We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Chicago location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of PUBLIC Chicago

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added PUBLIC Chicago to your Saves list
PUBLIC Chicago
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1301 North State Parkway, Chicago, IL 60610 (Formerly Ambassador East Hotel) (Gold Coast)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #83 of 177 Hotels in Chicago
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
“My Chicago location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

Staff, restaurants, location all outstanding! A couple of blocks from the Gold Coast trail. The Pump Room restaurant is perfect for breakfast and/or dinner. Nice wine list too.

Room Tip: the standard queen rates are a deal!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PUBLIC_Manager, General Manager at PUBLIC Chicago, responded to this review, May 25, 2012
Thank you for such a great review! It was great to read that we have become your go-to Chicago location and can not wait for your next visit.

Warm Regards,

Peter Walterspiel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

958 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    447
    259
    158
    60
    34
See reviews for
122
285
60
274
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012 via mobile

We found the staff to be very accommodating and they went out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed. The brunch in the Pump Room was wonderful. Our room was also very nice and comfortable. I also enjoyed that we were really close to Michigan Avenue, but it felt more like you were staying in a neighborhood. We definitely enjoyed our stay and would love to go back.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PUBLIC_Manager, General Manager at PUBLIC Chicago, responded to this review, May 25, 2012
We were thrilled to read your review and to hear that you enjoyed all that PUBLIC Chicago had to offer during your visit. We hope to welcome you back again soon!

Warm Regards,

Peter Walterspiel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, New Hampshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

The Public is exactly what is should be a well-designed hotel, run efficiently by friendly people at a fair price... nicely done.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PUBLIC_Manager, General Manager at PUBLIC Chicago, responded to this review, May 25, 2012
Thank you for your great review and staying PUBLIC! We hope to have you as our guest again!

Warm Regards,

Peter Walterspiel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

Just stayed one night at Public - beautiful lobby and restaurant/cafe - but that is where the "wow" moment stops - tiny room - tiny tiny bathroom - with old fixtures painted over and carpeting that is not soft to the feet. Lesson learned - rooms do not look like the one on their site. Go have a great meal there or a cup of coffee and enjoy the lobby - or insist on a room that matches the elegance of the lobby. Great front desk staff and helpful staff outside - was also quiet but drapes blocked the AC so not ideal temperature in the room.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PUBLIC_Manager, General Manager at PUBLIC Chicago, responded to this review, May 25, 2012
Thank you for the wonderful feedback about our staff and lobby. It was unfortunate to read that you did not enjoy your guest room while you were with us. We have made note of your comments and will share your concerns with our staff.

Warm Regards,

Peter Walterspiel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

Just came back from a four night stay at Public Chicago. From the previous reviews, I had some concerns about the room and the comfort of the bed. However the experience exceeded our expectations in every way. The room was more than adequate. Smartly designed to minimize clutter with tones of storage space (the walking closet was a big plus). Loved the bed and the firm mattress. Bathroom on the small side - but very functional for a refurbished old hotel. Lobby and library absolutely wonderful with friendly and professional staff. We appreciated the early check-in, free wi-fi, hassle free use of the business centre to print boarding passes and easy and quick check out for a 4:00 AM departure. Lunch at Pump room was delicious, and was relieved to find good coffee at Library room. The gym seemed nice and well equipped, but who needs the gym, when you can run along the lake within few minutes from the hotel. Great and beautiful location - walking distance to everything. An excellent stay at a very reasonable price. A must.

Room Tip: A room on 9th floor away from the elevator. Had no problems with noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PUBLIC_Manager, General Manager at PUBLIC Chicago, responded to this review, May 25, 2012
We thoroughly enjoyed reading your feedback from your recent visit to PUBLIC Chicago and thank you for sharing. We are happy that we were able to accomodate you in every way while you were with us and hope that we have the opportunity to do so again in the near future!

Warm Regards,

Peter Walterspiel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stL
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

I was SO excited to hear that they had redone the old Omni hotel. I love this location because it is generally much quieter than staying on the main drag (Michigan Ave/Oak Street) of Chicago. You are literally blocks away from the great restaurants and shopping, but Goethe is a very quiet, private street - so you get to enjoy a nice location away from the tourists!

The doormen here are absolutely useless. When I arrived at the hotel (on foot), there were four men outside and not one of them offered to help me with my bag or open the door for me. When we left for dinner that evening, there were SIX of them out there, and not one of them opened the door OR hailed a cab for us. So, I finally took it upon myself to go hail a cab, and even the cab driver commented on how crazy it was to see six of them sitting around doing nothing. He went so far as to say something to the men.

The newly renovated lobby is beautiful, and there is a great bar (and newly designed Pump Room). The front desk check in ladies were very nice, but there was a long line that moved very slowly when I was checking in (surprising for such a small hotel?).

Now - the worst part... The rooms. While it is true that they have been redone - it was a very poor job. The rooms are still tiny, and now the beds are about 16 inches tall. I felt like a giant (at 5'4). The air conditioning was not working well, and there was a TON of noise outside of our 4th floor room. The hall ways are incredibly narrow and dark. In each room, they have left the old light switch and outlet plates which look gross on the newly painted bright white walls.

I was expecting SO much more from this renovation - but I actually miss the old grungy hotel!

Room Tip: I guess ask for a higher up floor? Our 4th floor (interior) room was VERY noisy and small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PUBLIC_Manager, General Manager at PUBLIC Chicago, responded to this review, May 25, 2012
We appreciate you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback and for taking the opportunity to give PUBLIC a try. It is unfortunate to read that you did not enjoy your experience. We take our guests' feedback to heart, therefore, we have made note of your comments and have shared them with our staff. Thank you again for sharing.

Warm Regards,

Peter Walterspiel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

I am surprised by a number of negative reviews of this hotel. I have had a wonderful experience. the staff is superb and took care of dinner reservations, car service etc all with a smile.

The rooms are wonderful. My friends and I had three rooms (1417, 1418,1609) and each was completely different. 1417 was the smallest of the three but was no less equipped etc... I do notice the switch plates are beige while everything else is white and for some reason it does bother me. Perhaps because all of the other design elements are so well taken care of. I imagine sooner or later they will address it.

I highly recommend this place. It is less expensive than a Kimpton and I think much nicer.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PUBLIC_Manager, General Manager at PUBLIC Chicago, responded to this review, May 25, 2012
Thank you for the great review and for sharing your candid feedback! We have made note of your suggestion however we were thrilled to read that you did enjoy your visit to PUBLIC Chicago! WE hope we have the opportunity to host you as our guest again!

Warm Regards,

Peter Walterspiel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to PUBLIC Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PUBLIC Chicago

Address: 1301 North State Parkway, Chicago, IL 60610 (Formerly Ambassador East Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#47 Business Hotel in Chicago
#65 Family Hotel in Chicago
#75 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — PUBLIC Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
PUBLIC, conceived by Ian Schrager, is an entirely new class of hotel. Its fundamental attributes are innovative, sophisticated, authentic style; spot-on, personalized, empathetic "essential" service; lasting comfort with complete functionality, all at an affordable price and offering tremendous value. For the first time, this type of hotel experience will be available for everyone and anyone who wants it ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Amex, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Splendia, Priceline, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, EasyToBook, MrandMrsSmith, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your PUBLIC Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Public Chicago Hotel Chicago
Ambassador East Hotel Chicago
Hotel Ambassador East
Ambassador East Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage PUBLIC Chicago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.