We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb hotel, perfect location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Park Hyatt Chicago

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Park Hyatt Chicago to your Saves list
Park Hyatt Chicago
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   800 N Michigan Ave, on Water Tower Square, Chicago, IL 60611 (Magnificent Mile)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Suite Experience
Ranked #7 of 177 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
Austin, TX
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
123 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
“Superb hotel, perfect location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Yes it is expensive, but we found it worth it. We looked at all the other luxury hotels in downtown Chicago including magnificent mile, and think it is the best in the city. Had a fabulous room with a stunning view of the lake. The restaurant accommodated our dietary needs, and the staff was excellent. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PH_Chicago, Manager at Park Hyatt Chicago, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Thank you for your feedback in regards to your recent stay at Park Hyatt Chicago. Your opinion is important to us and we are pleased to know you enjoyed our location, amenities and services as well as your dining experience in NoMI. We truly appreciate you taking the time to write a review in our favor and we look forward to welcoming you back to Park Hyatt Chicago in the near future.

With Best Regards,

Park Hyatt Chicago Management

Park Hyatt Chicago
800 North Michigan Avenue
Chicago, Illinois 60611
P: 312.335.1234
communications.chiph@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

927 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    704
    167
    36
    13
    7
See reviews for
127
314
61
288
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wilkes Barre, Pa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

We've stayed in Chicago on many different occasions over the years. Stayed @ the Ritz and several others . The Park Hyatt was the finest. The staff was friendly and helpful. The location was in the center of all the things I wanted to do. Watertower is right across the street. So much to do so little time. Can't wait to go back. The restaurant NiMo is fantastic.This is definatly one of Chicagos treasures

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PH_Chicago, Manager at Park Hyatt Chicago, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you for your kind words and wonderful feedback in regards to your recent stay at Park Hyatt Chicago. Your opinion is important to us and we are pleased to know you enjoyed your accommodations as well as your dining experience in NoMI. We truly appreciate you taking the time to write a review in our favor and we look forward to welcoming you back to Park Hyatt Chicago in the near future.

With Best Regards,

Park Hyatt Chicago Management

Park Hyatt Chicago
800 North Michigan Avenue
Chicago, Illinois 60611
P: 312.335.1234
communications.chiph@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

I stayed here briefly for business trip and now cannot wait to go back for a longer work trip in November. This hotel has set a good first impression of the Park Hyatt brand and I am looking forward to staying at some of their other properties later this year. The rooms are very well appointed and comfortable. I tend to put two items high on my list for a good experience when traveling for business, first the comfort of the bed/pillows - 10/10 and the shower, 10/10. It also makes great use of technology with touch panel controls for blackout shades and a sheer shade on the windows. I had a wonderful view out towards the Water Tower and lake. Also, it was a short walk or jog over to the Lake Shore trail and is right off Michigan Ave for those looking for shopping.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PH_Chicago, Manager at Park Hyatt Chicago, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review and kind words about Park Hyatt Chicago! Your opinion is important to us and we are pleased to know you enjoyed our amenities and services. We take pride in delivering the best customer service to our guests and your satisfaction is our reward. We truly appreciate you taking the time to write a review in our favor and we look forward to welcoming you back to Park Hyatt Chicago in November!

With Best Regards,

Park Hyatt Chicago Management

Park Hyatt Chicago
800 North Michigan Avenue
Chicago, Illinois 60611
P: 312.335.1234
communications.chiph@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Rooms are beautiful and clean, service was over-the-top friendly and helpful, and food was excellent! Location is perfect -- everything downtown is within walking distance.

If we could afford to live here forever, we would. They really set the bar that high for all the Hyatt hotels all over.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PH_Chicago, Manager at Park Hyatt Chicago, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you for your great review and kind words about Park Hyatt Chicago! Your opinion is important to us and we are pleased to know you enjoyed our amenities and services. We truly appreciate you taking the time to write a review in our favor and we look forward to welcoming you back to Park Hyatt Chicago in the near future.

With Best Regards,

Park Hyatt Chicago Management

Park Hyatt Chicago
800 North Michigan Avenue
Chicago, Illinois 60611
P: 312.335.1234
communications.chiph@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Oh
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

This is one of the nicest hotels/Hyatt properties I have ever stayed at. I stayed in one of the few two-bed rooms and was impressed by the hotels amenities and overall appearance, it felt premium from the check-in process to the moment I left. The location is Right in the heart of Michigan avenue where the main shopping in Chicago is located.

