We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best of the Best!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Park Hyatt Chicago

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Park Hyatt Chicago to your Saves list
Park Hyatt Chicago
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   800 N Michigan Ave, on Water Tower Square, Chicago, IL 60611 (Gold Coast)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Breakfast at the Park
Ranked #8 of 169 Hotels in Chicago
GreenLeadersGold level
virginia beach
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“The Best of the Best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

I travel weekly on business and must say that this hotel was absolutely the best of the best. The staff was very helpful and friendly at every turn! The rooms were clean and very modern. Loved the blackout curtains. Will definitely return!!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

754 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    570
    139
    27
    11
    7
See reviews for
106
248
53
229
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Woods, Michigan
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

My mother, husband and I decided to make the trip to Chicago as an early Christmas present.
I've done my fair share of traveling around the world, but I was floored by the beauty of the rooms and the ambiance. Chic yet not too modern. The restaurants are wonderful, the service is great and you obviously cant beat the location.
I could not believe the view from my room. I looked directly at the water tower and just beyond was Lake Michigan.
It beats the pants off the Peninsula, who I found to be rude and extraordinarily unhelpful.
If the Park has a downside.....kinda spoils you for staying anywhere else!

Room Tip: Ask to face Lake Michigan
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

Although you'll find the Park Hyatt farther down on this list, it is still a great place to stay. The views of the Chicago River and Lake Michigan from the rooms are awesome. There are two towers, with a concierge at the top of each of them where you can enjoy a free breakfast. Or you can opt to eat at the lovely restaurant in the lobby surrounded by water. The service throughout the hotel is nice, making the Hyatt a great place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MI
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

This hotel has it all going on, great staff, some of the nicest rooms in Chicago and great restaurants all wrapped up in the center of Michigan Ave. To tell the truth even when I don't stay here I love stop by the hotel's outdoor patio. It's great place to stop for lunch or a little drinkie and the staff here rocks.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silicon valley
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We all know how Chicago Park Hyatt is the flagship of Park Hyatt, since Hyatt's HQ is in Chicago and PH brand is the flagship brand of Hyatt. WIth that being said, this property has the disadvantage of being one of the oldest PH. Even though it was probably one of the best hotels in the world when it was built, it definitely has been caught up in term of newer hotel design. For example, while it pioneered the open bathroom (shutter that open from the tub to the bedroom, its sink area was very typical two-sink setup with nothing special. Sure it looks normal and nice, but I didn't come to Park Hyatt to expect normal and nice. It felt like any other Grant Hyatt with its black marble counter top. Plain and business-savvy. I would like to see more creativity or details going into the design of a bathroom counter top.
The toiletries were also unremarkable. At PH properties, I expected to see name brand stuff like Bvgari or Hermes, but what they provided were pretty typical for a 5-star hotel.
The breakfast was very nice. It was included in the rate, and I could basically order off the menu anything I wanted (not a buffet). The restaurant was pretty, overlooking Water Tower and Michigan Ave. This hotel really shines at its wonderful location and beautiful exterior. I do not believe there is better hotel at Chicago except Peninsula and maybe Waldorf Astoria (both way more $$$).
Sorry I didn't write anything positive, but trust me, the hotel was nice like all Park Hyatt. I feel there is no need to talk about top-of-the-class amenities because you have to expect them as standard at PH properties. If you are reading my reviews, all you need to read are the areas for improvement. Anything I didn't mention = Great.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PH_Chicago, Manager at Park Hyatt Chicago, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thank you for your feedback in regards to your past stay here at Park Hyatt Chicago. Your opinion is important to us and we are pleased to know you enjoyed our location, amenities and services. We look forward to welcoming you back to Park Hyatt Chicago in the near future.

With Best Regards,

Park Hyatt Chicago Management

Park Hyatt Chicago
800 North Michigan Avenue
Chicago, Illinois 60611
P: 312.335.1234
communications.chiph@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

Loved room, lobby and restaurant. Excellent restaurant. Would love to come back for more than one night.

The service by the bellman and front desk was terrific.

What a beautiful view over the lake!

Luxurious but not opulent.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PH_Chicago, Manager at Park Hyatt Chicago, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you for your feedback in regards to your recent stay at Park Hyatt Chicago. Your opinion is important to us and we are pleased to know you enjoyed your accommodations as well as your dining experience in NoMI. We truly appreciate you taking the time to write a review in our favor and we look forward to welcoming you back to Park Hyatt Chicago in the near future.

With Best Regards,

Park Hyatt Chicago Management

Park Hyatt Chicago
800 North Michigan Avenue
Chicago, Illinois 60611
P: 312.335.1234
communications.chiph@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Stayed at the Park Hyatt on my recent business trip to Chicago and was uograded to an Executive Suite. Wow! The suite was elegant and understated, as is the whole hotel. There is a quiet and gracious sensibility to this hotel, from the modern simple aesethetic of the decorating to the professional and yet warm staff to the simple quiet of the space. The fitness center is modern, well equipped, and impeccably clean. Room service food was beautifully presented and very high caliber. My new favorite hotel in Chicago and one of my favorites anywhere. An exceptional place.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PH_Chicago, Manager at Park Hyatt Chicago, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful remarks in regards to your stay at Park Hyatt Chicago! Your opinion is important to us and we are pleased to know you enjoyed your room as well as our hotel's amenities. We truly appreciate you taking the time to write a review in our favor and we look forward to welcoming you back to Park Hyatt Chicago in the near future.

With Best Regards,

Park Hyatt Chicago Management

Park Hyatt Chicago
800 North Michigan Avenue
Chicago, Illinois 60611
P: 312.335.1234
communications.chiph@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Park Hyatt Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hyatt Chicago

Address: 800 N Michigan Ave, on Water Tower Square, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Chicago
#6 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#6 Business Hotel in Chicago
#7 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#13 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#15 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Park Hyatt Chicago 5*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Flagship luxury hotel, Park Hyatt in Chicago's best location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Amex, Priceline, Otel, Reservation Counter, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Park Hyatt Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hyatt Chicago Hotel Chicago
Hyatt Chicago
Chicago Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Hyatt Chicago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.