We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice, but a bit dated” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Park Hyatt Chicago

Save Saved
You added Park Hyatt Chicago to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Park Hyatt Chicago
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   800 N Michigan Ave, on Water Tower Square, Chicago, IL 60611 (Gold Coast)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Breakfast at the Park
Ranked #9 of 169 hotels in Chicago
GreenLeadersGold level
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Very nice, but a bit dated”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

I have stayed at this Park Hyatt twice in the last year. Both stays were extremely pleasant and as a diamond member, I was upgraded to the corner respire room, which is much larger than the standard room. It appears that they haven't updated the furniture in this hotel since the mid-90s and is soon due for a refurbishment given the price point though I do believe that they have replaced the furniture in the suites.

Service is good but not as good as competitors such as the St. Regis where you are welcomed with champagne, led to the elevators by a receptionist, and shown around your room. In addition to this, I found that turn down service at the Park Hyatt to be subpar. It's nice that they leave the water bottle and glass by your bedside, but what happened to placing a small something such as a piece of chocolate?

Breakfast was included as a diamond member and I highly recommend the restaurant, NoMI. Breakfast was delicious, my favorite being the health shakes in the morning -- the 'greens' shake was my favorite.

Overall, nice hotel and would definitely return if the price is right.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner respire room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

717 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    541
    133
    26
    11
    6
See reviews for
100
234
53
219
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, FL
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Love this hotel! The location is great and the view is amazing. Service was top notch, every employee was happy to help and bent over backwards to be accommodating. Any request was met with a warm and sincere “I would be happy to take care of that” attitude. Room Service was amazing. We wanted to watch Football game in our room and order some snack food but, other than the kids menu it was kind of fancy for just a casual night in. When I asked if they had any Nachos they volunteered to make them special for us. The chef had to make homemade salsa to accommodate our request! (Thank you Chef Michael) There are many beautiful hotels with great locations in Chicago but people at the Park Hyatt Chicago are truly exceptional make all the difference in the world.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I loved this hotel! The staff is incredible, anticipating every wish/need. We felt so pampered. Location is perfect and the rooms are beautiful! The breakfast and room service is top notch. Loved the small touches, like the candles and bath salts, the TV above the bathtub, the wonderful wines in the room. The view is amazing - an upgrade to a lake view is recommended and well worth it.

Room Tip: An upgrade to the lake view is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Illinois
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

All I can say is First Class all the way! From the check-in, to the remote curtains, this is truly first class service. I was really impressed with the BMW shuttle service. Or should I say, they drive you around in a new 7 series BMW! The doorman knew our names and addressed us each and every time we entered. I will be honest, I fly first class from time to time, I've even flown BusinessFirst to Europe, Asia, Hawaii and Mexico. I've stayed at the Intercontinental and the Four Seasons. This was the best experience I've ever had at a hotel. THE BEST EVER!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Overall we had a pleasant stay at Park Hyatt. However, I had been looking forward to an incredible stay and felt slightly let down. The service at the door and front desk wasn't overly refined which one would expect at a Park Hyatt. It felt routine and standard not really personalized. The room now looks somewhat dated though we loved the bathroom. The room was very clean and the bed comfortable for a good nights sleep. The lighting is very nice as well. Bathroom is amazing, amazing, amazing and we really liked the bath products. The corridors are showing signs of wear and tear and the casings had some dents in them. I think a good PM program could help with that. I'm not sure what happened but in the early evening of our stay both keys stopped working. The desk replaced them without any comments which seemed odd.

I had tea in the packed bar (bad weather) and the service was good. We also had breakfast - which was part of our package - but the desk didn't mention that service in the restaurant ended at 10:00am which seemed early on a Sunday. So we ate in the bar but it wasn't the same experience. The hostess mentioned the desk forgets to tell people that so it seems an issue.

I expect Park Hyatt to be a gracious, refined experience. For $400 a night I think that they could take a few steps to make it really exceptional so that it is on par with a Four Seasons, Peninsula or Ritz. I would stay again but not for that price.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

The Park Hyatt by far is one of my favorite hotels to stay at. The clean and comfy rooms are wonderful. The views of the city, and proximity to plenty of things to do is incredible. I love the pantry - where you can grab a cup of coffee on the way out to shopping. Service is impeccable.

The only downside is the spa - I would recommend walking a block to the Peninsula for the spa.

I cannot wait to go back!

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

My husband had taken me to The Park Hyatt since it was built about 14 years ago (and to The Watertower Hyatt before that) for my birthday. A few years ago, we switched out and tried some other high end hotels. This year, we returned and had a fantastic time. The view of the lake and watertower, the window seat, the fantastic bed and pillows ...but it's the huge tub with the with the wall that opens to the main room so you can be taking a "tub" and look out at that gorgeous view. there is a tv in the bath and a terrific separate shower. There is no hotel room in the city, that can compare. They also include bath salts and candles, lovely touch. The service is excellent, quietly elegant. The only negative is Nomi restaurant only serves breakfast until 1030am in the main room and we could NOT make it down that early :) No worries..we will be back, again and again. Make sure you book a high floor with a lake view. See you there.

Room Tip: High floor (michigan ave can be noisy) and lake view. Tho when we closed the windows, it was quite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Park Hyatt Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hyatt Chicago

Address: 800 N Michigan Ave, on Water Tower Square, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Chicago
#6 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#6 Business Hotel in Chicago
#8 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#12 Family Hotel in Chicago
#14 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Park Hyatt Chicago 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Flagship luxury hotel, Park Hyatt in Chicago's best location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Amex, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Venere, Otel, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Reservation Counter, BookingOdigeoWL and Priceline so you can book your Park Hyatt Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hyatt Chicago Hotel Chicago
Hyatt Chicago
Chicago Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Hyatt Chicago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.