We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of PUBLIC Chicago

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added PUBLIC Chicago to your Saves list
PUBLIC Chicago
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1301 North State Parkway, Chicago, IL 60610 (Formerly Ambassador East Hotel) (Gold Coast)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #83 of 177 Hotels in Chicago
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
“Awesome Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

Too over rated, i love the location but i did not like the price of the room because it was extremely small. i took my girlfriend for a night on the town on a saturday and i really enjoyed the club vibe the hotel offered just to have fun in the lobby and have drinks. im not a heavy guy but i am very long and tall and the rooms arent as big as i would thought it would be for the price i paid. i took a tour of the pump room and you can tell that the company only hire beautiful women which isnt bad but i would hate to interview there if i were a woman because you can tell looks only matters to this company. if the rooms werent updated as they were i wouldnt recommend anyone to stay there only to party or have drinks is what i would recommend. i think the costumer service was amazing the front desk lady kiarra was very nice and approaching. she had a wonderful smile and really represented the hotel nicely. i seen a house woman as well in the front lobby she did not seem as professional as i would thought but the front desk kiarra made up for that because of how welcoming and warm she was. i also like the security guards as well made the environment seem safe as well as they looked mannerable.the next time i decide to come down here i will have drinks look at the sexy ladies at the pump room and save a pocket full of money by sleeping at a holiday inn down the street. only recommended for fun not worth the price.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PUBLIC_Manager, General Manager at PUBLIC Chicago, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments about the friendliness of our staff and about the vibe you encountered at the hotel. We have worked hard at developing both and are thrilled to hear that you recognized our efforts. While we are sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your room as much as we'd like, we are encouraged by the fact that you will return in the future. Warm Regards, Peter Walterspiel, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

958 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    447
    259
    158
    60
    34
See reviews for
122
285
60
274
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012 via mobile

Fabulous hotel in Lincoln Park. Rooms were great, fitness center was not very accommodating, equipment was not working, cocktails were expensive, but servers were very, very friendly. Overall, the experience was incredible and I would stay again and again.

Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PUBLIC_Manager, General Manager at PUBLIC Chicago, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
Thank you for providing us with feedback from your recent stay. We were happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and have already seen to the equipment in our fitness center. We look forward to welcoming you back again and again. Warm regards, Peter Walterspiel, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Your hotel is wonderful.

It felt kind a like a W for grownups -- just right for us.
We were happy to have been upgraded from a Loft to a One Bedroom Suite (but still would likely to have been thrilled with our original room).

The lobby and coffee lounge was stunning and sent off a great vibe. Wish we had more time just to hang out there and read. We had drinks in the Pump Room bar on Monday night and enjoyed that too.

My only minor complaint pertains to reservations. We needed to modify our arrangements a couple of times and were surprised that this could only be done during limited hours (we had to call back the next day a couple of times). I found this surprising, but it not to the point of hurting our experience.

Thanks. We'll be back.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PUBLIC_Manager, General Manager at PUBLIC Chicago, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
Thank you for letting us know how much you enjoyed your stay with us and the vibe was just right for you in our venues. We look forward to being your home away from home every time you return to Chicago. Warm regards, Peter Walterspiel, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

We were pleasantly surprised,stately building with the hippest decor and a very cool vibe.Definately the place to be on a Friday night.The rooms although small were extremely comfortable and well appointed and extremely clean.The bar transforms from evening happening into a very quiet library coffee bar in the morning with great coffee.Close walking proximity to restaurants and shopping.Definately going to stay again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PUBLIC_Manager, General Manager at PUBLIC Chicago, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
We look forward to welcoming you back and thank you for providing us with such a great review! We enjoyed having you as our guest and reading your insight from your recent stay. Thank you again for sharing!

Warm Regards,

Peter Walterspiel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denton, Texas
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

We had a block of rooms for 3 days for a family wedding. Having read our compadres reviews on Tripadvisor, we felt those reviews were pretty accurate. We lived in nearby Evanston a number of years ago we had a feel for the Chicago Loop and the Gold Coast neighborhood in which the Public resides.

The building is the former Ambassador East Hotel. It's an old property that has been brought up to date as best as possible. There is no way they could have expanded the tight bathroom space and, yes, the louvered door on our closet didn't stay in it's old track when we opened it. But, overall it was a good value considering we were 2-1/2 blocks from getting our brisk walk in along Lake Michigan, could stroll along the neighborhood streets of the upscale Gold Coast or jump on a bike and cruise around the area.

As many reviews have stated, the weekend nights are wild and crazy as the entire main floor turns into a big-time social scene. We were on the 8-9 floors so the volume never reached us.

The Pump Room, where fabulous people were seen in the 50s and 60s, puts out outstanding food and they were very accommodating and hospitable when we told them one in our group was celebrating a birthday. The sent out a piece of cake with personal greetings spelled out on the plate with chocolate syrup.

When the rooms in our block were slightly screwed up upon check-in they were quick to straighten things out.

FYI, the Library, a cool room off the lobby that offers WIFI, a newspaper reading rack, great coffee and some breakfast pastries--does have free refills! they don't promote it, but whether you take your coffee in a to-go cup or a cup & saucer, they will gladly refill your coffee so you can hang-out and enjoy starting your morning.
Also, if you walk south two blocks to Division Street, there are a number of bars with different themes, some with pretty decent food, some sandwich shops, Walgreens & CVS--so you are not held hostage in the Public and don't have to venture all the way into the touristy loop to grab something.

Room Tip: Get high enough to not hear the party music from the lobby
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PUBLIC_Manager, General Manager at PUBLIC Chicago, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with a thorough review from your recent stay! We were happy to read that PUBLIC Chicago fully met your expectations during your visit to the Windy City and hope we have the pleasure of hosting you as our guest again in the near future!

Warm Regards,

Peter Walterspiel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

The Public has beautiful and useful public areas, free wi-fi, and free loaner bikes. Very friendly and helpful service from all staff. Rooms are nicely designed. They did a fabulous job updating an older hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at PUBLIC Chicago, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Thank you for the great review! It was great to read that you thoroughly enjoyed all that PUBLIC Chicago had to offer during your recent visit and hope we have the opportunity to have you as our guest again!

Warm Regards,

Peter Walterspiel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seminole, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Very nice stay.The front door staff the best.Clean rooms and great service what more can you look for.

Room Tip: Floors 8 and 11 have Ice machines
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at PUBLIC Chicago, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
We enjoyed reading your review and appreciate you for sharing! We were happy to read that you enjoyed your visit and hope to welcome you back again soon!

Warm Regards,

Peter Walterspiel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to PUBLIC Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PUBLIC Chicago

Address: 1301 North State Parkway, Chicago, IL 60610 (Formerly Ambassador East Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#47 Business Hotel in Chicago
#65 Family Hotel in Chicago
#75 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — PUBLIC Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
PUBLIC, conceived by Ian Schrager, is an entirely new class of hotel. Its fundamental attributes are innovative, sophisticated, authentic style; spot-on, personalized, empathetic "essential" service; lasting comfort with complete functionality, all at an affordable price and offering tremendous value. For the first time, this type of hotel experience will be available for everyone and anyone who wants it ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Amex, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Splendia, Priceline, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, EasyToBook, MrandMrsSmith, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your PUBLIC Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Public Chicago Hotel Chicago
Ambassador East Hotel Chicago
Hotel Ambassador East
Ambassador East Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage PUBLIC Chicago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.