Top-notch workout/locker/spa facility for the guests as well.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PH_Chicago, Manager at Park Hyatt Chicago, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review and kind words about Park Hyatt Chicago! Your opinion is important to us and we are pleased to know you enjoyed our guest room amenities and services. We take pride in delivering the best customer service to our guests and your satisfaction is our reward. Again, thank you for taking the time to write a review in our favor and we look forward to welcoming you back to Park Hyatt Chicago in the near future.

With Best Regards,

Park Hyatt Chicago Management

Park Hyatt Chicago
800 North Michigan Avenue
Chicago, Illinois 60611
P: 312.335.1234
communications.chiph@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

My family stayed at the Park Hyatt Chicago Labor Day weekend 2012 and enjoyed every minute. The food was good, although not quite as good as Blue Duck Tavern in the Park Hyatt Washington, but the service was excellent. The wait staff on NoMi was so good we dined thhere twice. In the Spa, one attendant actually RAN to go get us something. I've never seen that in a hotel before. From the smiling doorman to the maids, everyone there is working hard to provide a great experience, and fixing something if it doesn't go perfectly. Yes, there was siren noise, but we didn't hear it in our room, only on the NoMi deck.

My only question is, how come there aren't more Park Hyatts? They certainly beat cookie-cutter R-Cs or 4 Seasons that are overpriced and too impressed with themselves.

Thank you for a great weekend!

Room Tip: Rooms ending in a seven are closest to the Water Tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PH_Chicago, Manager at Park Hyatt Chicago, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful remarks in regards to your stay at Park Hyatt Chicago. Your opinion is important to us and we are pleased to know you enjoyed your room as well as our other amenities and services. Most importantly, we are thrilled to learn you overly impressed with our associates and the service they provided. We take pride in delivering the best customer service to our guests and your satisfaction is our reward. We truly appreciate you taking the time to write a review in our favor and we look forward to welcoming you back to Park Hyatt Chicago in the near future.

With Best Regards,

Park Hyatt Chicago Management

Park Hyatt Chicago
800 North Michigan Avenue
Chicago, Illinois 60611
P: 312.335.1234
communications.chiph@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

One of my beefs with Hyatt is that their brands are not consistent - One Grand Hyatt can be a great upscale hotel, while another carrying the same name can be extremely mediocre. The chain's Park Hyatt brand is no exception. The Park Hyatt Chicago was a great hotel when it opened, but 10+ years of tenure and it needs to define whether it still wants to compete with the Peninsula across the street, the Four Seasons and Ritz Carlton a few blocks away or the dozens of non-special properties dotting Michigan Avenue. Service and the public areas were quite good, not exceptional, but satisfactory for a 5-star hotel. I found housekeeping to be below my expectations: dusty glass and hi-gloss furniture, dust balls on the carpet. Other guests left empty glasses near the elevator bank on my floor which were still there over 3 hours later than when I saw them the first time. The rooms have been refreshed since first opened. Notably, electronics, electrical outlets, motorized blinds and wifi. However, design choices made in the late 90's are dating the property and need replacing (bathroom hardware, upholstry, bed frames). I was pleased that the public areas are still holding up and look great. The fitness center has been upgraded and is very well equipped. Bottom line: this hotel offers a wonderful value for your money at the rate I paid (~$200/night). If you are paying competitive rates with the Peninsula or Ritz, you will likely be disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PH_Chicago, Manager at Park Hyatt Chicago, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us regarding your recent stay at our hotel. We do apologize to have failed to exceed your expectations. Rest assured that your comments have been shared with the appropriate team members to avoid a reoccurrence. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the near future.

With Best Regards,

Park Hyatt Chicago Management

Park Hyatt Chicago
800 North Michigan Avenue
Chicago, Illinois 60611
P: 312.335.1234
communications.chiph@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Park Hyatt Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hyatt Chicago

Address: 800 N Michigan Ave, on Water Tower Square, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Chicago
#3 Business Hotel in Chicago
#4 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#7 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#11 Family Hotel in Chicago
#12 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Park Hyatt Chicago 5*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Flagship luxury hotel, Park Hyatt in Chicago's best location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Amex, BookIt.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Park Hyatt Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hyatt Chicago Hotel Chicago
Hyatt Chicago
Chicago Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Hyatt Chicago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.