We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW, WOW, WOW” 5 of 5 stars
Review of PUBLIC Chicago

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added PUBLIC Chicago to your Saves list
PUBLIC Chicago
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1301 North State Parkway, Chicago, IL 60610 (Formerly Ambassador East Hotel) (Gold Coast)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #83 of 177 Hotels in Chicago
Cleveland, Ohio
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“WOW, WOW, WOW”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Amazing! I was recently in a wedding and the whole wedding party as well as guests stayed at the Public for several days.
1: Service (absolutely remarkable)
The desk staff were fantastic - providing help with many details and arrangements. The door staff were great, helping transport many party essentials to the rooms. Christopher, the concergie, I love him. I honestly don't know what I would have done without him. He was always on beat and one step ahead. The restaurant/bar staff occompanied our rather large impromptu gatherings with ease. I honestly don't know if I have been anywhere with such seamless and impressive service.
2: The room
The design is modern, very sleek but still relaxing. Even my husband remarked that he usually does not like modern and he liked our room. We had a corner King room which was very roomy with a large bathroom. The large windows provided a nice view of the lake and the city.
3: The Room Service
I ordered many pots of coffee through room service (no coffee pot in room). The service is fast, even faster for their boxed lunches. The food was healthy and tasted amazing. Only minutes for a robe or toothbrush.
4. The location
The hotel was walking distance or a short cab ride to most Chigago attractions. We found that there were plenty of restaurants, shops, bars, and convenience stores within a couple block radius and felt safe walking at night.
I highly recommend this hotel for anyone planning a visit to Chicago's gold coast.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philip D, General Manager at PUBLIC Chicago, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Wow! Thank you for such an outstanding review.

On behalf of Christopher and everyone here at PUBLIC Chicago, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your experience and we thank you for recommending our hotel.

We hope to see you again soon.

Regards,
Philip Dailey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

960 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    449
    259
    158
    60
    34
See reviews for
122
286
60
274
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

As you walk in to the Public, you are graced with the most elegant display of chandeliers and captured into another element with the amazing scent of the hotel. We were very lucky to have been upgraded to a Loft. The room was clean and the staff couldn't have been more helpful and not jaded. It was a wonderful experience for our "staycation". We would do it again and will recommend the hotel to all our out of town friends and family.

Room Tip: Make reservations for the Pump Room in advance. It fills up fast. Enjoy the Library Bar's cock...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philip D, General Manager at PUBLIC Chicago, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Thank you for the top notch review!

We hope to see you again soon for another great "staycation" at PUBLIC Chicago.

Regards,
Philip Dailey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This hotel has it all. Nice, clean rooms. Great restaurant, sexy library lounging area, great bar. Staff are amazing. Great celebrity history at this hotel, specifically the Pump Room. Treat yourself, lots to do in the surrounding area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philip D, General Manager at PUBLIC Chicago, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Thank you for saying that our hotel as it all!

We appreciate the great review and we hope that you will return soon to treat yourself again.

Regards,
Philip Dailey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We celebrated my birthday at Public recently and enjoyed a lovely experience from start to finish. The staff is incredibly friendly and helpful. We received a complimentary upgrade (on top of a super reasonable rate from the hotel website) to a beautiful corner room with a view toward the lake. Every room has vintage postcards from the hotel collection of past guests (when it was the Ambassador East) and we were happy to see Nina Simone's beautiful face in ours. Also every room has complimentary Wifi and an iPod dock with an excellent speaker. The best part of the hotel, however are the public spaces, including the photo gallery downstairs and the Library on the first floor with Chess and other games, amazing art books, and a beautiful fireplace. You can also have breakfast here in the morning and drinks in the evening....absolutely stunning! Dinner at the Pump Room was excellent....the staff ensured my birthday was perfect and even signed a card for me. The fitness center has high quality equipment and a day pass is available for a larger gym about a mile away. It is walking distance to excellent restaurants, bars and shops, so do not be put off by the location being just beyond the north end of the magnificent mile.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philip D, General Manager at PUBLIC Chicago, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
I am so pleased that you choose to celebrate your special day with us at PUBLIC Chicago!

Thank you for the great review and please come back soon!

