We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Low key hospitality” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Park Hyatt Chicago

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Park Hyatt Chicago to your Saves list
Park Hyatt Chicago
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   800 N Michigan Ave, on Water Tower Square, Chicago, IL 60611 (Gold Coast)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Breakfast at the Park
Ranked #9 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
GreenLeadersGold level
Kuala Lumpur
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Low key hospitality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

I stayed here for 4 nights over Thanksgiving and it was a calm respite from the shopping crowds at the Magnificent Mile. Appreciated the self service pantry at the lobby area. Staff were friendly and efficient. The rooms are large with a very comfortable bed. There's free bottled water everyday but no coffee facilities in-room. However, you can get woken up by noisy guests in the corridor and door slams. Ask for a room with a view.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

797 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    601
    147
    30
    12
    7
See reviews for
109
263
56
247
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Potomac, Maryland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

To remembering my name to surprising us with a driver to take us to our favorite restaurant in Chicago (in a benz, no less) despite them previously saying the car was taken, this is a top notch hotel in Chicago. The bathroom was a dream come true, with candlelit baths and rain showers. My body has never "melted" into my sleep before. Oh? And the bed is heaven.

Room Tip: Standard doesn't have the open bathroom view to the bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We booked our room thru AMEX Fine Hotels & Resorts program so we had some perks. This is for a business trip. Wonderful program via AMEX. Lots of amenities: a. Room upgrade (facing the Water Tower & Lake Michigan); b. Noon early check-in upon availability; c. Daily continental breakfast for two at NoMI (beautifully cooked Brioche French Toast with port wine blueberries & candied pecans); d. 4pm guaranteed check-out; e. $100 F&B credit which we blew off at NoMI for our first dinner in Chicago; f. use of the hotel car within 1 mile of the hotel which I reserved to bring me to work all 3 mornings on those really cold Chicago mornings &; g. Complimentary 3rd night with 3 consecutive nights. We loved the location. The bed is probably one of the best beds we've had in a hotel. I love the black-out shades. The WIFI works great. The hotel housekeeping staff is very responsive. (I wish the front desk people could be a little bit more warm.) And the hotel felt really safe. Being in a nice hotel does make a difference especially when you are out of your usual environment to manage an important project. We hope to be back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Everything in this hotel is perfect. The staff is helpful always with a smile on the face and ready to assist you no matter what. The service is excellent and the amenities outstanding. Big and very clean rooms with comfortable beds that you forget to wake up. I would definitely come back to this hotel.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Enjoyed our long weekend here very much. The hotel is feeling not quite where it SHOULD be for the price we paid and could use some attention to detail. The towels were in poor condition and threadbare, but otherwise the rooms felt a little like they needed a refit. Views from the breakfast restaurant are amazing and worth the price of breakfast. Friendly staff and concierge helpful. FANTASTIC indoor lap pool for swimmers.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san Diego
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

This has to be the best Five-Star Hotel in Chicago. The Park Hyatt is just the right size, about 200 rooms which gives the staff the ability to personalize the service. The rooms are the largest in town and very modern. Great views looking out on the Water Tower and Michigan Avenue. Nomi bar and restaurant are first class and the spa, workout room and pool are a delight. Have stayed at the Park Hyatt probably five times over the past eight years and it just keeps getting better.

Room Tip: Get an east facing room for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

I enjoy staying at upscale hotels, but this hotel outshines them all. Fantastic service; the staff always have smiles on their faces and drop whatever they are doing to be of assistance. The amenities are also outstanding. The rooms are spotless and the decor is gorgeous! I can't wait to come back!!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Park Hyatt Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hyatt Chicago

Address: 800 N Michigan Ave, on Water Tower Square, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Chicago
#5 Business Hotel in Chicago
#6 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#9 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#12 Family Hotel in Chicago
#17 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Park Hyatt Chicago 5*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Flagship luxury hotel, Park Hyatt in Chicago's best location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Park Hyatt Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hyatt Chicago Hotel Chicago
Hyatt Chicago
Chicago Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Hyatt Chicago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.