (unbelievably well-appointed) spa. The restaurant is equally comfortable and a little pricey (to be expected). Food is sort of an international fusion, and I found it quite tasty.

At the end of the day, I just couldn't justify the price outside of the emergency I had. If you're the type of person who is willing to pay luxury prices for the privilege of retiring to a place that sports such amenities, then this is your place. Me, I think Park Hyatt's a great hotel, but if I go back it will be because I found a steep discount.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Quiet, Free int...
Show More
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#1 of 168 in Chicago
5.0 of 5 stars 512 reviews
Luxury, Quiet...
Show More
Gold Coast
Four Seasons Hotel Chicago
Quiet, Restaura...
Show More
Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Romantic, Luxur...
Show More
Near North Side
Sofitel Chicago Water Tower
Free internet...
Show More
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#9 of 168 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 stars 1,367 reviews
Romantic, Free...
Show More
Near North Side
Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hyatt Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hyatt Chicago

Address: 800 N Michigan Ave, on Water Tower Square, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Chicago
#7 Business Hotel in Chicago
#7 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#9 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#12 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#17 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Park Hyatt Chicago 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Flagship luxury hotel, Park Hyatt in Chicago's best location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Park Hyatt Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hyatt Chicago Hotel Chicago
Hyatt Chicago
Chicago Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Hyatt Chicago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.