We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Chicago's Finest Inn"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof Inn Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Red Roof Inn Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile to your Saves list
Red Roof Inn Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   162 East Ontario Street, Chicago, IL 60611 (Magnificent Mile)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #128 of 177 Hotels in Chicago
Manhattan, New York, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“"Chicago's Finest Inn"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

My partner and I have stayed at The Red Roof Inn not only in Chicago, but also while on the interstate between Illinois to New York.
The economical accommodations are clean and modern, with an abundance of free amenities like WiFi , Cable TV, and local and long distance phone calls.
The great service and professional staff are the main reasons we return to The Red Roof whenever we're in Chicago. The front desk staff are warm, friendly, and very helpful. I recently had some difficulty with our reservation, and the manager, Michael , not only sorted it out quickly but got us in another room that was even better! He also enrolled us right then and there in the RediCard Rewards program that could earn us free nights and other rewards. The facility was being remodeled during our Mardi Gras stay, and despite the construction, there was no noise, dust, or disruption of service. The location just off Michigan Avenue near the AMC theaters Nostrome Mall, and The Apple Store are all major pluses. The one and only down side to staying at the Red Roof Inn, is that no matter how long your stay, you eventually have to check out. However, upon leaving, I always say to them "I'll Be Back!" :)

Room Tip: Book the Superior King room, which comes with a refrigerator and microwave, especially if staying mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRIChicago, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, March 23, 2012
Thank you for your review.

I am glad that you and your partner enjoyed your stay and our newly renovated rooms. The Red Roof Inn has a prime location right in the heart of Chicago. Not only are we less than a block from the Magnificent Mile and world class shopping as you mentioned, we are within easy walking distance to many other popular downtown attractions.

The entire staff looks forward to your return.

Heidi Cordes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

774 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    218
    188
    126
    141
See reviews for
139
163
86
143
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
West Lafayette, Indiana
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

I hesitate writing this review because if this place becomes popular, I'll loose the only sub $100/night hotel on the Magnificent Mile. Do not expect luxary... it is the equivalent of a decent motel outside the city. We only used the room for sleep and found it clean and comfortable.

Pros: LOCATION, flat screen TV, free WiFi, clean room, friendly service, PRICE
Cons: parking can add a hefty amount per day (but hey, it's center Chicago)

Room Tip: The higher up the better due to possible street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRIChicago, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, February 21, 2012
Thank you so much for sharing your secret hotel in the city. We do offer a great value, great service, and our location cannot be beat. We are an economy hotel and our rates are well under our competitors. Our newly refreshed rooms are clean and comfortable. I am very glad you enjoyed your stay.

We not only offer free WiFi, but it is a secure connection unlike many other downtown hotels. We understand the importance of protecting our guests' privacy and personal information while online.

We look forward to your return and the opportunity to serve you again.

Heidi Cordes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

Best localization for the price. The hotel is a little old and there is only two elevators for whole hotel. I usually wait too long to go downstairs.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRIChicago, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, February 21, 2012
I appreciate you taking your valuable time to post a review about your stay with us. The hotel was built in the 1920s and has undergone many changes since then. The most recent is occurring right now. All of our rooms, the lobby, and common areas are undergoing a major refresh. The construction will be complete by mid March and our gusts are very pleased with the new rooms.

I do apologize that you had to wait for an elevator. With the ongoing construction, there is more usage than normal.

Thank you again and I look forward to your next stay with us.

Heidi Cordes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

I have stayed at this property in the past - and found it very convenient and very comfortable. The price is great too!

This time, I found it rennovated and with an invigorated and can-do staff team in place! They are rennovating all of the guest rooms and my sense is that it will be even better!

I would recommend this as a great place to stay at a great price!

Room Tip: Be sure to ask in advance for a rennovated room - you will see a 100% difference!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRIChicago, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, February 21, 2012
Dear John H.,

Thank you for choosing the Red Roof Inn in Chicago for your recent stay. As one of the first guests to experience our renovated rooms and post a review, I am glad that you were pleased with the results. We still have the same great location and staff, but now we have great rooms, as well. I appreciate your recommendation and look forward to your next stay with us.

Heidi Cordes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
knoxville tenn
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

awesome place to stay if you are on a budget. my wife and i stayed here and could not be more satisfied with the staff and location. it is close to many things in chicago nearby.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRIChicago, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, February 21, 2012
Thank you so much for posting your review. We do offer a great value for those budget minded travelers to Chicago. Not only that, you cannot beat the location which is one of the best in the city.

I am pleased you were satisfied with the staff and our service. Our goal is not just meet our guests' expectations but to exceed them. Now that the hotel is undergoing a major refresh, I am confident your next stay will be even more enjoyable.

Heidi Cordes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

Not only was this place a dump that charged $200 a night to stay there, but we came home eaten alive by bed bugs! Then when I tried to deal with the manager and corporate about this issue, they just put you off and never call you back. I called 6 times and my issue was never resolved. DO NOT stay here! EVER! Stay at the Hilton Garden. Much better and if you book earlier it's 1/2 what this dump charges!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRIChicago, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, February 21, 2012
I do apologize that you feel your contacts here at the hotel and our corporate office were ignored. Whenever a guest reports an unexplained bite, the occupied room is immediately put out of order. A professional exterminator is called to perform a thorough and complete inspection of the room. These inspections cost the hotel $250 each. The vast majority of the inspections are found to be negative for bed bugs, but every report is taken very seriously. We are aware that this is a worldwide problem and take every measure to ensure our rooms are pest free. In addition, we do daily visual inspections. If there is activity found or even suspected in a room after a guest departs, the room is immediately treated, as well as the rooms on either side to ensure there is no spread.

I understand your dissatisfaction, but we do everything in our power to resolve any issue to our guest's satisfaction. It is our goal to not just meet our guests' expectations but to exceed them. I am sorry that we failed during your stay.

Heidi Cordes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

Just ok. Free wifi and regular cleaning, but no breakfast. Good location.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRIChicago, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, February 21, 2012
Thank you for taking your valuable time to post a review. We do have a very good location and a secure WiFi connection is offered free of charge. We understand the importance of staying connected to work, friends, and family while traveling. Many hotels offer free WiFi, but their internet connections are not secure and password protected. The privacy and security of our guests while online is very important to us.

In addition, we are currently undergoing a major refresh of all of our rooms, lobby, and common areas. I am confident that your opinion would change from "Just OK" to "Great" once the construction is completed mid March.

Heidi Cordes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Roof Inn Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile

Address: 162 East Ontario Street, Chicago, IL 60611
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #128 of 177 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile 2*
Number of rooms: 191
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Groupon, Red Roof Inn, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Red Roof Inn Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Hotel Chicago
Red Roof Inn Chicago
Red Roof Inns Chicago
Chicago Red Roof Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Roof Inn Chicago Downtown Magnificent Mile, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.