Regards,
Philip Dailey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sycamore, Illinois
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

The Public's design is the pinnacle of lavish chic; upon entering the building we were utterly amazed at the grandeur of its layout and appearance. This continued on into the restaurant, library and bedroom.

Rooms were equipped with a nice ambient mood lighting, quaint bathroom and overall classic Chicago feel married to a modern revamp. We were located near an elevator, but did not find it so tragically disruptive as others have commented. It is an old hotel with excellent rates; being near an elevator at any local chain has proven far noisier in my opinion than any noise emanating from this lift.

I could not believe that I had received such an excellent rate for such an amazing hotel. It was the perfect spot for a weekend getaway. Later in the night, we enjoyed cocktail service in the main lobby as there was no more space in the adjoining bar. Cocktails were hit or miss, but I will comment on that under The Pump Room's page instead.

The only complaint we had was a rather strange timing of service calls. On three occasions during our one night stay, we were woken up by knocking on our door from a staff member asking us an array of questions-- did we want our room cleaned, need more towels, etc. This seems quite excessive as we only were there for one evening. All of this was shrugged off, however, we were woken up at 7:45 in the morning by a staff member asking if we would be needing more shampoo. This occasion was bothersome as it was quite early, and we were trying to catch some rest before checking out.

Despite these disturbances, I still found this hotel to be of excellent value and would stay here again without question. Upon check out, we stopped into the library to order some morning coffees and hot chocolate (as well as danish) for the road. All were of high quality and enjoyable as well.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philip D, General Manager at PUBLIC Chicago, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and the nice review despite the timing of our service calls.

Please accept my regrets for any inconvenience we caused you.

On behalf of all of us here at PUBLIC Chicago, we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards,
Philip Dailey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

This was the second stay for me at the Public. It was still as terrific since I last stayed there a year ago. Everything about the hotel is topnotch: staff, ambiance of common areas, rooms and restaurant/bar. Another really great feature of the hotel is its location on the Gold Coast of Chicago. It is the best combination of beautiful residential area but close to great restaurants and retail stores. Every morning, when waiting for a taxi out front, local neighborhood residents would be walking their dogs and stopping by the doorman stand for a treat for the pooch. I cannot recommend this hotel more. We were here for a trade show at McCormick Place and the taxi/shuttle bus ride was only 15-20 minutes. Business or pleasure, this is the place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for high floor to see either Lake Michigan or Chicago skyline.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philip D, General Manager at PUBLIC Chicago, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Thank you for a great review!

I am pleased that you like our location and that you enjoyed the "beautiful residential area but close to great restaurants and retail stores."

Please visit us again soon!

Regards,
Philip Dailey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Upgraded to a deluxe room and was greeted by an incredible friendly staff. Requested a bag out of the car, and the valet attendant noticed that a cell phone was on the seat and asked if he wanted us to have him bring it up. Very anticipatory!

The Library bartenders are friendly and easy to talk to. Had an amazing dinner at pump room and our waitress who was from Nashville (forgot her name) was great...We were exhausted and after such a great meal we just wanted to crawl into the big white bed.

Highly recommended

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philip D, General Manager at PUBLIC Chicago, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Thank you very much for the 5 Stars and highly recommending our hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back to PUBLIC Chicago!

Regards,
Philip Dailey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to PUBLIC Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PUBLIC Chicago

Address: 1301 North State Parkway, Chicago, IL 60610 (Formerly Ambassador East Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#46 Business Hotel in Chicago
#65 Family Hotel in Chicago
#75 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — PUBLIC Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
PUBLIC, conceived by Ian Schrager, is an entirely new class of hotel. Its fundamental attributes are innovative, sophisticated, authentic style; spot-on, personalized, empathetic "essential" service; lasting comfort with complete functionality, all at an affordable price and offering tremendous value. For the first time, this type of hotel experience will be available for everyone and anyone who wants it ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Amex, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Splendia, Priceline, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, EasyToBook, MrandMrsSmith, getaroom.com and Hotels.com so you can book your PUBLIC Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Public Chicago Hotel Chicago
Ambassador East Hotel Chicago
Hotel Ambassador East
Ambassador East Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage PUBLIC Chicago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.